BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Courtyard
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Algorithms and Theoretical Computer Science

In the modern world, we are surrounded by algorithms. Every task performed by a computer, be it processing images, connecting to the internet, or using a credit card, requires a precise step-by-step guide that a computer can understand. This guide is an algorithm. But algorithms are not only for computers. At least 3600 years ago, algorithms were used in mathematics and to this day, many mathematical proofs are algorithmic. There are three primary questions one can ask about an algorithm; does an algorithm exist that solves a particular problem, if so, how much resources (computation, communication, memory, storage) does it require, and how fast is it when executed on a specific hardware?

In Heidelberg we work on algorithms in various perspectives; in particular, some researchers focus on the performance of algorithms on real world data or on the optimal usage of hardware to speed up algorithms whereas others are interested whether there even exist algorithms that solve certain problems, independent on whether they are feasible in practice. In particular, we prove structural theorems on discrete objects, such as graphs and hypergraphs, that form the basis of new theoretical techniques; we explore how different, often well-known, theoretical techniques work in practice, and also engineer and optimize algorithms to achieve the best performance.
As part of our research, we look at different problems and techniques that make algorithms scale better. This includes the theory and engineering of (hyper-)graph algorithms, randomized algorithms, massively parallel algorithms (many-core, multi-core, distributed memory), communication efficient algorithms as well as out-of-core algorithms. Our research cluster also develops open source software for solving algorithmic problems, and uses its know-how to solve selected concrete application problems.

Different viewpoints on algorithms

Below we describe four different aspects in which way we attack problems involving algorithms. For many of us, graphs and hypergraphs are the objects we are working with. They consist of a (finite) set of vertices, sometimes also called nodes, and a set of edges. The vertices have labels, say, integer labels, up to , where is the number of vertices; however, in applications each vertex often represents a certain object, for example, a person, building, task, objective or variable.

Edges in graphs are simply a set of two vertices, that is, we think of these two vertices being in relation to each other. It is common to visualize vertices by dots and edges by lines between two vertices; nevertheless, a graph is a priori independent of such a drawing. In hypergraphs we also allow edges of larger size, that is, with three or more vertices. This is usually visualized by a bubble around all vertices in the (hyper)edge.

Edges in graphs can also be directed, that is, have a orientation and point from one vertex to another one, or have weights associated with them.

Graphs are fundamental structures in mathematics. They are very versatile and hence they appear in many contexts. However, although (hyper)graphs are so easy to define, they exhibit very fascinating and partly mysterious behavior that has been subject to very active research in the past decades.

Algorithm Engineering

Traditionally, algorithms are designed using simple models of problems and machines. In turn, important results are provable, such as performance guarantees for all possible inputs. This often yields elegant solutions being adaptable to many applications with predictable performance for previously unknown inputs.  In algorithm theory, however, taking up and implementing an algorithm is part of the application development.  Unfortunately, this mode of transferring results is a slow process and sometimes the theoretically best algorithms perform poor in practice.  This causes a growing gap between theory and practice: Realistic hardware with its parallelism, memory hierarchies etc. is diverging from traditional machine models.

In contrast to algorithm theory, algorithm engineering uses an innovation cycle where algorithm design based on realistic models, theoretical analysis, efficient implementation, and careful experimental evaluation using real-world inputs closes gaps between theory and practice and leads to improved application codes and reusable software libraries (see here). This yields results that practitioners can rely on for their specific application.

The algorithm engineering group tackles a broad spectrum of scalable graph algorithms in particular in the context of very large inputs. In general, research is based on five pillars: multilevel algorithms, practical kernelization, parallelization, memetic algorithms and dynamic algorithms that are highly interconnected. To this end, our group engineers algorithms that improve known methods. Typically, we release the techniques and algorithms developed as easy-to-use open source software. Examples include a widely used library of algorithms for (hyper)graph partitioning, graph drawing, (weighted) independent sets, graph clustering, graph generation, minimum cuts, process mapping and many more.

Theoretical Computer Science

One of the most famous algorithmic problems is the Travelling Salesman problem. Given cities and distances between each pair of cities, what is the shortest tour through all of them? (This can be modelled by a complete graph on vertices with weights on the edges.) Surely, we can simply check all potential routes and choose the shortest one. However, this is not feasible at all! There are roughly such routes, which is a gigantic number even if is only moderately large, say something beyond 20.

Hence, can we do better than that? Yes, but it seems that in general an exponential number in of computation steps are necessary.

