BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Balcony and Lobby
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

Bachelor Programs Computer Science

Computers and software permeate many areas of our lives these days. The study program in Heidelberg offers a comprehensive education in Computer Science, with a focus on applications in the natural sciences and technology, as well as in the humanities. At the same time, our graduates have excellent career opportunities in the region.

The program aims at the acquisition of a solid basic knowledge of Computer Science and its theoretical and mathematical foundations, as well as the familiarization with typical Computer Science methods and their implementation in practice. This basic knowledge and these skills should enable graduates to react and adapt to the rapidly changing demands in the Computer Science profession. Interdisciplinarity and research orientation give the program a unique profile.

Please Note

During the remodeling of the Faculty web site, the Computer Science web pages remain a reliable source of detailed and up-to-date information (albeit in German only). Thank you for your understanding.

Structure of a Bachelor Program in Computer Science at Heidelberg University

In the bachelor program, a broad basic knowledge is imparted, which in particular enables students to create complex applications. This includes the development process (e.g. project organization and software development tools) as well as the handling of data (e.g. efficient data structures and databases) and the development of automatic procedures (e.g. efficient algorithms and simulations). You will learn how to make optimal use of complex computer structures (e.g. parallel computers) or how to develop your own computer architectures in the context of Computer Science.

Heidelberg University offers you the option of completing a computer science degree with a subject share of 100% or 50%. With the 50% option, you can combine your study program with another 50% program. Furthermore, with the 50% option, you can also select the teaching option. This enables you to continue your study program later with a Master of Education for the teaching profession at secondary level (Gymnasium).

Bachelor Applied Computer Science 100 %

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
Type of StudyUndergraduate
Begin of studyWinter semester only
Standard period of study6 semesters
Language(s)German, some English
Application ProcedureEntrance examination

Bachelor Applied Computer Science 50 %

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.) or Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)
Type of studyUndergraduate, 2 majors
Begin of studyWinter semester only
Standard period of study6 semesters
Language(s)German, some English
Application ProcedureEntrance examination

Course Handbooks Bachelor Applied Computer Science

Course Handbook Bachelor Applied Computer Science 100%

as of winter semester 2020/21

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Course Handbook Bachelor Applied Computer Science 50%

as of winter semester 2020/21

(Deutsch)
not available in English

In order to complete the bachelor's program, 180 ECTS are required. Of these, 92 ECTS are allocated to Computer Science, 32 ECTS to Mathematics, 24 ECTS to an area of application, 20 ECTS to interdisciplinary studies and 12 ECTS to the Bachelor Thesis.

Subject Studies

The subject studies are structurally divided into basic mandatory modules, mandatory modules and elective modules. The exact contents of the modules of the subject studies can be found in the course handbook.

Area of Application

Permitted areas of application:

  • Astronomy
  • Life sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Computer linguistics
  • Geography
  • Geosciences
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Economics

Upon request, a different field may be approved as an area of application.

Interdisciplinary Courses

The total of 20 ECTS required for this area are divided into key competencies and the elective courses. The key competencies are integrated into subject modules. For the required 8 ECTS in the elective courses, the students can choose from the courses offered by the university or from the interdisciplinary Computer Science courses.

Bachelor Thesis

By completing the Bachelor thesis, students should prove that they are able to work independently on a problem in Computer Science or an area of application within a given period of three months using methods from the field of Computer Science. The Bachelor thesis must be commenced at the latest in the semester following the last examination.

FAQs Bachelor Applied Computer Science 100%

    Credit transfer

    Please first read paragraph 7 of the examination regulations: "Crediting of study and examination achievements and degrees".

