BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

E-learning

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science offers a wide range of e-learning options. In addition to well-known platforms such as the university-wide used Moodle, in-house developments such as the Mathematical Media platform MaMpf are being used and are being continuously promoted.

The importance of e-learning offers in university teaching has increased significantly in recent years and in particular since the corona pandemic. The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science attaches great importance to e-learning and consequently participates actively in the further development of formats and platforms. We are also very interested in the discourse with students on the subject of e-learning. In spring 2020, a much noticed hackathon took place for the students on this topic, the E-Learning-Challenge. The knowledge gained there by the students has strongly influenced the handling and use of e-learning at the faculty.

The E-Learning-Challenge

E-learning challenge

With the onset of the Corona pandemic in spring 2020, e-learning came to the fore at universities worldwide, as many locations - such as Heidelberg - suddenly had to offer all courses digitally. To help lecturers less experienced in this topic get off to a good start with their digital courses, the E-Learning Challenge in the form of a hackathon therefore took place from 30. 3. to 3. 4. 2020 in collaboration between the faculty, the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy, and - most significantly - with our students. The goal of the hackathon was to investigate not only the e-learning tools offered by the faculty and the university, but also a variety of commercial e-learning tools with regard to concrete application scenarios, to find practical solutions to probable problems, and to finally communicate this knowledge widely. The e-learning offering at Heidelberg University includes:

  • The Moodle e-learning platform as the central learning platform of Heidelberg University. It forms the interface for digital teaching and enables teachers to set up virtual course rooms to support courses, promote interactions between participants and link them to video conferences. The platform enables both materials and information to be clearly organized and students to be actively involved in the learning experience. Self-tests, forum discussions, wikis or glossaries can be used in Moodle for this purpose.
  • For digital live events as well as meetings, the university makes the BigBlueButton-based communication platforms heiCONF and heiCONF audimax available. These are identical in their basic technology, but optimized for different application scenarios: heiCONF is designed for interactive meetings with up to 50 participants, whereas heiCONF audimax is used for frontal event formats with up to 200 participants. The system's capabilities include video and audio conferencing, chats, screen sharing and presentations, as well as a shared digital whiteboard.
  • The heiBOX cloud storage service provides all employees and all students with storage space for synchronizing, sharing, publishing and jointly editing files.
  • The instant messager heiCHAT offers an instant messaging service for text messages, audio and video chat within Heidelberg University.

The E-Learning-Challenge was a great success. The digital teaching and learning concepts developed there have enabled the comprehensive entry into intensive e-learning and have since formed the foundation of our digital teaching strategy. The e-learning challenge was visible far beyond the faculty's borders and the organizers, Ullrich Köthe and Denis Vogel, were awarded the university's prize for digital teaching.

The Hypermedia Platform MaMpf

MaMPf Logo

The mathematical media platform MaMpf is a cloud-based e-learning platform, and has been developed since 2017 under the leadership of Denis Vogel at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science. MaMpf consistently implements the concept of a hypermedia system and thus offers a procedural space of experience: users can navigate within a network structure of interlinked content and terms. This goes beyond classic e-learning platforms, which only make learning materials accessible to learners. On the one hand, this enables students to learn independently, and on the other hand, hybrid learning spaces are created in the interplay between physical lecture, recording and linked additional materials, in which the factual level of the mathematical content can be brought into harmony with the personal ideas of the students.

The database system used in MaMpf allows lecturers to easily mark mathematical terms and statements, videos and manuscripts and to create links between them both within a lecture and across lectures. This creates a network of expert-generated semantic paths that enable students to develop individualized learning approaches and support them in building global coherence. The MaMpf user interface is designed for navigation within this network while taking organizational structures into account. In addition, MaMpf can extract dynamic, useful visualizations from the stored data: For example, MaMpf assigns a hyper-mind map of related terms to each mathematical term and alternatively enables graphical navigation between them.

The hypermedia player and editor integrated in MaMpf makes it possible to display the detailed breakdown of mathematical chains of arguments into definitions, sentences and proofs in mathematical videos such as lecture recordings. In addition, references to any videos or manuscripts from the database can be made at precise times or pages. In particular, the lecturers can place aids to understanding exactly where they are most helpful. Worked example videos, quizzes or refresher videos are prototypical for the support offered in MaMpf. The aim here is to strengthen local coherence building.

