BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Sculpture 2
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Algebra and Arithmetic

Arithmetic geometry is the study of rational solutions of systems of polynomial equations using the powerful machinery of algebraic geometry. Integer solutions of Diophantine equations are of particular importance to number theory, as are solutions in fields other than , such as finite fields. Several motivating questions are more than 2000 years old, but only recent developments have made it possible to answer some of them. As a result, arithmetic geometry today is a vibrant, fascinating and very successful part of modern mathematics.

In Heidelberg,we focus on the following research areas. We study Galois representations and their deformations and the geometry of eigenvarieties over adic spaces as part of the -adic Langlands program. Furthermore there is a field of focus on Drinfeld modular varieties as part of the Langlands program over function fields. We pursue research in Iwasawa theory, with a focus Iwasawa cohomology over -adic Lie extensions with its relation to -adic -functions and -adic Hodge theory. Furthermore there is a focus on arithmetic homotopy groups including the connection to Anabelian Geometry or the tame cohomology of adic spaces.

What is Arithmetic Algebraic Geometry about?

Complex torus and elliptic curve

The classical objects of interest in arithmetic geometry are rational points, which are sets of solutions of a system of polynomial equations over number fields, finite fields, -adic fields, or function fields. Of particular interest in number theory are integer solutions of Diophantine equations. Great progress was achieved by describing this algebraic setup in a geometric language and developing the powerful machinery of algebraic geometry. In particular, this led to a transformation of the initial problem to questions about the structure of algebraic varieties defined over non-algebraically-closed fields. This modern abstract version of algebraic geometry was developed by Grothendieck and Serre in the 1950/60s. Since then, arithmetic algebraic geometry has seen tremendous developments and successes. Prime examples are Deligne's solution of the Riemann Hypothesis for algebraic varieties over finite fields, Wiles' work on modularity implying Fermat's Last Theorem, and Lafforgue's contribution to the Langlands program. The speed of development in the field has kept pace, as the most recent list of Fields medals awarded in the area for Scholze and Venkatesh illustrates.

Typical overall research questions are

  • How is the intrinsic geometry and arithmetic of spaces reflected by its cohomology, homotopy and Galois representations?
  • How can algebraic structures that are governed by their monodromy or their towers of covering spaces be classified and computed?

A web of methods and conjectures in arithmetic geometry

Research in modern arithmetic geometry is integrated in a vast web of conjectures and uses a large toolbox of different methods.

Over finite fields, the theory of étale cohomology provides topological invariants associated to algebraic varieties. -adic Hodge theory gives tools to examine when cohomological properties of varieties over the complex numbers extend to those over -adic fields. The arithmetic of abelian varieties links the rational solutions (Mordell Weil group) with its Hasse-Weil -function as conjectured by the (generalized) Birch and Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture, which in turn is a special case of the Tamagawa Number Conjecture. One way of studying these phenomena over towers of number fields simultaneously is by Iwasawa theory and -adic -functions, a vital research direction not least concerning possibly non-commutative equivariant aspects.

In a similar spirit but in a much more general framework the Langlands program, one of the largest research programs in pure mathematics, seeks to relate Galois groups and their representations to automorphic forms and the representation theory of algebraic groups over local and global fields – providing a vast generalization of class field theory. In particular it contains a correspondence of -functions and local constants. One prominent recent generalization of Langlands’ classical conjectures is the -adic Langlands program, where one studies the relationship of -adic Galois representations to -adic automorphic forms. Deformation techniques for Galois representations on the Galois side are paralleled by the study of geometric families of -adic automorphic forms as given by eigenvarieties. Studying the interplay between the geometry of these families and the representation theory of the algebraic groups using cohomology theories is an interesting and highly active research direction. The question of how geometry dictates the image of Galois representations is the topic of another vibrant research direction. Deformation-theoretic arguments suggest that the image of the Galois representations is as large as geometry allows. These global aspects are complemented by the local -adic Langlands program which is closely related to -adic Hodge theory.

The occurrence of wild ramification in positive and mixed characteristic implies unexpected behaviour of classical geometric invariants. In particular, the higher étale homotopy groups of schemes over finite fields contain only limited information (they vanish for affine schemes). Therefore, there exists an enormous interest to develop the tame site of schemes and of adic spaces, a systematic way to avoid wild ramification. It will produce improved invariants, in particular homotopy-invariant cohomology and nontrivial higher homotopy groups.