    Achievements that you have completed at other universities can, in principle, be credited to achievements in your degree program. Important: credit can only be given for those achievements which can be proven to have been achieved and graded by means of an oral or written examination. Only in justifiable exceptional cases is an accreditation possible if you have not received a grade for the performance. Furthermore, achievements can only be credited if they correspond in type and scope to achievements required by us (ECTS specification). The procedure is now as follows:

    1. Create a list of those achievements that you consider to be creditable and wish to have accredited.
    2. Compare the type and scope of your achievements with those required by us and indicate in each case for which of our modules your achievements should be credited.
    3. Formulate the request for credit to the chair of the examination board. For this purpose, use only the corresponding form on the computer science website (to be found under "Important Forms")!
    4. Come to the Examination Office during opening hours and bring with you all those certificates of achievement for which credit is requested. (The original for checking and a copy as an attachment). To be on the safe side, you should also bring the module descriptions of those courses that you have attended for comparability of performance. In case of courses that are not directly from the field of Computer Science, it may be necessary to obtain information from the examination board of the other field.

     

    Orientation examination

    If the module Introduction to Practical Computer Science (IPI) is still not passed after the third semester, the deadline for taking the orientation exam has expired and paragraph 13 (3) of the examination regulations becomes effective: "... If the deadline is missed, the examinee loses the right to take the examination, unless he/she is not responsible for missing the deadline." Since IPI is the introductory course to the study program, you should in any case ask yourself Computer Science is a suitable field of study for you. Therefore, please also consult sour student advisor, if necessary.

    Bachelor Applied Computer Science 50 %

    In the case of the 50% Bachelor, 74 ECTS are allocated to the field of Computer Science, 74 ECTS to the other field of study, 20 ECTS to interdisciplinary courses and 12 ECTS to the Bachelor Thesis. The thesis is written in the primary field of study.

    Subject Studies

    The subject studies are structurally divided into basic mandatory modules, mandatory modules and elective modules. The exact contents of the modules of the subject studies can be found in the course handbook.

    Interdisciplinary Courses

    The total of 10 ECTS required for Computer Science are divided into key competencies and the elective courses. The key competencies are integrated into subject modules. For the required 8 ECTS in the elective courses, the students can choose from the courses offered by the university or from the interdisciplinary Computer Science courses.

    Bachelor Thesis

    By completing the Bachelor thesis, students should prove that they are able to work independently on a problem in Computer Science or an area of application within a given period of three months using methods from the field of Computer Science. The Bachelor thesis must be commenced at the latest in the semester following the last examination.

    Please note: Students are only allowed to write a Bachelor thesis in the field of Computer Science if Computer Science has been chosen as their primary field of study.

    Bachelor Applied Computer Science 50 % Teaching

      The teaching degree has been converted to a Bachelor's/Master's structure:

      In the Bachelor's program, two Bachelor programs relevant to teaching are studied, each with a 50% teaching option. The Computer Science part of the study program is the Bachelor of Applied Computer Science with a subject share of 50% and the teaching option. This Bachelor's program is followed by the Master of Education with a minor in Computer Science.

      FAQs Bachelor Applied Computer Science 50%

        What other 50% courses can I combine this subject with?

        The Bachelor in Applied Computer Science 50% can basically be combined with all other subjects at Heidelberg University that offer a 50% degree. When registering, please note that you can only write your bachelor thesis in the first major, and enter your subjects accordingly in order to avoid to later formally have to change your programme.

        Who can supervise bachelor theses?

        Any person who has been granted the right to examine mathematics by the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science can be considered as a supervisor of a bachelor thesis. This group includes all professors of the faculty as well as some lecturers on permanent positions - if in doubt, you can ask.

        What are the deadlines for my bachelor thesis?

        The processing time for the bachelor thesis is 3 months. The registration and submission dates are shown on the notification form for the bachelor thesis and are binding.

        Last updated on Sep 25, 2021 at 9:26 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Balcony and Lobby
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

Bachelorstudiengänge Informatik

Computer und Software durchdringen heutzutage viele Bereiche unseres Lebens. Das Studium in Heidelberg bietet eine fundierte Informatik-Ausbildung, wobei die Schwerpunkte der Anwendungen in Naturwissenschaften und Technik, aber auch in den Geisteswissenschaften liegen. Gleichzeitig haben unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen hervorragende Berufschancen in der Region.

