BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Hero Computer Eng
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering deals with the operation principles, development and utilization of hardware for acquiring and processing data. Through a thorough understanding of the elementary components, functional units, chips, computer architectures and of large, heterogeneous computing systems it is possible – through ‘hardware aware programming’ – to adapt algorithms to the strengths and weaknesses of the available hardware and to significantly increase compute performance and power efficiency. Specific computing tasks are addressed by application specific hardware/software combinations and by optimized system configurations.

Computer Engineering in Heidelberg has links to many research fields in the university where large amounts of data must be acquired or processed quickly. ZITI has the competences to develop electronics microchips for specific applications in sensing or data transport from scratch. Data communication being one of the largest sources of power consumption, is addressed on the hardware level, by hardware aware programming and adapted system design. Apart from efficient programming of modern processors, ZITI operates a variety of coprocessors (FPGA, GPU, ML-coprocessors) in order to exploit their specific strengths and research methods and workflows for most efficient data processing.

Circuit Design

Circuit Design

At the chair of Circuit Design, microelectronic circuits are developed, tested and applied. These microchips often contain extremely sensitive, low noise amplifiers for capturing sensor data and blocks for further analog and digital signal processing. Some chips contain particle- or (single) photon-sensitive structures. The crucial analogue parts of such chips are designed completely manually. Complex digital blocks described by HDL languages are converted to a layout by a suitable tool chain and both parts are merged. The chips are fabricated in state-of-the-art CMOS technologies and commissioned by suited additional hardware (often FPGA boards) in the group.

Examples projects are readout and processing chips for particle detectors (e.g. see picture), single photon sensors for dark matter search or microscopy, hybrid pixel detectors for synchrotron X-ray detection at Eu-XFEL or ESRF or chips for state-of-the-art PET scanners.

Computing Systems

Computing Systems

Today, research in computing systems is most concerned with specialized forms of computing in combination with seamless integration into existing systems. Specialized computing, for instance based on GPUs (as known for gaming) or FPGAs (field programmable gate arrays) or ASICs (not the shoe brand but “application-specific integrated circuits”), is motivated by diminishing returns from CMOS technology scaling and hard power constraints. Notably, for a given fixed power budget , energy efficiency defines performance : . Thus, a sustained performance scaling based on CMOS technology requires to improve the energy efficiency of compute and memory operations substantially, which is typically being done using the previously mentioned specialized forms of computing. However, any specialization stands in contrast to generality, thus raising various questions related to programmability and algorithmic innovation.

Particular research foci include

  • resource-efficient ML such as model compression for edge, mobile and embedded systems
  • code analysis and generation as for instance based on CLANG/LLVM and targeting (multi-)GPU systems
  • HW/SW codesign to meet application objectives by a comprehensive treatment of software and hardware components
  • specialized processor architectures under performance, energy efficiency and programmability constraints

The group is most concerned with bridging the gap in between application and hardware, including automated tools as well as abstract models that facilitate reasoning about various optimizations and decisions.

Application Specific Computing

Our research focuses on significant improvements of performance and accuracy in application specific computing through a global optimization across the entire spectrum of numerical methods, algorithm design, software implementation and hardware acceleration.

These layers typically have contradictory requirements and their integration poses many challenges. For example, numerically superior methods expose little parallelism, bandwidth efficient algorithms convolve the processing of space and time into unmanageable software patterns, high level language abstractions create data layout and composition barriers, and high performance on today's hardware poses strict requirements on parallel execution and data access. High performance and accuracy for the entire application can only be achieved by balancing these requirements across all layers.

