BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Sierpinski Tetrahedron Model
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

Bachelor Programs Mathematics

The Bachelor programs 100% (single major) and 50% (second major/minor) provide students with a broad basic training in Mathematics.

The Bachelor Mathematics 100% is designed as a 6 semester program leading to the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.). This academic degree is considered the first professional qualification and a prerequisite for the advanced Master Program in Mathematics or Scientific Computing. The 50% version of the Bachelor concludes with either a Bachelor of Science of a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), depending on the choice of the second major.

How is a Bachelor Program in Mathematics at Heidelberg University structured?

The bachleor program mathematics program features a bachelor's degree in mathematics 100%, which can later be continued with a master's degree in mathematics or scientific computing, and a bachleor program in mathematics 50%, which leads to a master's degree in education by way of a teacher training option.

Bachelor Mathematics 100 %

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
Type of StudyUndergraduate
Begin of studyWinter semester only
Standard period of study6 semesters
Language(s)German
Application ProcedureNo admission restrictions

Bachelor Mathematics 50 %

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.) or Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)
Type of studyUndergraduate, 2 majors
Begin of studyWinter semester only
Standard period of study6 semesters
Language(s)German
Application ProcedureNo admission restrictions

Course Handbooks Bachelor Mathematics

Course Handbook Bachelor Mathematics 100%

as of winter semester 2020/21

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Course Handbook Bachelor Mathematics 50%

as of winter semester 2020/21

(Deutsch)
not available in English

To complete the bachelor's degree, you need 180 credit points (Leistungspunkte or LP). Of these, 127 CP are allocated to the core courses in Mathematics (subject studies), 21 CP to an area of application, 20 CP to interdisciplinary skills (Fachübergreifende Kompetenzen or FÜK) and 12 CP to the bachelor's thesis. At least 5 CP of the FÜK are completed in Mathematics and at least 3 CP in an area of application.

Subject studies

Within the core courses in Mathematics, we distinguish between compulsory modules, required elective modules and elective modules. The compulsory modules must be completed in any case. 3 CP for the programming part of the introduction to practical computer science and 2 CP for subject didactics in the proseminar and seminar count towards the interdisciplinary competencies (FÜK). In order to ensure a broad basic education, at least 1 module must be completed in each of the following three elective areas (required elective). An in-depth lecture must be chosen in at least one elective area; these are lectures whose title contains a 2, or those from the master’s degree. Finally, in the elective area, 16 LP must be completed in modules of your choice offered within mathematics. The content of the modules and specialization areas mentioned below is described in the course handbook.

Application areas

Fields admissible as application area:

  • Computer Science
  • Physics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Economy
  • Philosophy

Other subjects can be approved as application area upon request.

Interdisciplinary Competencies

Of the total of 20 CP required in the area of interdisciplinary studies, 8 CP are covered by the programming, interdisciplinary and presentation components of the core courses in Mathematics and the area of application. The remaining 12 CP can be earned in any course offered as FÜK at the University.

Bachelor thesis

The purpose of the bachelor thesis is for students to show that they master mathematical methods required to work independently on a problem from Mathematics or an area of application within a specified period of three months. The bachelor thesis must begin no later than one week after successful completion of the last course-related examination.

FAQs Bachelor Mathematics 100%

    Which areas of application can I choose?

    In principle, any math-related subject offered at Heidelberg University can be considered as an area of ​​application. The subjects astronomy, life sciences, chemistry, computational linguistics, computer science, philosophy, physics, psychology and economics are expressly approved. Details on which modules you have to take within your application area can be found in the module handbook for the Bachelor Mathematics 100%.

    Who can supervise bachelor theses?

    Any person who has been granted the right to examine mathematics by the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science can be considered as a supervisor of a bachelor thesis. This group includes all professors of the faculty as well as some lecturers on permanent positions - if in doubt, you can ask.

    Can I write my bachelor thesis at another university or in a company?

    It is not possible to write a bachelor thesis at another university. You can write your bachelor thesis in a company if the thesis is registered under a supervisor at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science.

    How do I register my bachelor thesis and what do I have to consider?

    To do this, you have to submit the registration forms Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit and Erklärung zur Bachelorarbeit at the examination office. Your supervisor's signature is required on the first form. Basically: You can only register your Bachelor thesis in the Bachelor Mathematics 100% if you have already booked 120 CP.

