BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
University Seal on Mathematikon East Side
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

Academic Development

A PhD is not enough! Like the university as a whole, the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science is dedicated to promoting young scientists as a key driver of innovation and advancement of knowledge in research.

The various measures are alltocated to the different institutes, individual research groups, and their research projects. The central administration offers a number of support programs (heiTrack, heiSkills, etc.) and further information on their webpages. We collect here information regarding the faculty-specific regulations and procedures underlying the main career paths leading to a permanent employment in the German academic system.

Habilitation, junior professorship, and the status of independent research group leader differ in duration, funding source, burden of proof, and degree of association with the faculty. All three require a background in mathematics or computer science and a scientific qualification following the doctorate, and entail an obligation to contribute to the teaching in our study programs in return for the right to supervise bachelor, master, and doctoral theses.

Habilitation

The Habilitation is the traditional qualification for a full professorship at a German university and remains the legal benchmark for all first-time hires. It is awarded in recognition of an exceptional ability for independent research and teaching in a particular field of study.

The Habilitation is an academic degree that is normally awarded together with the Venia Legendi (authorization to teach, including supervision of doctoral theses) in a particular field of study. The Venia Legendi, and the accompanying academic title Privatdozent depends on continuous contributions to the teaching at the faculty, but not on the employment status. In the same vein, the Habilitation is personal, while the transfer of the Venia Legendi to a different institution (or the extension to an additional field) requires a separate process.

At Heidelberg University, like many other institutions, the Habilitation is a three-tiered process:

  • A habilitation thesis, or equivalent scientific publications, as evidence of original research at the level expected of a professor at a university,
  • evidence of successful teaching experience, typically a one-semester lecture course at the Bachelor or Master level,
  • a lecture to the faculty on a topic outside the candidate's main area of expertise.

The Habilitation process is controlled by the Habilitationskonferenz, that includes Emeriti and all Professors and Privatdozents of the faculty with full-time employment at the university.

Scientists interested in acquiring the Habilitation at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science need to first apply for the candidate status (Habilitand/Habilitandin) with the support of a faculty member as mentor. At this time, they also register the course intended as evidence of teaching ability with the Dean of Studies.

The Habilitation process itself is initiated after completion of the Habilitation thesis, and lasts for about one semester, depending on the dates of the faculty meetings.

  • In the first step, the faculty (Habilitationskonferenz) decide on the initiation of the process and appoint a Habilitation committee and external referees.
  • In a second step, the Habilitation committee reviews the thesis with the help of external reviews, and submits a report to the faculty which then votes on the thesis, the teaching ability, and the topic of the Habilitation lecture.
  • The process concludes with the lecture to the faculty that is followed by a discussion, vote, and the award of the Venia Legendi.

The formal basis of the Habilitation is the Habilitationsordnung that calls for a number of documents, but there are few to no ready-made forms. All correspondence regarding the Habilitation should be addressed to the Dean's Office.

Habilitation

Habilitation Regulations
(Deutsch)
not available in English

Junior Professors

The Junior professorship was introduced some time ago as an alternative to the Habilitation as prerequisite for a full professorship. In this model, the authorization to teach (and supervise theses) is granted before the full development of the own research profile. In return, the Junior professorhip requires immediate contributions to teaching, and depends on full-time employment at the university, typically based on a six-year fixed-term contract.

Junior professors are typically evaluated toward the end of their appointment in a process that resembles the Habilitation and includes an external review of research accomplishments, a teaching evaluation, and an equivalent to the lecture to the faculty. After successful evaluation, Junior professors may then become member of the Habilitationskonferenz.

The teaching load of a Junior professor before their evaluation is 4 weekly contact hours per term and corresponds to roughly half of that of a full professor. After positive evaluation, the teaching load is 6 contact hours per term.

At Heidelberg University, the Junior professorship exists in two variants: with tenure-track, and without tenure-track. In the tenure-track model, the evaluation equivalent of Habilitation is accompanied by a tenure evaluation and results in direct (non-competitive) appointment as full professor at the university. Without tenure-track, the Junior professorship ends some time after the evaluation.

The formal basis of the Junior professorship (with or without tenure-track) includes certain sections of the Higher Education Act, a set of university-wide regulations, and some faculty-specific evaluation criteria. The process is controlled by the hiring committee at the time of appointment, the faculty, and (for tenure cases) the tenure board and the Senate of the university.

