BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
People Icon
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

Equal Opportunity

The central responsibility of the Equal Opportunity Officer at Heidelberg University is to develop, implement, and monitor the impact of flexible, demand-oriented instruments that enable talented women and men to participate equally and successfully in university career paths at all levels.

The universities of the state of Baden-Württemberg promote the genuine implementation of equal opportunities for women and men when performing any of their tasks. They work towards eliminating existing disadvantages, actively promote an increase in the proportion of women in all subjects and at all levels in which women are underrepresented, and ensure a better balance between family and academic activities.

Tasks and Responsibilities of the Equal Opportunity Office

In addition to the University's Equal Opportunity Officer, the Equal Opportunity Representatives of each faculty and their deputies are involved in implementing the equal opportunity goals at Ruprecht Karl University of Heidelberg. The central task of the Equal Opportunity Officers at Heidelberg University is to develop, implement, and monitor the impact of flexible, demand-oriented instruments that enable talented women and men to participate equally and successfully in university career paths at all levels.

The responsibilities of the Equal Opportunity Committee at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science include:

  • Participation with voting rights in faculty council meetings, appointment committee and selection committees. In doing so, the Equal Opportunity Officer ensures that no one is unjustifiably disadvantaged on the basis of gender, origin, religion, sexual orientation or disability. The officer regularly prepares reports on the observations made.
  • The initiation of measures and policies to increase the representation of women in the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science in all departments and at all levels.
  • The direct intervention in cases of threatened or actual disadvantage or discrimination. The Equal Opportunity Officer is the person of contact for every faculty member in the event of unjustified disadvantage, discrimination or sexual harassment.

Equal Opportunity Committee of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Ekaterina Kostina
President of the Equal Opportunity Committee

Institute for Applied Mathematics
Mathematikon
Room 1/322
Email

Avatar
Prof. Dr. Robert ScheichlDeputy President of the Equal Opportunity Committee

Mathematikon
Room 1/315
Phone: +49 6221 54 14110
Email

 
Avatar
Prof. Dr. Beatrice Pozzetti

Mathmatical Institute
Mathematikon
Room 5/229
Phone: +49 6221 54 14050
Email

 
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Beatrice Pozzetti
Christian HeuselStudent Computer Science

-

 
Avatar
Theresa HäberleStudent Mathematics

-

 
Avatar

Current Situation at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

At the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, the proportion of women among students is currently 24% (as of December 2019). The quota of women among graduates is a good 27%, and among doctoral students the proportion is 21%. There has also been a significant increase in female professors at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science over the last 10 years.

Opportunities

In order to achieve the faculty's Equal Opportunity goals, various measures are taken at the faculty and, moreover, at the university as a whole to provide the members with suitable opportunities. Depending on the target group, the faculty offers various activities and programs:

Opportunities for Students

    • Every year, the faculty takes part in the event known as Girls Day and offers female students in particular the opportunity to gain an insight into the faculty.
    • At the annual "Tag der Mathematik", male and female students are equally welcome. For years, the percentage of girls among the participants has been around 50 %. Here, curious students of all ages can experience the fascination of mathematics for themselves in lectures, competitions, and games.
    • The mentoring program "Upstream" offers interested female students the opportunity to get to know female university students and staff of the faculty. This way, girls can get a head start in building up a network for their future studies.

    Opportunities for University Students

      • The members of the Equal Opportunity Committee are the direct persons of contact for university students at the faculty for all matters concerning equal opportunities. Anyone who feels discriminated against or harassed by anything or anyone at the faculty can contact the Equal Opportunity Committee directly by email, phone, or in person.
      • The mentoring program "Upstream" is aimed at female university students, who can share their experiences with young girls and benefit from the experiences of graduate members.

      Opportunities for Young Scientists

        • With the Olympia Morata Program, Heidelberg University sponsors positions for women by way of a qualification grant as part of its women's advancement plan to encourage the next generation of female university professors. The goal of this program is to support qualified female scientists in obtaining their habilitation or a comparable qualification at Heidelberg University.
        • The faculty organizes the lecture series "Frauen, die forschen" (Women in research). Here, scientists get to know successful women in the field.

        Opportunities for Families

          • The university's childcare services are, of course, also available to all members of our faculty.
          • In addition, the Equal Opportunity Officer is also committed to finding individual solutions for balancing family and career. For example, one faculty member works part-time from home to care for his young daughter. Another employee has a playpen in her office and is thus able to bring her child to work sometimes. If you have individual questions or requests on this topic, please contact the Equal Opportunity Officer directly.
          Last updated on Sep 23, 2021 at 1:28 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
People Icon
Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

Gleichstellung

Die zentrale Aufgabe der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten an der Universität Heidelberg ist es, flexible, bedarfsgerechte Instrumente zu entwickeln, einzusetzen und in ihrer Wirkung zu beobachten, die es begabten Frauen und Männern ermöglichen, gleichermaßen an universitären Karrierewegen auf allen Ebenen erfolgreich teilnehmen zu können.

Die Hochschulen des Landes Baden-Württemberg fördern bei der Wahrnehmung aller Aufgaben die tatsächliche Durchsetzung von Chancengleichheit von Frauen und Männern. Sie wirken auf die Beseitigung bestehender Nachteile hin, fördern aktiv die Erhöhung der Frauenanteile in allen Fächern und auf allen Ebenen, in denen Frauen unterrepräsentiert sind und sorgen für eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Familie und wissenschaftlicher Tätigkeit.