The following topics are given particular attention:

  • Data representation (mixed-precision, compression, redundancy)
  • Data access (layout, spatial and temporal locality)
  • Data structure (unstructured grids, graphs, adaptivity)
  • Numerical methods (ILU, Krylov, GMG, AMG)
  • Programming abstractions (CUDA, thrust, PSTL, C++2x, UPC++)

Research Group Leaders

Prof. Dr. Peter FischerInstitute of Computer Engineering

Design of Microelectronic circuits and sensor systems for particle and photon detection

 
Prof. Dr. Peter Fischer
Prof. Dr. Holger FröningInstitute of Computer Engineering

Future and emerging technology (GPUs, FPGAs, ASICs, resistive RAM) for high-performance computing, resource-constrained machine learning and data analytics

 
Prof. Dr Holger Fröning
Prof. Dr. Robert StrzodkaInstitute of Computer Engineering

Parallel algorithms and hardware (GPU, many-core CPU, FPGA) in relation to data representation, data access, data structure, numerical methods and programming abstractions

 
Prof. Dr. Robert Strzodka
Last updated on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:13 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Hero Computer Eng
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Technische Informatik

Die Technische Informatik beschäftigt sich mit der Funktionsweise, dem Aufbau und der Nutzung von Hardware zur Erfassung und Verarbeitung von Daten. Durch ein genaues Verständnis der elementaren Bauteile, von Funktionsgruppen, Chips, Rechnerarchitekturen und großen, heterogenen Rechnersystemen können – durch ‚hardwarenahe Programmierung‘ – Algorithmen an die Stärken und Schwächen der verwendeten Hardware angepasst und so in ihrer Rechenleistung und Energieeffizienz deutlich gesteigert werden. Für spezielle Computing-Anforderungen werden anwendungsspezifische Hardware/Software Kombinationen und optimierte Systemkonfigurationen eingesetzt.

Die Technische Informatik in Heidelberg ist vernetzt mit vielen Forschungsbereichen der Universität, in denen Daten erfasst werden oder rechenintensive Aufgaben zu bewältigen sind. Für Problemstellungen im Bereich von Sensorik oder Datenkommunikation hat ZITI die Kompetenz, Mikrochips von Grund auf neu zu entwerfen und in Betrieb zu nehmen. Datenkommunikation verursacht oft einen Großteil des Energieverbrauchs, dies wird auf der Hardware-Ebene, durch hardwarenahe Programmierung und angepasste Systemarchitekturen behandelt. Neben der effizienten Programmierung moderner Prozessoren werden verschiedene Koprozessoren (FPGAs, GPUs, ML Prozessoren) am ZITI betrieben, um deren spezifische Stärken auszunutzen und Methoden und Arbeitsflüsse für höchst effiziente Datenverarbeitung zu erforschen.

Chip Entwurf

Circuit Design

In der Gruppe für Schaltungstechnik werden mikroelektronische Chips entwickelt, getestet und angewandt. Diese Chips enthalten meist sehr sensitive, rauscharme Verstärker zur Signalerfassung und weitere Blöcke zur analogen Filterung, Digitalisierung oder digitalen Nachverarbeitung der Daten. Manche Chips enthalten direkt Strukturen zum Nachweis von Teilchen oder (einzelnen) Photonen. Die wesentlichen analogen Teile der Chips werden vollständig manuell entworfen und simuliert. Komplexe digitale Teile werden mit geeigneten Sprachen beschrieben und mit einer aufwändigen Software in mehreren Schritten in ein Layout übersetzt. Beide Teile werden dann vereint. Die Chips werden in modernen CMOS Technologien hergestellt und in der Arbeitsgruppe mit geeigneter Auslesehardware (meist FPGA Boards) in Betrieb genommen.

Beispielprojekte sind Chips zur Auslese von Teilchendetektoren (s. Bild), Detektorchips für Einzelphotonen zur Suche nach dunkler Materie oder für die Mikroskopie, Hybride Pixeldetektoren zum Nachweis von Synchrotron-Röntgenstrahlen beim Eu-XFEL oder an der ESRF oder Chips für State-of-the-Art PET Scanner.