    What are the deadlines for my bachelor thesis?

    The processing time for the bachelor thesis is 3 months. The registration and submission dates are shown on the notification form for the bachelor thesis and are binding.

    Within the Bachelor program in Mathematics 50%, 84 CP are allocated to the core courses in mathematics (subject studies) and 12 CP to the Bachelor thesis. The other 84 CP of the bachelor's degree are allotted to the second main subject chosen.

    Subject studies

    Within the core courses in Mathematics, we distinguish between compulsory modules, required elective modules and elective modules. The compulsory modules must be completed in any case. 2 CP of the didactic component in the proseminar and seminar count towards the interdisciplinary competencies (FÜK). In the required elective category, at least 3 of the following modules have to be completed successfully:

    • Algebra 1
    • Theory of functions 1
    • Introduction to numerics
    • Introduction to probability and statistics

    The detailed content of the following modules can be found in the course handbook.

    Interdisciplinary competencies

    Of the total of 10 CP required in the area of interdisciplinary studies, 2 CP are covered by the didactics component of the proseminar. The remaining 8 CP can be earned in any course offered as FÜK at the University.

    Bachelor thesis

    The purpose of the bachelor thesis is for students to show that they master mathematical methods required to work independently on a problem from Mathematics or an area of application within a specified period of three months. To register for the Bachelor thesis, you need to show evidence of completion of 58 CP in Mathematics and 30 CP in the second main subject. The bachelor thesis must begin no later than one week after successful completion of the last course-related examination.

    Note: You are entitled to a Bachelor thesis in Mathematics only if your second main subject is any of: Computer science, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Economics. Other subjects are admissible only upon special request.

    Bachelor Mathematics 50 % Teaching

      The Bachelor program Mathematics 50% admits an additional teaching option as a first step in the training to become a high school teacher. This option is a prerequisite for the Master of Education in Mathematics. In concrete terms, this means that in addition to the subject specific components the Bachelor program includes educational science and practical training courses amounting to 20 CP. Of those, 10 CP are attributed to Mathematics and include 8 CP for interdisciplinary competencies (from courses offered by the Department of Educational Science), and 2 CP for the didactical components in the proseminar and seminar.

      The provisions of the teaching option are regulated in the framework regulation for the teaching post option at Heidelberg University. Further details can be found here.

      FAQs Bachelor Mathematics 50%

        What other 50% courses can I combine this subject with?

        The Bachelor in Mathematics 50% can basically be combined with all other subjects at Heidelberg University that offer a 50% degree. When registering, please note that you can only write your bachelor thesis in the first major, and enter your subjects accordingly in order to avoid to later formally have to change your programme.

        Where can I find the didactic event for the Bachelor in Mathematics 50%?

        You do not have to attend a special didactics event, as the required 2 CP in didactics are already covered by attending the proseminar and the seminar.

        Who can supervise bachelor theses?

        Any person who has been granted the right to examine mathematics by the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science can be considered as a supervisor of a bachelor thesis. This group includes all professors of the faculty as well as some lecturers on permanent positions - if in doubt, you can ask.

        How do I register my bachelor thesis and what do I have to consider?

        You are only entitled to write a bachelor thesis in mathematics if your second subject is one of the following: computer science, physics, chemistry, biology, economics. Other subjects can be admitted on request in individual cases. 

        To register your bachelor thesis, you have to submit the registration forms Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit and Erklärung zur Bachelorarbeit at the examination office. Your supervisor's signature is required on the first form. Basically: You can only register your Bachelor thesis in the Bachelor Mathematics 50% if you have already booked 58 CP in mathematics and 30 CP in your second subject.

        What are the deadlines for my bachelor thesis?

        The processing time for the bachelor thesis is 3 months. The registration and submission dates are shown on the notification form for the bachelor thesis and are binding.

        Can I already take modules of the Master of Education in the Bachelor's program and then take them with me?

        Officially, this is not possible. However, the faculty tolerates this for the elective lecture and the subject didactic lecture in the Master of Education. The interleaving modules form the core of the Master of Education and cannot be brought forward.