Aufgaben der Gleichstellungskommission

An der Umsetzung der Gleichstellungsziele wirken an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg neben der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten der Universität die Fakultätsgleichstellungsbeauftragten und ihre Stellvertreter:innen mit. Die zentrale Aufgabe der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten an der Universität Heidelberg ist es, flexible, bedarfsgerechte Instrumente zu entwickeln, einzusetzen und in ihrer Wirkung zu beobachten, die es begabten Frauen und Männern ermöglichen, gleichermaßen an universitären Karrierewegen auf allen Ebenen erfolgreich teilnehmen zu können.

Zu den Aufgaben der Gleichstellungskommission an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik gehören u.a.:

  • Stimmberechtigte Teilnahme an Fakultätsratssitzungen und Berufungs- und Auswahlkommissionen. Hierbei achtet die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte darauf, dass niemand aufgrund des Geschlechts, der Herkunft, der Religion, der sexuellen Orientierung oder einer Behinderung ungerechtfertigt benachteiligt wird. Über die Beobachtungen fertigt die Beauftragte regelmäßig Berichte an.
  • Die Initiierung von Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung des Frauenanteils an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik in allen Fachbereichen und auf allen Ebenen.
  • Die direkte Intervention bei drohender oder tatsächlicher Benachteiligung oder Diskriminierung. Die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte ist für jedes Fakultätsmitglied die Ansprechpartnerin im Falle ungerechtfertigter Benachteiligung, Diskriminierung oder sexueller Belästigung.

Gleichstellungskommission der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

Prof. Dr. Ekaterina Kostina
Vorsitzende der Gleichstellungskommission

Institut für Angewandte Mathematik
Mathematikon
Raum 1/322
Email

Avatar
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter BastianIWR

Mathematikon
Raum
Tel.: 06221 54 14517
E-Mail

 
Avatar
Prof. Dr. Beatrice PozzettiMathematisches Institut

Mathematikon
Raum 5/229
E-Mail

 
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Beatrice Pozzetti
Christian HeuselStudent Informatik

E-Mail

 
Christian Heusel
Teresa ByczkowskiStudentin Mathematik

E-Mail

 
Teresa Byczkowski

Aktuelle Situation an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

An der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik beträgt der Frauenanteil unter den Studierenden derzeit 24 % (Stand Dezember 2019). Die Frauenquote bei den Studienabschlüssen liegt bei gut 27 %, bei den Promovierenden beläuft sich der Anteil auf 21 %. Auch verzeichnet die Fakultät über die letzten 10 Jahre einen deutlichen Zuwachs an weiblichen Lehrpersonen und insbesondere Professorinnen.

Maßnahmen

Um die Gleichstellungsziele der Fakultät zu erreichen, werden an der Fakultät und darüber hinaus an der gesamten Universität verschiedene Maßnahmen ergriffen. Je nach Zielgruppe bietet die Fakultät verschiedene Angebote:

Angebote für Kinder und Jugendliche

    • Jährlich nimmt die Fakultät am sogenannten Girls Day teil und bietet insbesondere Schülerinnen die Möglichkeit, einen Einblick in die Fakultät zu bekommen.
    • Beim jährlich stattfindenden Tag der Mathematik sind Schülerinnen und Schüler gleichermaßen willkommen. Seit Jahren beträgt die Mädchenquote unter den Teilnehmer:innen ca. 50 %. Hier können interessierte Schüler:innen aller Altersstufen die Faszination der Mathematik in Vorträgen, Wettbewerben und Spielen selbst erleben.
    • Das Mentorinnen-Programm Upstream bietet interessierten Schülerinnen die Möglichkeit, Studentinnen und Mitarbeiterinnen der Fakultät kennenzulernen und früh ein Netzwerk für ein späteres Studium aufzubauen.

    Angebote für Studierende

      • Studierenden stehen die Mitglieder der Gleichstellungskommission bei allen Belangen der Gleichstellung als direkte Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung. Jede:r, die bzw. der sich durch irgendetwas oder irgendjemanden an der Fakultät diskriminiert oder belästigt fühlt, kann sich direkt per E-Mail, Telefon oder persönlich an die Gleichstellungskommission wenden.
      • Das Mentorinnen-Programm Upstream richtet sich an Studentinnen, die hierbei ihre Erfahrungen mit Schülerinnen tauschen und von den Erfahrungen graduierter Mitglieder profitieren können.

      Angebote für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs

        • Olympia-Morata-Programm: Zur Förderung des Hochschullehrerinnennachwuchses stellt die Universität Heidelberg im Rahmen ihres Frauenförderplans Stellen für Frauen in Form dieses Qualifizierungsstipendiums zur Verfügung. Ziel des Programms ist es, qualifizierte Wissenschaftlerinnen bei der Habilitation oder einer vergleichbaren Qualifikation an der Universität Heidelberg zu unterstützen.
        • Die Fakultät veranstaltet die Vortragsreihe „Frauen, die forschen“. Hierbei lernen Wissenschaftler:innen erfolgreiche Frauen des Fachgebiets kennen.

        Angebote für Familien

          • Die Angebote der stehen selbstverständlich auch allen Mitgliedern unserer Fakultät zur Verfügung.
          • Darüber hinaus setzt sich die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte auch für individuelle Lösungen zur Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf ein. So arbeitet ein Mitarbeiter der Fakultät zum Teil von zuhause aus, um seine kleine Tochter zu betreuen. Eine andere Mitarbeiterin hat einen Laufstall im Büro und kann ihr Kind so zumindest manchmal zur Arbeit mitbringen. Sollten Sie individuelle Fragen und Wünsche zu diesem Thema haben, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte.
          Zuletzt aktualisiert am 2. Dez. 2021 um 10:52