Proving that algorithms do not need more than a guaranteed number of steps is known as a worst case analysis. To this end, frequently heavy mathematical theorems are exploited to exhibit structures on graphs that in turn yield improvements on the running time of algorithms.

Our research focus lies on the investigation of graphs and hypergraphs under various viewpoints. This includes questions of the following form:

  • When is a particular "simple" graph is subgraph of another graph?
  • When do we obtain decompositions of the vertex set or edge set of a graph into another "simple" graph?
  • How do typical graphs behave differently in comparison to worst case instances?

Among other results, we solved the famous Oberwolfach problem for large instances, which was posed by Gerhard Ringel in the 1960s.

Application Specific Computing

For most problems there are many different algorithms that solve it and their resource consumption (computation, communication, memory, storage) depends on the problem parameters (data sizes, data arrangement, data types, data values). So already from a theoretic point of view different problem parameters ask for different algorithms, but there are too many algorithms to evaluate them all with respect to resource consumption. Moreover, most algorithms have many different implementations and the execution time of the each implementation depends on the specific hardware. So from a practical point of view it is very difficult to know for given problem parameters and hardware what the best algorithm and implementation are. We can afford to evaluate only very few combinations, because development of good algorithms and implementations are lengthy processes, thus finding the best combination is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

We tackle this challenge by approaching the best combination of algorithm and implementation from the top and bottom. Coming from the bottom means creating algorithmic building blocks with almost optimal performance on specific hardware, i.e. the given computation cannot be performed in significantly less time. Having such building blocks we can quickly assemble algorithms with high performance if the interaction between the blocks is also efficient. In addition, coming from the top we use application guidance into the type of algorithmic structures we need to target. We work mostly with scientific computing applications where the guidance is given by the numerical analysis of the schemes. The building blocks are then parallel data selection and parallel linear algebra operations.

For specific problems we succeed in designing solutions that are almost optimal, resulting in staggering performance on parallel hardware (GPUs, many-core CPUs, FPGAs). However, for most problems such resounding solutions are unknown and even where specific cases are solved more general problem formulations remain a challenge.

Optimization for Machine Learning

We focus on large-scale combinatorial optimization problems with applications in computer vision and bio-informatics. "Combinatorial" means that the solution must be selected from a finite but exponentially growing set, as for example the set of all possible subsets of a given set, permutations or paths in a given graph. Most of such problems can be formulated in a common format of integer linear programs and solved by off-the-shelf software. "Large-scale" means that the size of the problems makes their solution with off-the-shelf methods inefficient or even practically impossible. Indeed, this is often the case in such applications as stereovision and image segmentation, estimation of object rotation and translation in space, as well as cell matching and tracking in microscopic images.

We not only develop dedicated algorithms to optimize given combinatorial problems, but also learn problem parameters from training data. To this end we combine artificial neural networks with the most efficient combinatorial techniques.

Working groups and junior scientist/research group leaders

Prof. Dr. Christian SchulzAlgorithm Engineering

Scalable Graph Algorithms, Practical Data Reductions, Dynamic Graph Algorithms, Memetic Algorithms

 
Prof. Dr. Christian Schulz
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Felix JoosTheoretical Computer Science

Graph Theory, algorithms on graphs, Discrete Mathematics

 
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Felix Joos
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Robert StrzodkaApplication Specific Computing

Parallel algorithms and hardware (GPU, many-core CPU, FPGA) in relation to data representation, data access, data structure, numerical methods and programming abstractions

 
Prof. Dr. Robert Strzodka
Dr. Bogdan SavchynskyyOptimization for Machine Learning

Large-scale discrete optimization, discrete graphical models, assignment and tracking, learning of combinatorial problems

 
Bogdan Savchynskyy
PD Dr. Wolfgang MerkleTheoretical Computer Science

Logic and Computability

 
Wolfgang Merkle
Last updated on Oct 13, 2021 at 3:52 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Courtyard
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Algorithmen und Theoretische Informatik

In der modernen Welt sind wir von Algorithmen umgeben. Jede Aufgabe, die ein Computer ausführt - sei es die Verarbeitung von Bildern, die Verbindung zum Internet oder die Verwendung einer Kreditkarte - erfordert eine präzise Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung, die ein Computer verstehen kann. Diese Anleitung ist ein Algorithmus. Aber Algorithmen sind nicht nur für Computer gedacht. Schon vor mindestens 3600 Jahren wurden Algorithmen in der Mathematik verwendet und auch heute noch sind viele mathematische Beweise algorithmisch aufgebaut. Es gibt drei Hauptfragen, die man sich zu einem Algorithmus stellen kann: Gibt es einen Algorithmus, der ein bestimmtes Problem löst? Wenn ja, wie viele Ressourcen (Rechenleistung, Kommunikation, Arbeitsspeicher, Speicherplatz) benötigt er? Und wie schnell ist er, wenn er auf einer bestimmten Hardware ausgeführt wird?

