BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Heidelberg Neuenheim
Mathematics and Computer Science — Doctorate

Earn a PhD in Heidelberg

Heidelberg University is a highly sought-after institution for young scientists. Immerse yourself in independent, scientific research with us - embedded in the beautiful surroundings of the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region.

Within the framework of a doctorate at our Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science in Heidelberg, you will put your knowledge and research skills to the test. Under the patronage of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, you will be awarded the doctoral degree Dr. rer. nat at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science by way of an independent dissertation. With personal 1:1 supervision, we support you from finding a doctoral topic through to the oral examination and defense of your work. The entire course of your doctorate is documented in the Heidelberg doctoral database heiDOCS.

The Course of Doctoral Studies at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science at Heidelberg University

A doctorate in the fields of Mathematics or Computer Science is an ideal stepping stone on the path to your career. With broad professional and academic suitability, only a formal application stands between you and your PhD. Then, after enrollment and upon consultation with your supervisor, you can immerse yourself in your work. To this end, we offer you a wide range of funding opportunities. After completing the work phase, you will submit both, your dissertation and your application for admission to the examination procedure at the same time. The examination consists of an approximately one-hour defense of your thesis before the doctoral committee. You then have 2 years to publish your dissertation. Once published, you will be conferred the doctoral degree Dr. rer. nat. under the auspices of the Combined Faculties of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Facts and Figures

DegreeDr. rer. nat.
Type of doctorateIndividual dissertation
Kick-offFlexible in arrangement with the supervisor
Working PhaseMinimum 6 months; 4 + 1 years
Working LanguagesGerman; English
Admission RequirementsSufficient knowledge in the topic of dissertation, Master's degree or equivalent
ExaminationOral disputation, written dissertation, publication
Last updated on Sep 26, 2021 at 1:55 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Heidelberg Neuenheim
Mathematik und Informatik — Promotion

Promovieren in Heidelberg

Die Universität Heidelberg ist eine beliebte Anlaufstelle für wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Tauchen Sie bei uns ein in die selbstständige, wissenschaftliche Forschung - eingebettet in die schöne Umgebung der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar.

Im Rahmen einer Promotion an unserer Heidelberger Fakultät stellen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse und Forschungskompetenz unter Beweis. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften erlangen Sie an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik den Doktorgrad Dr. rer. nat in Form einer Individualpromotion. Mit persönlicher 1:1-Betreuung unterstützen wir Sie von der Findung eines Promotionsthemas bis hin zur Disputation. Der gesamte Verlauf Ihrer Promotion wird in der Heidelberger Doktorandendatenbank heiDOCS dokumentiert.

Wie verläuft eine Promotion an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik der Universität Heidelberg?

Eine Promotion in den Fächern Mathematik oder Informatik bietet Ihnen ein optimales Sprungbrett auf dem Weg in den Beruf. Mit umfassender fachlichen und akademischen Eignung steht zwischen Ihnen und einer Promotion nur eine formgerechte Bewerbung. Anschließend können Sie sich nach der Einschreibung und nach Absprache mit Ihrer Betreuung in Ihre Arbeit vertiefen. Hierzu stehen wir Ihnen mit einer Vielzahl an Fördermöglichkeiten zur Seite. Nach Abschluss der Arbeitsphase stellen Sie zeitgleich mit der Einreichung der Dissertation einen Antrag auf Zulassung zum Prüfungsverfahren. Dieses besteht aus einer circa einstündigen Disputation Ihrer Arbeit vor dem Promotionsausschuss. Im Anschluss daran haben Sie 2 Jahre Zeit, ihre Dissertation zu veröffentlichen. Ist die Publikation erfolgt, wird Ihnen unter dem Schirm der Naturwissenschaftlich-Mathematischen Gesamtfakultät der Doktorgrad Dr. rer. nat. verliehen.

Fakten Promotion

AbschlussDr. rer. nat.
PromotionsverfahrenIndividualpromotion
BeginnFlexibel nach Absprache mit der Betreuung
ArbeitsphaseMindestens 6 Monate; 4 + 1 Jahre
ArbeitssprachenDeutsch; Englisch
ZulassungsvoraussetzungenAusreichende Kenntnisse im Promotionsfach, Masterabschluss oder Äquivalent
PrüfungMündliche Disputation, schriftliche Dissertation, Publikation
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 22. Apr. 2022 um 08:07