BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon from above
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Analysis and Modelling

Partial differential equations and ordinary differential equations are the foundational language in which many systems from physics, biology, engineering and many other sciences are modelled. The examples include reaction-diffusion systems of pattern formation, continuum mechanics models of elasticity and fluid dynamics, models for electro- and magnetostatics and structured population models.

In Heidelberg we are interested in the modelling and analysis of complex systems involving multiple scales and parameters that control the emergence of nonlocal and nonlinear effects. In particular, we explore a range of pattern formation mechanisms arising from nonconvexity or hysteresis. To tackle these problems, we use tools and ideas from different areas such as asymptotic and singular perturbation analysis, semigroup theory, energy methods, harmonic and microlocal analysis. These mathematical techniques are also applied to derive effective model equations and to study their dynamics in dependence of model variables and parameters.

Key Questions

Key questions in the understanding of these systems are:

  1. Is the problem well-posed in the sense that it admits a solution in a desirable functional space? Is the solution unique?
  2. What do we know about the properties of the solution such as its dependence on initial conditions and model parameters?
  3. Can we understand the effective behaviour of the system in the terms of its parameters?

Our research interests

In the research group of H. Knüpfer, we investigate models from materials science and fluid dynamics. In particular, we are interested in the analysis of pattern formation in non-convex systems with nonlocal interaction such as ferromagnetic systems,  systems with long-range Riesz type interaction or elastic materials. Another interest are free boundary problems in fluid dynamics. Information about the group members and details reseach and teaching can be found here.

The interests of the research group of A. Rüland revolve around inverse problems, nonlocal elliptic equations, free boundary value problems and the calculus of variations. It is the group's aim to analyse important applications from the sciences with mathematically innovative tools. Information on the group's current structure, research interests and teaching portfolio can be found here.

The interdisciplinary expertise of the research group of A. Marciniak-Czochra lies in the areas of applied mathematics and mathematical biosciences. Our field of focus is the dynamics of self-organisation and structure formation in developmental and regeneration processes, and in cancer. The models developed in a close collaboration with experimentalists, are applied to investigate evolution and impacts of cellular heterogeneity in stem cell-based systems, systemic organisation of cell fate control and mechanisms of symmetry breaking and pattern formation. The mathematical areas of focus are partial differential equations, dynamical systems and multiscale analysis. The main lines of analytical research are devoted to (1) emergence and stability of pattern formation in reaction-diffusion type equations;  (2) analysis of nonlinear structured population models; linking continuous and discrete structures; (3) derivation of effective models starting from first-principle modelling to describe growth and transport processes. Particular attention is paid to methods of model upscaling and reduction.

Research groups and principal investigators

The following profiles lead you to the different research groups, where you can find more information about our teaching and research activities in the field of applied analysis. We in particular invite students to visit us and get to know us and our working groups.

Prof. Dr. Hans KnüpferPDEs and Calculus of Variations

Institute of Applied Mathematics

Calculus of variations, free boundary value problems, fluid dynamics

 
Hans Knüpfer
Prof. Dr. Anna Marciniak-CzochraApplied Analysis and Modelling in Biosciences

Institute of Applied Mathematics

Mathematical modelling; differential equations; multiscale analysis; pattern formation

 
Prof. Dr. Anna Marciniak-Czochra
Prof. Dr. Angkana RülandAnalysis and PDEs

Institute for Applied Mathematics

Inverse problems, nonlocal elliptic PDEs, free boundary value problems, calculus of variations

 
Angkana Rüland
Dr. Jan FuhrmannAcademic Council

Institute for Applied Mathematics

Mathematische Modellierung biologischer Systeme; Differentialgleichungen

 
Avatar
E-Mail Phone: +49 6221 54-14104 Office: Room 4.404 (INF 205) Office hours: Mondays, 1 p.m. - 2 p.m. Courses wintersemester 2021/22: Lecture: Einführung in die Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie und Statistik (mit Enno Mammen) Lecture: Statistische Methoden in der Epidemiologie (mit Enno Mammen und Marilena Müller) Proseminar: Markov-Ketten
Last updated on Sep 21, 2021 at 7:02 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon from above
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Analysis und Modellierung

Partielle Differentialgleichungen und gewöhnliche Differentialgleichungen sind die grundlegende Sprache, in der viele Systeme aus Physik, Biologie, Ingenieurwesen und vielen anderen Wissenschaften modelliert werden. Zu den Beispielen gehören Reaktions-Diffusions-Systeme der Musterbildung, kontinuumsmechanische Modelle der Elastizität und Fluiddynamik, Modelle für Elektro- und Magnetostatik und strukturierte Populationsmodelle.

In Heidelberg interessieren wir uns für die Modellierung und Analyse komplexer Systeme mit mehreren Skalen und Parametern, die das Auftreten von nichtlokalen und nichtlinearen Effekten steuern. Insbesondere untersuchen wir eine Reihe von Musterbildungsmechanismen, die sich aus Nichtkonvexität oder Hysterese ergeben. Um diese Probleme anzugehen, verwenden wir Werkzeuge und Ideen aus verschiedenen Bereichen wie asymptotische und singuläre Störungsanalyse, Halbgruppentheorie, Energiemethoden, harmonische und mikrolokale Analyse. Diese mathematischen Techniken werden auch zur Ableitung effektiver Modellgleichungen und zur Untersuchung ihrer Dynamik in Abhängigkeit von Modellvariablen und Parametern eingesetzt.