In Heidelberg beschäftigen wir uns mit Algorithmen aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln. Insbesondere konzentrieren sich einige Forscher:innen auf die Leistung von Algorithmen, auf reale Daten oder auf die optimale Nutzung von Hardware zur Beschleunigung von Algorithmen, während andere daran interessiert sind, ob es überhaupt Algorithmen gibt, die bestimmte Probleme lösen, unabhängig davon, ob sie in der Praxis anwendbar sind. Wir beweisen insbesondere Strukturtheoreme für diskrete Objekte wie Graphen und Hypergraphen, die die Grundlage für neue theoretische Techniken bilden. Wir untersuchen, wie verschiedene, oft bekannte, theoretische Techniken in der Praxis funktionieren, und entwickeln und optimieren Algorithmen, um die beste Leistung zu erzielen.
Im Rahmen unserer Forschung befassen wir uns mit verschiedenen Problemen und Techniken, die eine bessere Skalierung von Algorithmen ermöglichen. Dazu gehören die Theorie und das Engineering von (Hyper-)Graphenalgorithmen, randomisierten Algorithmen, massiv parallelen Algorithmen (Many-Core, Multi-Core, verteilter Speicher), kommunikationseffizienten Algorithmen sowie Out-of-Core-Algorithmen. Unser Forschungscluster entwickelt auch Open-Source-Software für die Lösung algorithmischer Probleme und nutzt sein Know-how zur Lösung ausgewählter konkreter Anwendungsprobleme.

Verschiedene Perspektiven auf Algorithmen

Im Folgenden beschreiben wir vier verschiedene Ansätze, mit denen wir Probleme im Zusammenhang mit Algorithmen angehen. Für viele von uns sind Graphen und Hypergraphen die Objekte, mit denen wir arbeiten. Sie bestehen aus einer (endlichen) Menge von Scheitelpunkten, manchmal auch Knoten genannt, und einer Menge von Kanten. Die Knoten haben Beschriftungen, z. B. ganzzahlige Beschriftungen, bis , wobei die Anzahl der Knoten ist. In Anwendungen stellt jedoch jeder Knoten oft ein bestimmtes Objekt dar, z. B. eine Person, ein Gebäude, eine Aufgabe, ein Ziel oder eine Variable.

Kanten in Graphen sind einfach eine Menge von zwei Scheitelpunkten, d. h. wir stellen uns vor, dass diese zwei Scheitelpunkte in einer Beziehung zueinander stehen. Es ist üblich, sich die Eckpunkte durch Punkte und die Kanten durch Linien zwischen zwei Eckpunkten vorzustellen. Dennoch ist ein Graph a priori unabhängig von einer solchen Darstellung. In Hypergraphen lassen wir auch größere Kanten zu, d. h. mit drei oder mehr Scheitelpunkten. Dies wird in der Regel durch eine Blase um alle Scheitelpunkte der (Hyper-)Kante veranschaulicht.

Kanten in Graphen können auch gerichtet sein, d. h. eine Ausrichtung haben, und von einem Scheitelpunkt zu einem anderen führen, oder mit Gewichten versehen sein.

Graphen sind grundlegende Strukturen in der Mathematik. Sie sind sehr vielseitig und kommen daher in vielen Kontexten vor. Doch obwohl (Hyper-)Graphen so einfach zu definieren sind, weisen sie ein sehr faszinierendes und teilweise rätselhaftes Verhalten auf, das in den letzten Jahrzehnten Gegenstand sehr aktiver Forschung war.

Algorithmenentwicklung

Traditionell werden Algorithmen anhand einfacher Modelle von Problemen und Maschinen entworfen. Im Gegenzug sind wichtige Ergebnisse nachweisbar, wie z. B. Leistungsgarantien für alle möglichen Eingaben. Dies führt oft zu eleganten Lösungen, die an viele Anwendungen angepasst werden können und deren Leistung für zuvor unbekannte Eingaben vorhersehbar ist.  In der Algorithmentheorie hingegen ist das Aufgreifen und Implementieren eines Algorithmus Teil der Anwendungsentwicklung.  Leider ist diese Art der Übertragung von Ergebnissen ein langwieriger Prozess, und manchmal schneiden die theoretisch besten Algorithmen in der Praxis schlecht ab.  Dadurch entsteht eine wachsende Kluft zwischen Theorie und Praxis: Realistische Hardware mit ihrer Parallelität, ihren Speicherhierarchien usw. weicht von traditionellen Maschinenmodellen ab.