        Last updated on Aug 31, 2021 at 8:26 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Sierpinski Tetrahedron Model
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

Bachelorstudiengänge Mathematik

Die grundständigen Bachelorstudiengänge Mathematik 100 % und 50 % vermitteln den Studierenden eine breite mathematische Grundausbildung.

Nach einer Regelstudienzeit von 6 Semestern führt der Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 100 % zum ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) und qualifiziert zu den weiterführenden Masterstudiengängen Mathematik und Scientific Computing. Die 50 % Version des Bachelors führt je nach Wahl des zweiten Hauptfachs ebenfalls zu einem Bachelor of Science oder zu einem Bachelor of Arts (B. A.).

Aufbau eines Bachelorstudiums der Mathematik an der Universität Heidelberg

Das Mathematikstudium umfasst den Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 100%, der später mit den Masterstudiengängen Mathematik oder Scientific Computing fortgesetzt werden kann, und den Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 50%, der über eine Lehramtsoption zum Master of Education führt.

Bachelor Mathematik 100 %

AbschlussBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
StudiengangstypGrundständig
StudienbeginnNur Wintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Lehrsprache(n)Deutsch
BewerbungsverfahrenNicht zulassungsbeschränkt, ohne Aufnahmeprüfung

Bachelor Mathematik 50 %

AbschlussBachelor of Science (B. Sc.) o. Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)
StudiengangstypGrundständig, 2 Hauptfächer
StudienbeginnNur Wintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Lehrsprache(n)Deutsch
BewerbungsverfahrenNicht zulassungsbeschränkt, ohne Aufnahmeprüfung

Prüfungsordnung & Modulhandbücher Bachelor Mathematik

Prüfungsordnung Bachelor Mathematik

Stand: 25.06.2015

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Modulhandbuch Bachelor Mathematik 100%

Stand: WS 2021/22

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Modulhandbuch Bachelor Mathematik 50%

Stand: WS 2021/22

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar

Alte Versionen der Modulhandbücher finden Sie im Downloadbereich.

Um das Bachelorstudium abzuschließen, benötigt man 180 LP. Davon entfallen 127 LP auf das Fachstudium, 21 LP auf ein Anwendungsgebiet, 20 LP auf fachübergreifende Kompetenzen und 12 LP auf die Bachelorarbeit. Hierbei werden 5 LP der fachübergreifenden Kompetenzen (FÜK) im Fachstudium abgeleistet und weitere 3 LP im Anwendungsgebiet.

Fachstudium

Das Fachstudium gliedert sich strukturell in Pflichtmodule, Wahlpflichtmodule und Wahlmodule. Die Module aus dem Pflichtbereich müssen auf jeden Fall absolviert werden. Hierbei werden 3 LP für den Programmieranteil der Einführung in die Praktische Informatik und 2 LP für die Fachdidaktik in Proseminar und Seminar in die Fachübergreifenden Leistungen angerechnet. Damit eine breite Grundausbildung gewährt bleibt, muss in jedem der folgenden drei Wahlbereiche mindestens 1 Modul absolviert werden. In mindestens einem Wahlpflichtbereich muss eine vertiefende Vorlesung gewählt werden; das sind Vorlesungen deren Titel eine „2“ enthält, oder solche aus dem Masterstudium. Zusätzlich sind im Wahlbereich 16 LP in Modulen nach freier Wahl aus dem Angebot der Mathematik zu absolvieren. Die genauen Inhalte der im folgenden genannten Module des Fachstudiums finden sich im Modulhandbuch.

Anwendungsgebiet

Zugelassene Anwendungsgebiete:

  • Informatik
  • Physik
  • Astronomie
  • Biologie
  • Chemie
  • Wirtschaftswissenschaften
  • Philosophie

Auf Antrag kann auch ein anderes Fach als Anwendungsgebiet genehmigt werden.

Fachübergreifende Kompetenzen

Von den insgesamt erforderlichen 20 LP für diesen Bereich sind bereits 8 LP für Programmieren, Interdisziplinäres Arbeiten und Präsentation durch das Absolvieren der Module des Fachstudiums und des Anwendungsgebietes abgedeckt. Es müssen zusätzlich also noch 12 LP erbracht werden.