Zentrale Fragen

Die zentralen Fragen für das Verständnis dieser Systeme sind:

  1. Ist das Problem wohlgestellt in dem Sinne, dass es eine Lösung in einem wünschenswerten Funktionsraum zulässt? Ist die Lösung eindeutig?
  2. Was wissen wir über die Eigenschaften der Lösung, wie z. B. ihre Abhängigkeit von den Anfangsbedingungen und Modellparametern?
  3. Können wir das effektive Verhalten des Systems in Bezug auf seine Parameter verstehen?

Unsere Forschungsinteressen

In der Forschungsgruppe von H. Knüpfer untersuchen wir Modelle aus der Materialwissenschaft und der Fluiddynamik. Insbesondere interessieren wir uns für die Analyse der Musterbildung in nicht-konvexen Systemen mit nichtlokaler Wechselwirkung wie ferromagnetischen Systemen, Systemen mit langreichweitiger Riesz-Wechselwirkung oder elastischen Materialien. Ein weiteres Interesse gilt freien Randproblemen in der Fluiddynamik. Informationen über die Mitglieder der Gruppe und Einzelheiten zu Forschung und Lehre finden Sie hier.

Das Interesse der Forschungsgruppe von A. Rüland richtet sich auf inverse Probleme, nichtlokale elliptische Gleichungen, freie Randwertprobleme und die Variationsrechnung. Ziel der Gruppe ist es, wichtige Anwendungen aus den Naturwissenschaften mit mathematisch innovativen Werkzeugen zu analysieren. Informationen über die aktuelle Struktur der Gruppe, ihre Forschungsinteressen und ihr Lehrangebot finden Sie hier.

Die interdisziplinäre Expertise der Forschungsgruppe von A. Marciniak-Czochra liegt in den Bereichen der angewandten Mathematik und der mathematischen Biowissenschaften. Unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Dynamik der Selbstorganisation und Strukturbildung bei Entwicklungs- und Regenerationsprozessen sowie bei Krebs. Die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Experimentalphysikern entwickelten Modelle werden angewandt, um die Entwicklung und die Auswirkungen der zellulären Heterogenität in stammzellbasierten Systemen, die systemische Organisation der Steuerung des Zellschicksals und die Mechanismen der Symmetriebrechung und Musterbildung zu untersuchen. Die mathematischen Schwerpunkte liegen auf partiellen Differentialgleichungen, dynamischen Systemen und Multiskalenanalyse. Die Hauptlinien der analytischen Forschung sind (1) Entstehung und Stabilität der Musterbildung in Reaktions-Diffusions-Gleichungen; (2) Analyse nichtlinearer strukturierter Populationsmodelle; Verknüpfung kontinuierlicher und diskreter Strukturen; (3) Ableitung effektiver Modelle ausgehend von der First-Principle-Modellierung zur Beschreibung von Wachstums- und Transportprozessen. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf Methoden der Modellvergrößerung und -verkleinerung gelegt.

Forschungsgruppen und Forschungsgruppenleiter:innen

Die folgenden Profile führen Sie zu den verschiedenen Forschungsgruppen, wo Sie weitere Informationen über unsere Lehr- und Forschungsaktivitäten im Bereich der angewandten Analytik finden können. Wir laden insbesondere Studierende ein, uns aufzusuchen und uns sowie unsere Arbeitsgruppen kennen zu lernen.

Prof. Dr. Hans KnüpferPDEs and Calculus of Variations

Institut für Angewandte Mathematik

Variationsrechnung, freie Randwertprobleme, Strömungsdynamik

 
Hans Knüpfer
Prof. Dr. Anna Marciniak-CzochraApplied Analysis and Modelling in Biosciences

Mathematische Modellierung; Differentialgleichungen; Multiskalenanalyse; Musterbildung

 
Prof. Dr. Anna Marciniak-Czochra
Prof. Dr. Angkana RülandAnalysis and PDEs

Institut für Angewandte Mathematik

Inverse Probleme, nichtlokale elliptische PDEs, freie Randwertprobleme, Variationsrechnung

 
Angkana Rüland
Dr. Jan FuhrmannAkademischer Rat

Institut für Angewandte Mathematik

Mathematische Modellierung biologischer Systeme; Differentialgleichungen

 
J. Fuhrmann
E-Mail Tel: 06221 54-14104 Büro: Raum 4.404 (INF 205) Sprechstunde: Montags, 13:00 Uhr - 14:00 Uhr Lehrveranstaltungen Wintersemester 2021/22: Vorlesung: Einführung in die Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie und Statistik (mit Enno Mammen) Vorlesung: Statistische Methoden in der Epidemiologie (mit Enno Mammen und Marilena Müller) Proseminar: Markov-Ketten
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 20. Apr. 2022 um 17:31