BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Lobby
Mathematics and Computer Science — Outreach

Exhibitions

At regular intervals, the Mathematikon hosts exhibitions on various mathematical-social topics.

Emil Julius Gumbel (1891 – 1966), Statistician, Pacifist, Publicist

Erich Gumbel exhibition

from November 18, 2019 to January 31, 2020

Emil Julius Gumbel united mathematical excellence and social courage. As a world-renowned mathematician, he laid the foundations of extreme value statistics. At the same time, he campaigned in the "German League for Human Rights" (Deutsche Liga für Menschenrechte) against the glorification of war and the emerging Nazi movement. The University of Heidelberg, where he had been a professor since 1923, withdrew his teaching license in 1932. In 1933 he was deprived of his German citizenship. It was not until the early 1990s that Heidelberg University acknowledged and rehabilitated Gumbel with an Academic Memorial Ceremony. The exhibition uses historical documents to show important milestones and companions in Gumbel's life.

The exhibition was organized by Matthias Scherer, Lexuri Fernández, Isabella Wiegand (Technical University of Munich) and Werner Frese (University of Hagen) and accompanied by the renowned science historian Annette Vogt (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin).

Women of Mathematics throughout Europe

People in exhibition on women in Mathematics

from February, 26 2019 to May 31, 2019

This touring exhibition, which had its starting point at the 7th European Mathematics Congress in Berlin in July 2016, portrays thirteen female mathematicians sharing their experiences, thus showing them as role models for young female scientists and highlighting the human aspects of mathematics production. This makes the discipline more tangible and accessible to outsiders or newcomers.

The exhibition and the catalog (published by Verlag am Fluss) are the result of the joint work of photographer Noel Tovia Matoff and the four mathematicians Sylvie Paycha, Sara Azzali, Alexandra Antoniouk, and Magdalena Georgescu, with contributions from Maria Hoffmann-Dartevelle (German translation), Sara Munday (proofreading) and the two graphic designers Wenke Neunast/eckedesign (exhibition) and Gesine Krüger (catalog).

The life and work of Jewish mathematicians

People in exhibition on Jews

from May 13, 2016 to June 12, 2016

The working lives and activities of Jewish scientists in Germany are being explored at nine sites and within a time frame ranging from the legal and political emancipation of Jewish citizens in the 19th century to their persecution and expulsion under the Nazi regime. In doing so, the exhibition shows the extensive and significant contribution of Jewish researchers in the German Empire and the Republic of Weimar to mathematics and its culture in the German-speaking world. It also shows the high price paid by the Nazi government for the expulsion of Jews from Germany and commemorates their flight, emigration and murder after 1933.

The exhibition was organized by Prof. Dr. Moritz Epple, the scientific director of the exhibition project and head of the "History of Science" working group at the University of Frankfurt am Main, Germany, in collaboration with a group of seven historians of mathematics. It was the first exhibition at the MATHEMATIKON and was sponsored by the Klaus Tschira Foundation and backed by the Springer Verlag with a comprehensive publication.

Last updated on Sep 12, 2021 at 9:28 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Lobby
Mathematik und Informatik — Outreach

Ausstellungen

Das Mathematikon empfängt in regelmäßigen Abständen Ausstellungen zu verschiedenen mathematisch-gesellschaftlichen Themen.

Emil Julius Gumbel (1891 – 1966), Statistiker, Pazifist, Publizist

Erich Gumbel exhibition

vom 18. November 2019 bis 31. Januar 2020

Emil Julius Gumbel verband mathematische Exzellenz und gesellschaftliche Courage. Als weltweit anerkannter Mathematiker legte er die Grundlagen der Extremwertstatistik. Zugleich setzte er sich in der „Deutschen Liga für Menschenrechte“ gegen Kriegsverherrlichung und die aufkommende NS-Bewegung ein. Die Universität Heidelberg, an der er seit 1923 Dozent war, entzog ihm 1932 die Lehrerlaubnis. 1933 wurde ihm die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft aberkannt. Erst zu Beginn der 1990er Jahre hat sich die Universität Heidelberg mit einer Akademischen Gedächtnisfeier zu Gumbel bekannt und ihn rehabilitiert. Die Ausstellung zeigt anhand historischer Dokumente wichtige Lebensstationen und Weggefährten im Leben Gumbels.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Matthias Scherer, Lexuri Fernández, Isabella Wiegand (TU München) und Werner Frese (FU Hagen) konzipiert und darin von der namhaften Wissenschaftshistorikerin Annette Vogt (MPI für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin) begleitet.

Women of Mathematics throughout Europe

People in exhibition on women in Mathematics

vom 26. Februar 2019 bis 31. Mai 2019

Diese Wanderausstellung, die ihren Ausgangspunkt beim 7. Europäischen Mathematikkongress im Juli 2016 in Berlin hatte, porträtiert 13 Mathematikerinnen mit ihren Erfahrungen, zeigt sie damit als Vorbilder junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und hebt die menschlichen Aspekte der Mathematikproduktion hervor. Dadurch wird diese Disziplin greifbarer und für Außenstehende oder Neulinge zugänglicher gemacht.

Die Ausstellung und der Katalog (Verlag: Verlag am Fluss) sind das Ergebnis der gemeinsamen Arbeit des Fotografen Noel Tovia Matoff und den vier Mathematikerinnen Sylvie Paycha, Sara Azzali, Alexandra Antoniouk, Magdalena Georgescu, unter der Beteiligung von Maria Hoffmann-Dartevelle (deutsche Übersetzung) und Sara Munday (Korrektur) und den beiden Grafikdesignerinnen Wenke Neunast/eckedesign (Ausstellung) und Gesine Krüger (Katalog).

Leben und Werk jüdischer Mathematiker

People in exhibition on Jews

vom 13. Mai 2016 bis 12. Juni 2016

Dem Arbeitsleben und Aktivitäten von jüdischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in Deutschland wird an neun Stationen und einem zeitlichen Rahmen von der rechtlichen und politischen Emanzipation jüdischer Bürgerinnen und Bürger im 19. Jahrhundert bis zu ihrer Verfolgung und Vertreibung im Nationalsozialismus nachgespürt. Dabei zeigt die Ausstellung den umfangreichen und bedeutenden Beitrag jüdischer Forschender im deutschen Kaiserreich und in der Weimarer Republik zur Mathematik und deren Kultur im deutschsprachigen Raum. Ebenso zeigt sie den hohen Preis, den die von der Nazi-Regierung betriebene Vertreibung der Jüdinnen und Juden aus Deutschland hatte und erinnerte an Flucht, Emigration und Ermordung nach 1933.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Prof. Dr. Moritz Epple, dem wissenschaftlichen Leiter des Ausstellungsprojekts und Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe "Wissenschaftsgeschichte" an der Universität Frankfurt am Main, zusammen mit einer Gruppe von sieben Mathematikhistorikerinnen und Mathematikhistorikern konzipiert. Es war die erste Ausstellung im MATHEMATIKON und sie wurde von der Klaus-Tschira-Stiftung gefördert und vom Springer Verlag mit einer aufwendigen Publikation begleitet.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 12. Sep. 2021 um 09:28