Finally, anabelian geometry, which can be considered as another (highly non-linear and non-abelian) generalization of class field theory, describes the way in which the algebraic fundamental group of a certain arithmetic variety , or some related geometric object, can help to restore .

Our research activities form part of the Collaborative Research Centre CRC 326 GAUS with partners in Frankfurt, Darmstadt, Mainz and Munich.

There has been a long tradition in arithmetic in Heidelberg with mathematicians like F.K. Schmidt, Maaß, Freitag, Roquette, Matzat, Wingberg et. al. In particular, the DFG- Research Groups “Arithmetic” (1998- 2004, Spokesperson: Freitag) and “Symmetry, Geometry, and Arithmetic (SGA)” (2013-2019, Spokesperson: Schmidt) have had a strong impact on the development of the field in Heidelberg.

Working groups and junior scientist/research group leaders

We welcome students interested in specializing in one of the above research directions and invite you to join our Master or PhD program. These programs will provide you with advanced knowledge of topics in arithmetic geometry and offer guidance, support and a dynamic environment for a successful research project.

Prof. Dr. Gebhard BöckleComputational Arithmetic Geometry

Mathematical Institute / IWR

Galois representations/deformations, Drinfeld modular forms/varieties

 
Prof. Dr. Gebhard Böckle
Prof. Dr. Alexander SchmidtArithmetic Homotopy Theory

Mathematical Institute

Arithmetic homotopy groups, Anabelian Geometry

 
Prof. Dr. Alexander Schmidt
Prof. Dr. Otmar Venjakob-adic Arithmetic Geometry

Mathematical Institute

Iwasawa theory of -adic Lie extensions, -adic Hodge theory

 
Prof. Dr. Otmar Venjakob
Dr. Katharina HübnerTame cohomology of adic spaces

Mathematical Institute

Tame cohomology of adic spaces

 
Dr. Katharina Hübner
Dr. Judith Ludwig-adic Langlands program, eigenvarieties

Mathematical Institute

-adic Langlands program, eigenvarieties

 
Profile Ludwig
Dr. Denis VogelMassey products, mild pro--groups

Mathematical Institute

Massey products, mild pro--groups

 
Dr. Denis Vogel
Last updated on Sep 19, 2021 at 2:27 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Sculpture 2
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Algebra und Arithmetik

Arithmetische Geometrie beschäftigt sich mit dem Studium rationaler Lösungen polynomialer Gleichungen mittels der leistungsstarken Methode der algebraischen Geometrie. Ganzzahlige Lösungen Diophantischer Gleichungen sind von besonderem Interesse in der Zahlentheorie, ebenso die Lösungen über anderen Körpern als , etwa endlichen Körpern. Viele motivierende Fragestellungen sind mehr als 2000 Jahre alt, auch wenn erst Entwicklungen in näherer Vergangenheit es ermöglichten, einige davon zu beantworten. Als Folge bildet arithmetische Geometrie einen lebendigen, faszinierenden und sehr erfolgreichen Bestandteil moderner Mathematik.

In Heidelberg liegt der Fokus auf den folgenden Forschungsschwerpunkten: Wir untersuchen Galois-Darstellungen und ihre Deformationen sowie die Geometrie von Eigenvarietäten über adischen Räumen als Teil des -adischen Langlands-Programms. Ferner gibt es einen Fokus auf Drinfeldsche Modulvarietäten als Teil des Langlands-Programms über Funktionenkörpern. Wir betreiben Forschung in Iwasawa-Theorie mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Iwasawa-Kohomologie über -adischen Lie-Erweiterungen mit Beziehungen zu -adischen -Funktionen und zu -adischer Hodge-Theorie. Weiterhin gibt es einen Fokus auf arithmetische Homotopiegruppen einschließlich der Beziehungen zur Anabelschen Geometrie oder zur zahmen Kohomologie adischer Räume.

Worum geht es in der Arithmetischen Algebraischen Geometrie?