Im Gegensatz zur Algorithmentheorie verwendet die Algorithmenentwicklung einen Innovationszyklus, bei dem die Entwicklung von Algorithmen auf der Grundlage realistischer Modelle, theoretischer Analysen, effizienter Implementierungen und sorgfältiger experimenteller Bewertungen unter Verwendung realer Eingaben die Lücken zwischen Theorie und Praxis schließt und zu verbesserten Anwendungscodes und wiederverwendbaren Softwarebibliotheken führt (siehe hier). Dies führt zu Ergebnissen, auf die sich Anwender für ihre spezifische Applikation verlassen können.

Die Gruppe Algorithm Engineering befasst sich mit einem breiten Spektrum skalierbarer Graphenalgorithmen, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit sehr großen Eingaben. Im Allgemeinen stützt sich die Forschung auf fünf stark miteinander verbundene Säulen: mehrstufige Algorithmen, praktische Kernelisierung, Parallelisierung, memetische Algorithmen und dynamische Algorithmen. Zu diesem Zweck entwickelt unsere Gruppe Algorithmen, die bekannte Methoden verbessern. In der Regel veröffentlichen wir die entwickelten Techniken und Algorithmen als einfach zu verwendende Open-Source-Software. Beispiele hierfür sind eine weit verbreitete Bibliothek von Algorithmen für (Hyper-)Graphenpartitionierung, Graphenzeichnung, (gewichtete) unabhängige Mengen, Graphenclusterung, Graphengenerierung, minimale Schnitte, Prozessabbildung und vieles mehr.

Theoretische Informatik

Eines der bekanntesten algorithmischen Probleme ist das Problem des Handlungsreisenden. Gegeben sind Städte und Entfernungen zwischen jedem Städtepaar. Wie lautet die kürzeste Tour durch alle Städte? (Dies kann durch einen vollständigen Graphen mit Eckpunkten und Gewichten an den Kanten modelliert werden). Sicherlich können wir einfach alle möglichen Routen prüfen und die kürzeste auswählen. Dies ist jedoch überhaupt nicht möglich! Es gibt ungefähr solcher Routen, was eine gigantische Zahl ist, selbst wenn nur mäßig groß ist, sagen wir etwas über 20.

Finden wir also eine bessere Lösung? Ja, aber es scheint, dass im Allgemeinen eine exponentielle Anzahl von Berechnungsschritten in notwendig ist.

Der Nachweis, dass Algorithmen nicht mehr als eine garantierte Anzahl von Schritten benötigen, wird als Worst-Case-Analyse bezeichnet. Zu diesem Zweck werden häufig schwere mathematische Theoreme ausgenutzt, um Strukturen auf Graphen aufzuzeigen, die wiederum Verbesserungen bei der Laufzeit von Algorithmen ermöglichen.

Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Untersuchung von Graphen und Hypergraphen unter verschiedenen Gesichtspunkten. Dazu gehören Fragen der folgenden Form:

  • Wann ist ein bestimmter einfacher Graph ein Untergraph eines anderen Graphen?
  • Wann erhält man Dekompositionen der Knotenmenge oder der Kantenmenge eines Graphen in einem anderen einfachen Graphen?
  • Wie verhalten sich typische Graphen im Vergleich zu Worst-Case-Fällen?

Neben anderen Ergebnissen haben wir das berühmte Oberwolfach-Problem für große Instanzen gelöst, das von Gerhard Ringel in den 1960er Jahren gestellt wurde.