Ziel der Ausbildung ist der Erwerb eines soliden Grundwissens der Informatik und ihrer theoretischen und mathematischen Grundlagen, sowie das Erlernen typischer Informatikmethoden und deren Umsetzung in der Praxis. Diese Grundkenntnisse und -fähigkeiten sollen den Absolventen und Absolventinnen die Möglichkeit geben, flexibel auf die sich rasch ändernden Anforderungen im Berufsbild Informatik zu reagieren. Interdisziplinarität und Forschungsorientierung geben dem Studiengang ein besonderes Profil.

Bitte beachten

Während der Überarbeitung des Webauftritts der Fakultät bleiben die Webseiten der Informatik eine zuverlässige Quelle für ausführliche und ständig aktualisierte Informationen. Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis.

Aufbau eines Bachelorstudiums der Informatik an der Universität Heidelberg

Im Bachelor-Studium wird ein breites Grundlagenwissen vermittelt, das insbesondere befähigt, komplexe Anwendungen zu erstellen. Dies umfasst sowohl den Entwicklungsprozess (z.B. Projektorganisation und Softwareentwicklungswerkzeuge) wie auch den Umgang mit Daten (z.B. effiziente Datenstrukturen und Datenbanken) und der Entwicklung von automatischen Verfahren (z.B. Effiziente Algorithmen und Simulation). Hierbei lernen Sie, wie Sie komplexe Rechnerstrukturen (z.B. Parallelrechner) optimal nutzen oder im Rahmen der technischen Informatik eigene Rechnerarchitekturen entwickeln

Die Universität Heidelberg bietet Ihnen hierbei die Möglichkeit, ein Informatikstudium mit einem Fachanteil von 100% oder 50% zu absolvieren. Bei der 50%-Variante können Sie ihr Studium mit einem weiteren 50%-Studiengang kombinieren. Weiterhin können Sie bei der 50%-Variante auch noch die Lehramtsoption hinzuwählen. Dies ermöglicht es Ihnen Ihr Studium später mit einem Master of Education für das Lehramt an Gymnasien fortzusetzen.

Bachelor Informatik 100 %

AbschlussBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
SttudiengangstypGrundständig
StudienbeginnNur Wintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Lehrsprache(n)Deutsch, teilweise Englisch
BewerbungsverfahrenAufnahmeprüfung

Bachelor Informatik 50 %

AbschlussBachelor of Science (B. Sc.) o. Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)
StudiengangstypGrundständig, 2 Hauptfächer
StudienbeginnNur Wintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Lehrsprache(n)Deutsch, teilweise Englisch
BewerbungsverfahrenAufnahmeprüfung

Modulhandbücher Bachelor Informatik

Modulhandbuch Bachelor Informatik 100%

Stand: SS 2022 (neue PO)

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Modulhandbuch Bachelor Informatik 100%

Stand: SS 2022

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Modulhandbuch Bachelor Informatik 50%

Stand: SS 2022 (neue PO)

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Modulhandbuch Bachelor Informatik 50%

Stand: SS 2022

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar

Um das Bachelorstudium abzuschließen, benötigt man 180 LP. Davon entfallen 92 LP auf das Fachstudium Informatik, 32 LP auf das Fachstudium Mathematik, 24 LP auf ein Anwendungsgebiet, 20 LP auf fachübergreifende Kompetenzen und 12 LP auf die Bachelorarbeit.

Fachstudium

Das Fachstudium gliedert sich strukturell in Grundpflichtmodule, Pflichtmodule und Wahlpflichtmodule. Die genauen Inhalte der Module des Fachstudiums finden sich im Modulhandbuch.