Complex torus and elliptic curve

Die klassischen Objekte in der arithmetischen Geometrie sind rationale Punkte, die Lösungsmengen eines Systems von Polynomgleichungen über Zahlkörpern, endlichen Körpern, -adischen Körpern oder Funktionenkörpern bilden. Von besonderem Interesse in der Zahlentheorie sind ganzzahlige Lösungen diophantischer Gleichungen. Große Fortschritte wurden erzielt, indem dieses algebraische Setup in einer geometrischen Sprache beschrieben und die mächtige Maschinerie der algebraischen Geometrie entwickelt wurde. Dies führte zu einer Transformation des Ausgangsproblems der diophantischen Gleichungen zu Fragen nach der Struktur algebraischer Varietäten über nicht notwendiger Weise algebraisch abgeschlossenen Körpern. Diese moderne, abstrakte Version der algebraischen Geometrie wurde von Grothendieck und Serre in den 1950/60er Jahren entwickelt. Seitdem hat die arithmetische algebraische Geometrie enorme Entwicklungen und Erfolge erlebt. Paradebeispiele sind Delignes Lösung der Riemann-Hypothese für algebraische Varietäten über endlichen Körpern, Wiles Arbeit über Modularität, welche Fermats letzten Satz impliziert, und Lafforgues Beitrag zum Langlands-Programm. Die Geschwindigkeit der Entwicklung auf diesem Gebiet hat bis heute Schritt gehalten, wie die jüngste Liste der Fields-Medaillen zeigt, die auf diesem Gebiet an Scholze und Venkatesh vergeben wurden.

Typische übergreifende Forschungsfragen sind

  • Wie spiegelt sich die intrinsische Geometrie und Arithmetik von Räumen in ihren Kohomologien, Homotopien und Galois-Darstellungen wider?
  • Wie können algebraische Strukturen, die durch ihre Monodromie oder ihre Türme von Überlagerungsräumen bestimmt werden, klassifiziert und berechnet werden?

Ein Netz von Methoden und Vermutungen in der arithmetischen Geometrie

Die Forschung in der modernen arithmetischen Geometrie ist in ein riesiges Netz von Vermutungen eingeflochten und verwendet eine große Auswahl verschiedener Methoden.

Über endlichen Körpern liefert die Theorie der étalen Kohomologie topologische Invarianten, die algebraischen Varietäten zugeordnet werden. -adische Hodge-Theorie gibt Werkzeuge an die Hand, um zu untersuchen, wann sich kohomologische Eigenschaften von Varietäten über den komplexen Zahlen auf diejenigen über -adischen Körpern ausdehnen. Die Arithmetik abelscher Varietäten verbindet die rationalen Lösungen (Mordell-Weil-Gruppe) mit ihrer Hasse-Weil--Funktion, wie es in der (verallgemeinerten) Birch- und Swinnerton-Dyer-Vermutung zum Ausdruck kommt, die wiederum ein Sonderfall der Tamagawa-Zahl-Vermutung ist. Eine Möglichkeit, diese Phänomene über einen ganzen Turm von Zahlenkörpern gleichzeitig zu untersuchen, stellt die Iwasawa-Theorie samt ihren -adische -Funktionen dar - eine wichtige Forschungsrichtung nicht zuletzt im Hinblick auf äquivariante, möglicherweise nichtkommutative Aspekte.

Einer ähnlichen Philosophie folgend, aber in einem viel allgemeineren Rahmen, versucht das Langlands-Programm, eines der größten Forschungsprogramme in der reinen Mathematik, Galois-Gruppen und ihre Darstellungen mit automorphen Formen und der Darstellungstheorie algebraischer Gruppen über lokalen und globalen Körper in Beziehung zu setzen - was auf eine umfassende Verallgemeinerung der Klassenkörpertheorie hinausläuft. Insbesondere enthält es eine Entsprechung von -Funktionen und lokalen Konstanten. Eine prominente, neuere Verallgemeinerung der klassischen Vermutungen von Langlands ist das -adische Langlands-Programm, in dem man die Beziehung von -adischen Galois-Darstellungen zu -adischen automorphen Formen untersucht. Deformationstechniken für Galois-Darstellungen auf der Galois-Seite finden eine Parallele in der Untersuchung geometrischer Familien -adischer automorpher Formen, wie sie durch Eigenvarietitäten gegeben sind. Das Studium des Zusammenspiels zwischen der Geometrie dieser Familien und der Darstellungstheorie der algebraischen Gruppen unter Verwendung von Kohomologietheorien ist eine interessante und sehr aktive Forschungsrichtung. Die Frage, wie die Geometrie das Bild von Galois-Darstellungen bestimmt, ist das Thema einer weiteren lebendigen Forschungsrichtung. Deformationstheoretische Argumente deuten darauf hin, dass das Bild der Galois-Darstellungen so groß ist, wie es die Geometrie zulässt. Diese globalen Aspekte werden durch das lokale -adische Langlands-Programm ergänzt, das eng mit -adischer Hodge-Theorie verzahnt ist.