At the time of writing, the faculty includes 6 Junior professors, 3 of which on tenure-track appointments.

Junior professors

Regulations for the evaluation of Junior professors

University wide

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Procedure for the evaluation of Junior professors

faculty specific

(Deutsch)
not available in English

Independent Research Group Leaders

Independent Research Group Leaders are scientists with significant research experience following the Doctorate who start to build up their own research group by applying for external funding. In this model, the award of the competitive grant by the funding agency is considered evidence of the scientific qualification. Typical examples include Emmy-Noether Fellowships from the DFG and the participation as Principal Investigator in a larger research consortium.

To obtain the right to supervise Doctoral theses, Independent Research Group Leaders must be granted the examination authorization (Prüfungserlaubnis) by the faculty in the respective field of study (Mathematics or Computer Science). This permission automatically includes the right to supervise Bachelor and Master theses, and requires in return contributions to the teaching at the level of a 2 weekly contact hours per semester.

To apply for the examination authorization, Independent Research Group Leaders need to document their scientific standing (competitive research grant), and to agree on a teaching plan with the Dean of Studies. A senior faculty member serves as mentor.

In many situations, the funding agency will require proof of permission to supervise Doctoral theses at the time of application. In such cases, the faculty requires a detailed teaching plan, and will then issue a provisional letter for submission with the grant application.  The process is initiated by contacting the Dean's office well ahead of time.

The right to supervise theses as Independent Research Group Leader ends with the termination of the contract at Heidelberg University. It is the responsibility of the departing scientist to ensure supervision continuity.

The status as Independent Research Group Leader is controlled by the funding agency, the examination authorization in the respective field of study by the faculty. The regulations are agreed upon with the other natural sciences represented within the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Independent Research Group Leaders

Regulations for granting the examination authorization

as explained in the text, the status of Independent Research Group Leader depends (solely) on the acquisition of external funding

(Deutsch)
not available in English

Other Situations

Professors from Universities for Applied Sciences, which do not themselves grant doctoral degrees, may obtain the right to supervise Doctoral theses at Heidelberg University as adjunct professors (Assoziierung) provided they can demonstrate a suitable scientific standing, which is measured principally by their publication record. For details, see the regulations linked below, or inquire with the Dean's Office.

Other situations

Regulations for adjunct professors from Universities of Applied Sciences

University wide

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Appendix to the regulations for adjunct professors from Universities of Applied Sciences

faculty-specific

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Last updated on Sep 21, 2021 at 2:44 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
University Seal on Mathematikon East Side
Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs

A PhD is not enough! Wie auch die Universität als Ganzes sieht die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik eine ihrer zentralen Aufgaben in der Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses als wesentlicher Treiber von Innovation und Erkenntnisgewinn in der Forschung.

Die verschiedenen Maßnahmen sind verteilt auf die Institute, einzelne Arbeitsgruppen, und deren Projekte. Die zentrale Verwaltung bietet eine Reihe von Rahmenprogrammen an (heiTracks, heiSkills, etc.), die auf ihren Webseiten näher beschrieben sind. Wir sammeln hier Informationen zu den Regelungen und Verfahren, die den verschiedenen  Karrierewegen zugrunde liegen, die zu einer unbefristeten Anstellung im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem führen.

Habilitation, Juniorprofessur und der Status als Unabhängige:r Forschungsgruppenleiter:in unterscheiden sich in Dauer, Förderquelle, Nachweispflicht und Grad der Verbundenheit mit der Fakultät. Alle drei erfordern eine fachliche Qualifikation in Mathematik oder Informatik und eine wissenschaftliche Qualifikation nach der Promotion, und ziehen die Verpflichtung zur Mitwirkung an der Lehre in unseren Studiengängen im Gegenzug für das Betreuungsrecht bei Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorarbeiten nach sich.

Habilitation

Die Habilitation ist traditionell die Voraussetzung für die Bekleidung einer ordentliche Professur an einer deutschen Hochschule und bleibt der rechtliche Maßstab bei Erstberufungen. Sie stellt die Anerkennung einer besonderen Befähigung für Forschung und Lehre in einem bestimmten wissenschaftlichen Fach dar.