Currently (as of July 2021) around 4,000 users are registered on MaMpf, mostly students of mathematics, physics, computer science or computational linguistics. There are materials for 75 courses from 10 different courses of study, in particular lecture hypervideos amounting to several thousand hours, more than 150 worked example videos and over 3000 quiz questions. You can now navigate through this using more than 2500 terms.

Last updated on Sep 12, 2021 at 9:26 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

E-Learning

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik stellt beim E-Learning reichhaltige Angebote zur Verfügung. Neben bekannten Plattformen wie dem universitätsweit betriebenen Moodle kommen auch Eigenentwicklungen wie die Mathematische Medienplattform MaMpf zum Einsatz und werden kontinuerlich vorangetrieben.

Die Bedeutung von E-Learning-Angeboten in der universitären Lehre hat in den letzten Jahren und insbesondere seit der Corona-Pandemie deutlich zugenommen. Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik misst dem E-Learning eine sehr große Bedeutung bei und beteiligt sich in Konsequenz aktiv an der Weiterentwicklung von Formaten und Plattformen. Hierbei sind wir auch sehr an dem Diskurs mit Studierenden zum Thema E-Learning interessiert. So fand zu diesem Thema im Frühjahr 2020 ein vielbeachteter Hackathon für die Studierenden statt, die E-Learning-Challenge. Die dort durch die Studierenden gewonnenen Erkenntnisse haben den Umgang mit und den Einsatz von E-Learning an der Fakultät stark beeinflusst.

Die E-Learning-Challenge

E-learning challenge

Mit dem Beginn der Corona-Pandemie im Frühjahr 2020 rückte weltweit das E-Learning an den Universitäten in den Vordergrund, da an vielen Standorten, wie etwa in Heidelberg, plötzlich sämtliche Lehrveranstaltungen digital stattfinden mussten. Um in diesem Thema weniger erfahrenen Dozentinnen und Dozenten zu einem guten Start mit ihren digitalen Lehrveranstaltungen zu verhelfen, fand daher vom 30. 3. bis zum 3. 4. 2020 in Zusammenarbeit der Fakultät mit der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie sowie – ganz wesentlich – mit unseren Studierenden die E-Learning-Challenge in Form eines Hackathons statt. Diese hatte zum Ziel, neben den von Fakultät und Universität angebotenen auch eine Vielzahl kommerzieller E-Learning-Tools in Hinsicht auf konkrete Anwendungsszenarien zu untersuchen, möglichst praktische Lösungen zu wahrscheinlichen Problemen zu finden und diesen Wissenstand abschließend breit zu kommunizieren. Das E-Learning-Angebot der Universität Heidelberg umfasst hierbei:

  • Die E-Learning-Plattform Moodle als zentrale Lernplattform der Universität Heidelberg. Sie bildet die Schnittstelle für die digitale Lehre und ermöglicht es Lehrenden, virtuelle Kursräume zur Unterstützung von Lehrveranstaltungen einzurichten, Interaktionen der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer zu fördern und auf Videokonferenzen zu verlinken. Über die Plattform können sowohl Materialien und Informationen übersichtlich organisiert werden als auch Studierende aktiv in die Lernerfahrung einbezogen werden. Dazu können Selbsttests, Forumsdiskussionen, Wikis oder Glossare in Moodle genutzt werden.
  • Für digitale Live-Veranstaltungen sowie Besprechungen und Treffen stellt die Universität auf Basis von BigBlueButton die Kommunikationsplattformen heiCONF bzw. heiCONF audimax zur Verfügung. Diese sind in der Grundtechnik identisch, aber auf verschiedene Anwendungsszenarien optimiert: So ist heiCONF für interaktive Treffen mit bis zu 50 Teilnehmern ausgelegt, wohingegen heiCONF audimax bei frontalen Veranstaltungsformaten mit bis zu 200 Teilnehmern zum Einsatz kommt. Die Fähigkeiten des Systems umfassen Video- und Audioconferencing, Chats, Teilen von Bildschirminhalten und Präsentationen, sowie ein gemeinsames digitales Whiteboard. 
  • Im Cloudspeicherdienst heiBOX steht allen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie auch allen Studierenden Speicherplatz zum Synchronisieren, Teilen, Veröffentlichen und gemeinsamen Bearbeiten von Dateien zur Verfügung.
  • Der Instant Messager heiCHAT bietet einen Sofortnachrichtendienst für Textnachrichten, Audio- und Videochat innerhalb der Universität Heidelberg.