Bachelorarbeit

Mit der Bachelor-Arbeit sollen Studierende zeigen, dass sie in der Lage sind, innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist von drei Monaten ein Problem der Mathematik oder eines Anwendungsgebietes selbständig mit mathematischen Methoden zu bearbeiten. Die Bachelorarbeit muss spätestens eine Woche nach dem erfolgreichen Ablegen der letzten studienbegleitenden Prüfung beginnen.

FAQs Bachelor Mathematik 100%

    Welche Anwendungsgebiete kann ich wählen?

    Als Anwendungsgebiet kommt grundsätzlich jedes an der Universität Heidelberg angebotene Fach mit wahrnehmbarem Mathematikbezug infrage. Ausdrücklich genehmigt sind die Fächer Astronomie, Biowissenschaften, Chemie, Computerlinguistik, Informatik, Philosophie, Physik, Psychologie und Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Details, welche Module Sie innerhalb Ihres Anwendungsgebiets belegen müssen, finden Sie im Modulhandbuch zum Bachelor Mathematik 100%.

    Wer kann Bachelorarbeiten betreuen?

    Als Betreuer einer Bachelorarbeit kommt jede Lehrperson infrage, die von der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik die Prüfungsberechtigung im Fach Mathematik verliehen bekommen hat. Diese Gruppe umfasst sämtliche Professorinnen und Professoren der Fakultät sowie einige Lehrpersonen auf permanenten Ratsstellen - im Zweifelsfall können Sie nachfragen.

    Kann ich meine Bachelorarbeit an einer anderen Universität oder in einem Unternehmen schreiben?

    Das Anfertigen einer Bachelorarbeit an einer anderen Universität ist nicht möglich. Sie können Ihre Bachelorarbeit in einem Unternehmen schreiben, wenn diese unter einem Betreuer an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik angemeldet wird.

    Wie melde ich meine Bachelorarbeit an und was habe ich zu beachten?

    Dafür müssen Sie die Anmeldeformulare Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit und Erklärung zur Bachelorarbeit im Prüfungssekretariat ab. Auf ersterem Formular ist noch die Unterschrift Ihrer Betreuerin bzw. Ihres Betreuers erforderlich. Grundsätzlich gilt: Sie können Ihre Bachelorarbeit im Bachelor Mathematik 100% erst dann anmelden, wenn Sie bereits 120 LP verbucht haben.

    Welche Fristen gelten für meine Bachelorarbeit?

    Die Bearbeitungszeit der Bachelorarbeit beträgt 3 Monate. Anmelde- und Abgabedatum werden auf dem Formular Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit eingetragen und sind bindend.

    Im Falle des 50 % Bachelors im Fach Mathematik entfallen 84 LP auf das Fach Mathematik und 12 LP auf die Bachelorarbeit. Die anderen 84 LP des Bachelorstudiums entfallen auf das zweite gewählte Hauptfach.

    Fachstudium

    Das Fachstudium gliedert sich strukturell in Pflichtmodule, Wahlpflichtmodule und Wahlmodule. Die Module aus dem Pflichtbereich müssen auf jeden Fall absolviert werden. Hierbei werden 2 LP für die Fachdidaktik in Proseminar und Seminar in die Fachübergreifenden Kompetenzen angerechnet. Im Wahlpflichtbereich müssen mindestens 3 der folgenden Module erfolgreich absolviert werden:

    • Algebra 1
    • Funktionentheorie 1
    • Einführung in die Numerik
    • Einführung in die Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung und Statistik

    Die genauen Inhalte der im folgenden genannten Module des Fachstudiums finden sich im Modulhandbuch.

    Fachübergreifende Kompetenzen

    Von den insgesamt erforderlichen 10 LP für diesen Bereich sind bereits 2 LP durch den Fachdidaktikanteil des Proseminars abgedeckt. Es müssen zusätzlich also noch 8 LP erbracht werden.

    Bachelorarbeit

    Mit der Bachelor-Arbeit sollen Studierende zeigen, dass sie in der Lage sind, innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist von drei Monaten ein Problem der Mathematik oder eines Anwendungsgebietes selbständig mit mathematischen Methoden zu bearbeiten. Bei der Anmeldung zur Bachelorarbeit ist nachzuweisen, dass bereits 58 LP im Fach Mathematik und 30 LP im zweiten Hauptfach erbracht wurden. Die Bachelorarbeit muss spätestens eine Woche nach dem erfolgreichen Ablegen der letzten studienbegleitenden Prüfung beginnen.