Die Habilitation ist ein akademischer Grad, der in der Regel zusammen mit der Venia Legendi (Lehrbefugnis inkl. Betreuung von Dissertationen) in einem bestimmten Fach verliehen wird. Die Venia Legendi und der damit verbundene akademische Titel Privatdozentin sind abhängig von kontinuierlichen Beiträgen zur Lehre an der Fakultät, nicht jedoch von einem Beschäftigungsverhältnis. In dem gleichen Sinne ist die Habilitation personengebunden, während die Übertragung der Venia Legendi an einer anderen Hochschule (bzw. die Erweiterung auf ein weiteres Fachgebiet) ein gesondertes Verfahren erfordert.

An der Universität Heidelberg besteht das Habilitationsverfahren wie an vielen anderen Institutionen, aus drei Komponenten:

  • eine Habilitationsschrift oder gleichwertige wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen als Nachweis der eigenständigen Forschung auf dem Niveau eines Universitätsprofessors,
  • Nachweis der pädagogisch-didaktischen Eignung, in der Regel durch Abhalten einer einsemestrigen Vorlesung auf Bachelor- oder Masterniveau,
  • einen Vortrag vor der Fakultät zu einem Thema außerhalb des engeren Fachgebiets der Kandidatin bzw. des Kandidaten.

Das Habilitationsverfahren wird von der Habilitationskonferenz durchgeführt, der Emeriti und alle hauptberuflich an der Universität beschäftigten Professor:innen und Privatdozent:innen der Fakultät angehören.

Wissenschaftler:innen, die sich an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik habilitieren möchten, müssen sich zunächst mit Unterstützung eines Fakultätsmitglieds als Mentor:in als Habilitand:in bewerben. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt melden sie auch die Lehrveranstaltung zum Nachweis der Lehrbefähigung beim Studiendekan bzw. der Studiendekanin an.

Das Habilitationsverfahren selbst wird nach Abschluss der Habilitationsschrift eingeleitet und dauert, abhängig von den Terminen der Habilitationskonferenzsitzungen, etwa ein Semester.

  • Im ersten Schritt entscheidet die Habilitationskonferenz über die Einleitung des Verfahrens und bestellt eine Habilitationskommission sowie externe Gutachter:innen.
  • In einem zweiten Schritt begutachtet der Habilitationsausschuss die Dissertation mit Hilfe externer Gutachten und legt der Habilitationskonferenz einen Bericht vor, die dann über die Habilitationsschrift, die pädagogisch-didaktische Eignung abstimmt und das Thema des Habilitationsvortrags auswählt.
  • Den Abschluss bildet der Habilitationsvortrag vor der Fakultät mit anschließender Aussprache, Abstimmung und Verleihung der Venia Legendi.

Formale Grundlage der Habilitation ist die Habilitationsordnung, die eine Reihe von Dokumenten vorschreibt, es gibt aber wenige bis keine vorgefertigten Formulare. Die Korrespondenz zur Habilitation erfolgt über das Dekanat.

Habilitation

Habilitationsordnung
(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar

Juniorprofessur

Die Juniorprofessur ist seit einiger Zeit eine Alternative zur Habilitation als Voraussetzung für eine ordentliche Professur. Bei diesem Modell wird die Lehrbefugnis (und das Recht zur Betreuung von Abschlussarbeiten) vor der vollständigen Entwicklung des eigenen Forschungsprofils erteilt. Im Gegenzug verlangt die Juniorprofessur sofortige Beiträge zur Lehre und ist abhängig von einer Vollzeitbeschäftigung an der Universität, die in der Regel auf sechs Jahre befristet ist.

Juniorprofessor:innen werden in der Regel gegen Ende ihrer Amtszeit in einem habilitationsähnlichen Verfahren evaluiert, das eine externe Begutachtung der Forschungsleistung, eine Lehrevaluation und ein Äquivalent zum Habilitationsvortrag umfasst. Nach erfolgreicher Evaluation können Juniorprofessor:innen dann Mitglied der Habilitationskonferenz werden.

Die Lehrverpflichtung von Juniorprofessor:innen vor ihrer Evaluation beträgt 4 Semesterwochenstunden und entspricht damit etwa der Hälfte der eines ordentlichen Professors. Nach positiver Evaluation beträgt die Lehrverpflichtung 6 Semesterwochenstunden.

An der Universität Heidelberg gibt es die Juniorprofessur in zwei Varianten: mit Tenure-Track und ohne Tenure-Track. Im Tenure-Track-Modell wird die Eignungsevaluation (als Äquivalent der Habilitation) zusammen mit einer Tenure-Evaluation durchgeführt und führt zur direkten (nicht kompetitiven) Berufung als ordentliche:r Professor:in an die Universität. Ohne Tenure-Track endet die Juniorprofessur einige Zeit nach der Evaluation.