Das Auftreten von wilder Verzweigung in positiver und gemischter Charakteristik impliziert ein unerwartetes Verhalten klassischer geometrischer Invarianten. Insbesondere die höheren étalen Homotopiegruppen von Schemata über endlichen Körpern enthalten nur begrenzte Informationen (sie verschwinden für affine Schemata). Daher besteht ein enormes Interesse daran, den zahmen Situs von Schemata und adischen Räumen zu entwickeln, ein systematischer Weg, um wilde Verzweigung zu vermeiden. Er wird verbesserte Invarianten liefern, insbesondere homotopieinvariante Kohomologie und nichttriviale höhere Homotopiegruppen.

Schließlich beschreibt die anabelsche Geometrie, die als eine weitere (stark nichtlineare und nicht-abelsche) Verallgemeinerung der Klassenkörpertheorie zu betrachten ist, einen Weg, wie eine bestimmte arithmetische Varietät oder ein verwandtes geometrisches Objekt aus der algebraischen Fundamentalgruppe rekonstruiert werden kann.

Unsere aktuellen Forschungsaktivitäten sind eingebunden in den Sonderforschungsbereich SFB 326 GAUS mit Partnern in Frankfurt, Darmstadt, Mainz und München.

Die Arithmetik hat in Heidelberg eine lange Tradition mit Mathematikern wie F.K. Schmidt, Maaß, Freitag, Roquette, Matzat, Wingberg u.a. Insbesondere die DFG-Forschungsgruppen „Arithmetik“ (1998-2004, Sprecher: Freitag) und „Symmetrie, Geometrie und Arithmetik (SGA)“ (2013-2019, Sprecher: Schmidt) haben die Entwicklung des Gebietes in Heidelberg stark beeinflusst.

Arbeitsgruppen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler/Forschungsgruppenleiter

Wir begrüßen Studierende, die daran interessiert sind, sich in einer der oben genannten Forschungsrichtungen zu spezialisieren und laden Sie ein, an unserem Masterstudium teilzunehmen oder eine Promotion bei uns zu absolvieren. Unsere Programme vermitteln Ihnen fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse über Themen der arithmetischen Geometrie und bieten Ihnen eine Anleitung, Unterstützung und ein dynamisches Umfeld für ein erfolgreiches Forschungsprojekt.

Prof. Dr. Gebhard BöckleComputational Arithmetic Geometry

Mathematisches Institut / IWR

Galois-Darstellungen/Deformationen, Drinfeldsche Modulformen/Varietäten

 
Prof. Dr. Gebhard Böckle
Prof. Dr. Alexander SchmidtArithmetische Homotopietheorie

Mathematisches Institut

Arithmetische Homotopiegruppen, Anabelsche Geometrie

 
Prof. Dr. Alexander Schmidt
Prof. Dr. Otmar Venjakob-adische Arithmetische Geometrie

Mathematisches Institut

Iwasawa-Theorie der -adischen Lie-Erweiterungen, -adische Hodge-Theorie

 
Prof. Dr. Otmar Venjakob
Dr. Katharina HübnerZahme Kohomologie adischer Räume

Mathematisches Institut

Zahme Kohomologie adischer Räume

 
Dr. Katharina Hübner
Dr. Judith Ludwig-adisches Langlands-Programm

Mathematisches Institut

-adisches Langlands-Programm, Eigenvarietäten

 
Profile Ludwig
Dr. Denis VogelMassey-Produkte, milde pro--Gruppen

Mathematisches Institut

Massey-Produkte, milde pro--Gruppen

 
Dr. Denis Vogel
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 24. März 2022 um 09:50