Rechnersysteme

Computing Systems

Die Forschung im Bereich der Rechensysteme befasst sich heute vor allem mit spezialisierten Formen des Rechnens in Kombination mit der nahtlosen Integration in bestehende Systeme. Spezialisierte Rechensysteme, z. B. auf der Grundlage von GPUs (wie sie für Gaming bekannt sind) oder FPGAs (Field Programmable Gate Arrays) oder ASICs (nicht die Schuhmarke, sondern anwendungsspezifische integrierte Schaltkreise), werden durch abnehmende Erträge aus der Skalierung der CMOS-Technologie und harte Leistungsbeschränkungen motiviert. Bei einem festen Leistungsbudget definiert die Energieeffizienz die Leistung : . Eine nachhaltige Leistungsskalierung auf der Basis der CMOS-Technologie setzt also voraus, dass die Energieeffizienz von Rechen- und Speicheroperationen erheblich verbessert wird, was typischerweise durch die oben erwähnten spezialisierten Formen des Rechnens geschieht. Jede Spezialisierung steht jedoch im Gegensatz zur generischen Nutzung und wirft daher verschiedene Fragen in Bezug auf Programmierbarkeit und algorithmische Innovation auf.

Besondere Forschungsschwerpunkte sind:

  • ressourceneffiziente ML wie Modellkompression für Edge-, mobile und eingebettete Systeme,
  • Code-Analyse und -Generierung, z. B. auf der Grundlage von CLANG/LLVM und mit Blick auf (Multi-)GPU-Systeme,
  • HW/SW-Codesign zur Erfüllung von Anwendungszielen durch eine umfassende Behandlung von Software- und Hardwarekomponenten
  • spezialisierte Prozessorarchitekturen unter Berücksichtigung von Leistungs-, Energieeffizienz- und Programmierbarkeitsbeschränkungen

Die Gruppe befasst sich vor allem mit der Überbrückung der Kluft zwischen Anwendung und Hardware, einschließlich automatisierter Werkzeuge sowie abstrakter Modelle, die die (automatisierten) Überlegungen über verschiedene Optimierungen und Entscheidungen erleichtern.

Anwendungsspezifisches Rechnen

Unsere Forschung beschäftigt sich mit der signifikanten Verbesserung von Leistung und Genauigkeit im anwendungsspezifischen Rechnen durch eine globale Optimierung des gesamten Spektrums von numerischen Methoden, Algorithmenentwurf, Softwareimplementierung und Hardwarebeschleunigung.

Diese Ebenen haben in der Regel widersprüchliche Anforderungen und ihre Integration stellt viele Herausforderungen dar. So weisen numerisch überlegene Methoden wenig Parallelität auf, bandbreiteneffiziente Algorithmen verwickeln die Verarbeitung von Raum und Zeit in unüberschaubare Softwaremuster, Hochsprachenabstraktionen schaffen Barrieren für Datenlayout und Komposition und hohe Leistung auf heutiger Hardware stellt strenge Anforderungen an parallele Ausführung und Datenzugriff. Eine hohe Leistung und Genauigkeit für die gesamte Anwendung kann nur erreicht werden, wenn diese Anforderungen über alle Ebenen hinweg ausgeglichen werden.

Den folgenden Themen widmen wir besondere Aufmerksamkeit:

  • Datendarstellung (gemischte Genauigkeiten, Kompression, Redundanz)
  • Datenzugriff (Layout, räumliche und zeitliche Lokalität)
  • Datenstruktur (unstrukturierte Gitter, Graphen, Adaptivität)
  • Numerische Methoden (ILU, Krylov, GMG, AMG)
  • Programmierabstraktionen (CUDA, Thrust, PSTL, C++2x, UPC++)

Forschungsgruppenleiter

Prof. Dr. Peter FischerInstitut für Technische Informatik

Entwicklung von mikroelektronischen Schaltungen und Sensorsystemen zum Nachweis von Teilchen und Photonen

 
Prof. Dr. Peter Fischer
Prof. Dr. Holger FröningInstitut für Technische Informatik

Zukünftige und neue Technologien (GPUs, FPGAs, ASICs, resistiver RAM) für Hochleistungsrechner, ressourcenbeschränktes Maschinelles Lernen und Datenanalyse

 
Prof. Dr Holger Fröning
Prof. Dr. Robert StrzodkaInstitut für Technische Informatik

Parallele Algorithmen und Hardware (GPU, Many-Core-CPU, FPGA) in Bezug auf Datendarstellung, Datenzugriff, Datenstruktur, numerische Methoden und Programmierabstraktionen

 
Prof. Dr. Robert Strzodka
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 28. Sep. 2021 um 11:13