Die E-Learning-Challenge war ein großer Erfolg. Die dort erarbeiteten digitalen Lehr-Lern-Konzepte haben den flächendeckenden Einstieg in das intensive E-Learning ermöglicht bilden seitdem das Fundament unserer digitalen Lehrstrategie. Die E-Learning-Challenge hatte eine Sichtbarkeit weit über die Grenzen der Fakultät hinaus und die Organisatoren, Ullrich Köthe und Denis Vogel, wurden mit dem Preis für digitale Lehre der Universität ausgezeichnet.

Die Hypermedia-Plattform MaMpf

MaMPf Logo

Die Mathematische Medienplattform MaMpf ist eine seit 2017 unter Federführung von Denis Vogel an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik entwickelte, cloudbasierte E-Learning-Plattform, die konsequent das Konzept eines Hypermediasystems umsetzt und damit einen prozeduralen Erfahrungsraum bietet: Nutzerinnen und Nutzer können sich innerhalb einer Netzstruktur verknüpfter Inhalte und Begriffe bewegen. Damit geht MaMpf über klassische E-Learning-Plattformen hinaus, welche ausschließlich Lernmaterialien für Lernende zugänglich machen. Einerseits wird den Studierenden so ein selbstbestimmtes Lernen ermöglicht, andererseits werden im Zusammenspiel zwischen physischer Vorlesung, Aufzeichnung und verlinkten Zusatzmaterialien hybride Lernräume geschaffen, in denen die Sachebene der mathematischen Inhalte mit den persönlichen Vorstellungen der Studierenden in Einklang gebracht werden können.

Das in MaMpf verwendete Datenbanksystem erlaubt es Dozierenden, auf einfache Weise mathematische Begriffe und Aussagen, Videos und Manuskripte zu markieren und sowohl innerhalb einer Vorlesung als auch vorlesungsübergreifend Verknüpfungen zwischen diesen anzulegen. Dadurch entsteht ein Netz expertengenerierter semantischer Pfade, das den Studierenden individualisierte Lernansätze ermöglicht und sie bei der globalen Kohärenzbildung unterstützt. Die Benutzeroberfläche von MaMpf ist auf die Navigation innerhalb dieses Netzes unter gleichzeitiger Berücksichtigung organisatorischer Strukturen ausgelegt. Ergänzend lassen sich in MaMpf aus den gespeicherten Daten dynamisch nutzbringende Visualisierungen extrahieren: Beispielsweise ordnet MaMpf jedem mathematischen Begriff eine Hyper-Mind-Map verwandter Begriffe zu und ermöglicht alternativ eine graphische Navigation zwischen diesen.

Der in MaMpf integrierte Hypermediaplayer und -editor ermöglicht es, in mathematischen Videos wie etwa Vorlesungsaufzeichnungen die kleinteilige Gliederung mathematischer Argumentationsketten in Definitionen, Sätze und Beweise darzustellen. Darüber hinaus können zeit- bzw. seitengenaue Referenzen auf beliebige Videos bzw. Manuskripte aus der Datenbank realisiert werden. Insbesondere können Verständnishilfen durch die Dozierenden genau dort platziert werden, wo sie am ehesten hilfreich sind. Prototypisch für in MaMpf angebotene Unterstützungen sind Worked-Example-Videos, Quizzes oder Auffrischungsvideos. Ziel ist hierbei jeweils die Stärkung der lokalen Kohärenzbildung.

Gegenwärtig (Stand: Juli 2021) sind auf MaMpf etwa 4000 Nutzerinnen und Nutzer registriert, größtenteils Studierende der Mathematik, Physik, Informatik oder Computerlinguistik. Es liegen Materialien zu 75 Lehrveranstaltungen aus 10 verschiedenen Studiengängen vor, insbesondere Vorlesungs-Hypervideos im Umfang mehrerer tausend Stunden, mehr als 150 Worked-Example-Videos und über 3000 Quizfragen. Durch diese lässt sich anhand von inzwischen mehr als 2500 Begriffen inhaltlich navigieren.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 12. Sep. 2021 um 09:26