Anwendungsgebiet

Zugelassene Anwendungsgebiete:

  • Astronomie
  • Biowissenschaften
  • Chemie
  • Computerlinguistik
  • Geographie
  • Geowissenschaften
  • Mathematik
  • Philosophie
  • Physik
  • Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Auf Antrag kann auch ein anderes Fach als Anwendungsgebiet genehmigt werden.

Fachübergreifende Kompetenzen

Die insgesamt erforderlichen 20 LP für diesen Bereich gliedern sich in Schlüsselkompetenzen und den Wahlpflichtbereich. Die Schlüsselkompetenzen sind in Fachmodule integriert, für die erforderlichen 8 LP im Wahlpflichtbereich können die Studierenden aus dem Studienangebot der Universität oder dem FÜK-Angebot der Informatik wählen.

Bachelorarbeit

Mit der Bachelorarbeit sollen Studierende zeigen, dass sie in der Lage sind, innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist von drei Monaten ein Problem der Informatik oder eines Anwendungsgebietes selbständig mit Methoden der Informatik zu bearbeiten. Die Bachelorarbeit muss spätestens in dem Semester das dem Bestehen der letzten Prüfungsleistung folgt begonnen werden.

FAQs Bachelor Informatik 100%

    Anrechnung von Studienleistungen

    Bitte lesen Sie zunächst Paragraph 7 der PO: „Anrechnung von Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen sowie Studienabschlüssen“.

    Leistungen, die Sie an anderen Universitäten erbracht haben, können grundsätzlich auf Leistungen in Ihrem Studiengang angerechnet werden. Wichtig: eine Anrechnung kann nur von solchen Leistungen erfolgen, die nachweislich durch eine mündliche Prüfung oder durch eine Klausur erbracht und benotet wurden. Nur in begründbaren Ausnahmefällen ist eine Anrechnung möglich, wenn Sie keine Note auf die Leistung erhalten haben. Weiterhin können Leistungen nur angerechnet werden, wenn sie in Art und Umfang mit von uns geforderten Leistungen übereinstimmen (ECTS-Angabe). Der Ablauf ist nun wie folgt:

    1. Erstellen Sie eine Auflistung jener Leistungen, die Sie für anrechenbar halten und deren Anrechnung sie beantragen möchten.
    2. Vergleichen Sie Art und Umfang Ihrer Leistungen mit den von uns geforderten und geben Sie jeweils an, für welche der unsrigen Module Ihre Leistungen angerechnet werden sollen.
    3. Formulieren Sie den Antrag auf Anerkennung an den Vorsitzenden der Prüfungskommission. Verwenden Sie hierzu ausschließlich das zugehörige Formular auf der Webseite der Informatik (zu finden unter „Wichtige Formulare“)!
    4. Kommen Sie zu den Öffnungszeiten zum Prüfungsamt und bringen Sie all jene Leistungsnachweise mit, deren Anrechnung beantragt wird. (Das Original zur Kontrolle und eine Kopie als Anlage). Sicherheitshalber sollten Sie auch die Modulbeschreibungen jener Lehrveranstaltungen mitbringen, die Sie besucht haben, damit die Prüfung auf Vergleichbarkeit der Leistung vorgenommen werden kann. Bei Veranstaltungen, die nicht direkt aus der Informatik sind, muss evtl. eine Auskunft beim Prüfungsausschuss des anderen Faches eingeholt werden.
    Orientierungsprüfung

    Wenn das Modul Einführung in die Praktische Informatik (IPI) auch nach dem dritten Semester noch nicht bestanden ist, dann ist die Frist zum Ablegen der Orientierungsprüfung abgelaufen und Paragraph 13 (3) der PO wird wirksam: „... Bei Versäumen der Frist verliert der Prüfling den Prüfungsanspruch, es sei denn, er hat die Fristüberschreitung nicht zu vertreten“. Da es sich bei IPI um die Einstiegsveranstaltung in das Studium handelt, sollten Sie sich auf jeden Fall ernsthaft fragen, ob Sie für das Informatikstudium geeignet sind. Suchen Sie daher bitte ggf. auch die Studienberatung auf.