Die formale Grundlage der Juniorprofessur (mit oder ohne Tenure-Track) sind bestimmte Abschnitte des Landeshochschulgesetzes, eine hochschulweite Evaluationssatzung sowie einige fakultätsspezifische Evaluationskriterien. Das Verfahren wird konktrolliert von der Berufungskommission zum Zeitpunkt der Berufung, der Fakultät sowie (bei Tenure-Fällen) dem Tenure-Board und dem Senat der Universität.

Der Fakultät gehören aktuell 6 Juniorprofessor:innen an, davon 3 auf Tenure-Track.

Juniorprofessur

Evaluationssatzung für Juniorprofessor:innen

Universitätsweite Regelungen

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Verfahrensordnung der Fakultät

Einschliesslich spezifischer Evaluationskriterien

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar

Unabhängige Forschungsgruppenleiter

Unabhängige Forschungsgruppenleiter:innen sind Wissenschaftler:innen mit erheblicher Forschungserfahrung nach der Promotion, die durch Beantragung von Drittmitteln mit dem Aufbau einer eigenen Forschungsgruppe beginnen. In diesem Modell gilt die kompetitive Vergabe der Fördermittel als Nachweis der wissenschaftlichen Qualifikation. Typische Beispiele sind Emmy-Noether-Stipendien der DFG und die Beteiligung als Hauptantragsteller an einem größeren Forschungsverbund.

Um das Recht zur Betreuung von Dissertationen zu erhalten, müssen Unabhängige Forschungsgruppenleiter:innen von der Fakultät die Prüfungserlaubnis im jeweiligen Fach (Mathematik oder Informatik) übertragen bekommen. Diese Erlaubnis beinhaltet automatisch das Betreuungsrecht für Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten und setzt im Gegenzug Beiträge zur Lehre in Höhe von 2 Semesterwochenstunden voraus.

Für die Beantragung der Prüfungserlaubnis müssen die Unabhängigen Forschungsgruppenleiter:innen ihre wissenschaftliche Qualifikation (Drittmittel) nachweisen und mit der Studiendekanin oder dem Studiendekan einen Lehrplan vereinbaren. Ein professorales Mitglied der Fakultät fungiert als Mentor:in.

In vielen Fällen benötigt der Fördergeber den Nachweis des Promotionsrechts zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung. In diesen Fällen benötigt die Fakultät einen detaillierten Lehrplan und stellt dann ein vorläufiges Schreiben zur Einreichung mit dem Förderantrag aus. Das Verfahren wird durch rechtzeitige Kontaktaufnahme mit dem Dekanat eingeleitet.

Das Recht zur Betreuung von Abschlussarbeiten als Unabhängige:r Forschungsgruppenleiter:in endet mit dem Auslaufen der Finanzierung an der Universität Heidelberg. Es liegt in der Verantwortung der ausscheidenden Wissenschaftler:innen, die Kontinuität der Betreuung sicherzustellen.

Der Status als Unabhängige:r Forschungsgruppenleiter:in wird durch den Fördergeber, die Prüfungserlaubnis im jeweiligen Fach und durch die Fakultät kontrolliert. Die Regelungen sind mit den anderen in der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Gesamtfakultät vertretenen Fakultäten abgestimmt.

Unabhängige Forschungsgruppenleiter

Ordnung zur Erteilung der Prüfungserlaubnis an unabhängige Forschungsgruppenleiter

wie im Text erläutert hängt der Status als Unabhängiger Forschungsgruppenleiter (nur) von der Einwerbung von Drittmitteln ab

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar

Sonstige Umstände

Professor:innen von Fachhochschulen, die selbst kein Promotionsrecht besitzen, können das Recht zur Betreuung von Dissertationen an der Universität Heidelberg durch eine Assoziierung erlangen, wenn sie ein geeignetes wissenschaftliches Profil nachweisen, das sich vor allem an ihrer Publikationsleistung bemisst. Einzelheiten entnehmen Sie bitte den unten verlinkten Satzungen oder erkundigen Sie sich beim Dekanat.

Sonstige Umstände

Assoziierung von Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrern der Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften

Universitätsweite Satzung

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Anhang zur Assoziierungssatzung

fakultätsspezifisch

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 21. Sep. 2021 um 14:44