    Hinweis: Anspruch auf eine Bachelorarbeit in Mathematik besteht nur, wenn als zweites Fach Informatik, Physik, Chemie, Biologie oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften gewählt wurde. Andere Fächer können im Einzelfall auf Antrag zugelassen werden.

    Bachelor Mathematik 50 % mit Lehramtsoption

      Es besteht die Möglichkeit, den Bachelor Mathematik 50 % mit Lehramtsoption zu absolvieren, um später als Gymnasiallehrer/in tätig sein zu können. Dieser qualifiziert für den Master of Education. Konkret bedeutet dies, dass neben den Fachanteilen des Bachelor 50% innerhalb der Lehramtsoption bildungswissenschaftliche und schulpraktische Inhalte im Umfang von 20 LP vermittelt werden. Die im Fach Mathematik anfallenden 10 LP aus diesem Bereich umfassen 8 LP für Fachübergreifende Kompetenzen (aus Veranstaltungen der Bildungswissenschaften) und 2 LP für die Fachdidaktik in Proseminar und Seminar.

      Die Bestimmungen zur Lehramtsoption werden in der Rahmenregelung zur Lehramtsoption der Universität Heidelberg geregelt; näheres findet sich hier.

      FAQs Bachelor Mathematik 50%

        Mit welchen anderen Fächern lässt sich der Bachelor Mathematik 50% kombinieren?

        Der Bachelor Mathematik 50% lässt sich grundsätzlich mit allen anderen Fächern der Universität Heidelberg kombinieren, die einen 50%-Studiengang anbieten. Bitte beachten Sie bei der Einschreibung, dass Sie Ihre Bachelorarbeit nur im ersten Hauptfach schreiben können, und tragen Sie Ihre Fächer dementsprechend ein, um eine spätere technische Umschreibung zu vermeiden.

        Wo finde ich die Fachdidaktikveranstaltung für den Bachelor Mathematik 50%?

        Sie müssen keine spezielle Didaktik Veranstaltung besuchen, da die benötigten 2 LP Didaktik durch den Besuch von Proseminar und Seminar bereits abgegolten sind.

        Wer kann Bachelorarbeiten betreuen?

        Als Betreuer einer Bachelorarbeit kommt jede Lehrperson infrage, die von der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik die Prüfungsberechtigung im Fach Mathematik verliehen bekommen hat. Diese Gruppe umfasst sämtliche Professorinnen und Professoren der Fakultät sowie einige Lehrpersonen auf permanenten Ratsstellen - im Zweifelsfall können Sie nachfragen.

        Wie melde ich meine Bachelorarbeit an und was habe ich zu beachten?

        Sie haben nur dann einen Anspruch darauf, eine Bachelorarbeit im Fach Mathematik zu schreiben, wenn Ihr Zweitfach eines der folgenden ist: Informatik, Physik, Chemie, Biologie, Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Andere Fächer können im Einzelfall auf Antrag zugelassen werden.

        Um Ihre Bachelorarbeit anzumelden, müssen Sie die Anmeldeformulare Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit und Erklärung zur Bachelorarbeit beim Prüfungsamt abgeben. Auf dem ersten Formular ist die Unterschrift Ihres Betreuers erforderlich. Grundsätzlich gilt: Sie können Ihre Bachelorarbeit im Bachelor Mathematik 50% nur dann anmelden, wenn Sie bereits 58 LP in Mathematik und 30 LP in Ihrem Zweitfach verbucht haben.

        Welche Fristen gelten für meine Bachelorarbeit?

        Die Bearbeitungszeit der Bachelorarbeit beträgt 3 Monate. Anmelde- und Abgabedatum werden auf dem Formular Anzeige der Bachelorarbeit eingetragen und sind bindend.

        Kann ich Module des Master of Education bereits im Bachelorstudium belegen und dann mitnehmen?

        Offiziell ist das nicht möglich. Die Fakultät toleriert dies jedoch für die Wahlpflichtvorlesung und die fachdidaktische Vorlesung im Master of Education. Die Verschränkungsmodule bilden den Kern des Master of Education und können nicht vorgezogen werden.

        Zuletzt aktualisiert am 27. Okt. 2021 um 09:00