Anwendungsspezifische Datenverarbeitung

Für die meisten Probleme gibt es viele verschiedene Algorithmen, die sie lösen können, und ihr Ressourcenverbrauch (Berechnung, Kommunikation, Speicherplatz) hängt von den Problemparametern ab (Datengrößen, Datenanordnung, Datentypen, Datenwerte). Schon aus theoretischer Sicht erfordern unterschiedliche Problemparameter also unterschiedliche Algorithmen, aber es gibt zu viele Algorithmen, um sie alle im Hinblick auf den Ressourcenverbrauch zu bewerten. Außerdem gibt es für die meisten Algorithmen viele verschiedene Implementierungen, und die Ausführungszeit jeder Implementierung hängt von der jeweiligen Hardware ab. Aus praktischer Sicht ist es also sehr schwierig, für gegebene Problemparameter und Hardware zu wissen, welcher Algorithmus und welche Implementierung am besten sind. Wir können nur sehr wenige Kombinationen zu bewerten, denn die Entwicklung guter Algorithmen und Implementierungen ist ein langwieriger Prozess, und die Suche nach der besten Kombination gleicht der Suche nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen.

Wir können dieses Problem nicht generell lösen, sondern nähern uns der besten Kombination von oben und unten. Von unten bedeutet, dass wir algorithmische Bausteine mit nahezu optimaler Leistung auf spezifischer Hardware erstellen, d. h. die gegebene Berechnung kann nicht in wesentlich kürzerer Zeit durchgeführt werden. Mit solchen Bausteinen lassen sich Algorithmen mit hoher Leistung zusammenstellen, aber nur, wenn auch die Interaktion zwischen den Blöcken effizient ist. Darüber hinaus benötigen wir von oben her einige Anwendungshinweise für die Art der algorithmischen Strukturen, auf die wir abzielen sollten. Wir arbeiten hauptsächlich mit wissenschaftlichen Anwendungen, bei denen die Anleitung durch die numerische Analyse der Schemata gegeben wird. Die Bausteine sind parallele Datenauswahl und parallele lineare Algebra-Operationen.

In vielen Fällen wissen wir noch nicht, wie weit unsere aktuelle Lösung von der besten Kombination aus Algorithmus und Implementierung entfernt ist, aber manchmal gelingt es uns, etwas zu entwerfen, das der optimalen Lösung sehr nahe kommt, und dann sind die Ergebnisse überwältigend.

Optimierung für Maschinelles Lernen

Wir konzentrieren uns auf große kombinatorische Optimierungsprobleme mit Anwendungen in den Bereichen Computer Vision und Bioinformatik. Kombinatorisch bedeutet, dass die Lösung aus einer endlichen, aber exponentiell wachsenden Menge ausgewählt werden muss, z. B. aus der Menge aller möglichen Untermengen einer gegebenen Menge, Permutationen oder Pfaden in einem gegebenen Graphen. Die meisten dieser Probleme lassen sich in einem gängigen Format ganzzahliger linearer Programme formulieren und mit handelsüblicher Software lösen. Groß bedeutet, dass die Größe der Probleme ihre Lösung mit Standardmethoden ineffizient oder sogar praktisch unmöglich macht. Dies ist häufig der Fall bei Anwendungen wie Stereovision und Bildsegmentierung, Schätzung von Objektrotation und -translation im Raum sowie Zellvergleich und -verfolgung in mikroskopischen Bildern.

Wir entwickeln nicht nur spezielle Algorithmen zur Optimierung gegebener kombinatorischer Probleme, sondern lernen auch Problemparameter aus Trainingsdaten. Zu diesem Zweck kombinieren wir künstliche neuronale Netze mit den effizientesten kombinatorischen Techniken.

Arbeitsgruppen und Juniorwissenschaftler/ Forschungsgruppenleiter

Prof. Dr. Christian SchulzAlgorithmenentwicklung

Skalierbare Graphenalgorithmen, praktische Datenreduktion, dynamische Graphenalgorithmen, memetische Algorithmen

 
Prof. Dr. Christian Schulz
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Felix JoosTheoretische Informatik

Graphentheorie, Algorithmen auf Graphen, Diskrete Mathematik

 
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Felix Joos
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Robert StrzodkaAnwendungsspezifische Datenverarbeitung

Parallele Algorithmen und Hardware (GPU, Many-Core-CPU, FPGA) in Bezug auf Datendarstellung, Datenzugriff, Datenstruktur, numerische Methoden und Programmierabstraktionen

 
Prof. Dr. Robert Strzodka
Gruppe Anwendungsspezifische Datenverarbeitung
Dr. Bogdan SavchynskyyOptimierung für Maschinelles Lernen

Diskrete Optimierung in großem Maßstab, diskrete grafische Modelle, Zuweisung und Verfolgung, Lernen von kombinatorischen Problemen

 
Bogdan Savchynskyy
PD Dr. Wolfgang MerkleTheoretische Informatik

Logik und Berechenbarkeit

 
Wolfgang Merkle
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 13. Okt. 2021 um 15:52