    Im Falle des 50 % Bachelors entfallen 74 LP auf das Fach Informatik, 74 LP auf das andere Hauptfach, 20 LP auf übergreifende Kompetenzen und 12 LP auf die Bachelorarbeit. Diese wird im ersten Hauptfach geschrieben.

    Fachstudium

    Das Fachstudium gliedert sich strukturell in Grundpflichtmodule, Pflichtmodule und Wahlpflichtmodule. Die genauen Inhalte der Module des Fachstudiums finden sich im Modulhandbuch.

    Fachübergreifende Kompetenzen

    Die insgesamt im Fach Informatik erforderlichen 10 LP für diesen Bereich gliedern sich in Schlüsselkompetenzen und den Wahlpflichtbereich. Die Schlüsselkompetenzen sind in Fachmodule integriert, für die erforderlichen 8 LP im Wahlpflichtbereich können die Studierenden aus dem Studienangebot der Universität oder dem FÜK-Angebot der Informatik wählen.

    Bachelorarbeit

    Mit der Bachelorarbeit sollen Studierende zeigen, dass sie in der Lage sind, innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist von drei Monaten ein Problem der Informatik oder eines Anwendungsgebietes selbständig mit Methoden der Informatik zu bearbeiten. Die Bachelorarbeit muss spätestens in dem Semester das dem Bestehen der letzten Prüfungsleistung folgt begonnen werden.

    Hinweis: Anspruch auf eine Bachelorarbeit im Fach Informatik besteht nur, wenn Informatik als erstes Hauptfach gewählt wurde.

    Bachelor Informatik 50 % Lehramtsoption

      Es besteht die Möglichkeit, den Bachelor Informatik 50 % mit Lehramtsoption zu absolvieren, um später als Gymnasiallehrer/in tätig sein zu können. Dieser qualifiziert für den Master of Education. Konkret bedeutet dies, dass neben den Fachanteilen des Bachelor 50% innerhalb der Lehramtsoption bildungswissenschaftliche und schulpraktische Inhalte im Umfang von 20 LP vermittelt werden.

      Grundsätzlich kann die Lehramtsoption jederzeit zum Bachelor-Studiengang mit 50% Fachanteil hinzugenommen werden. Die Bestimmungen zur Lehramtsoption werden in der Rahmenregelung zur Lehramtsoption der Universität Heidelberg geregelt.

      FAQs Bachelor Informatik 50%

        Mit welchen anderen Fächern lässt sich der Bachelor Informatik 50% kombinieren?

        Der Bachelor Informatik 50% lässt sich grundsätzlich mit allen anderen Fächern der Universität Heidelberg kombinieren, die einen 50%-Studiengang anbieten. Bitte beachten Sie bei der Einschreibung, dass Sie Ihre Bachelorarbeit nur im ersten Hauptfach schreiben können, und tragen Sie Ihre Fächer dementsprechend ein, um eine spätere technische Umschreibung zu vermeiden.

        Wer kann Bachelorarbeiten betreuen?

        Als Betreuer einer Bachelorarbeit kommt jede Lehrperson infrage, die von der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik die Prüfungsberechtigung im Fach Mathematik verliehen bekommen hat. Diese Gruppe umfasst sämtliche Professorinnen und Professoren der Fakultät sowie einige Lehrpersonen auf permanenten Ratsstellen - im Zweifelsfall können Sie nachfragen.

        Welche Fristen gelten für meine Bachelorarbeit?

        Die Bearbeitungszeit der Bachelorarbeit beträgt 3 Monate. Anmelde- und Abgabedatum werden auf dem Formular Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit eingetragen und sind bindend.

        Zuletzt aktualisiert am 31. März 2022 um 11:20