BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Ageōmetrētos mēdeis eisitō
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

First semester info

Welcome to your first semester of study at Heidelberg! The following information should help you to find your way around.

This information is intended for beginner students in the narrower sense, i.e. first-year students in the Bachelor 100% or 50% in the subjects Mathematics or Applied Computer Science. If you have transferred to our faculty in a higher semester, please contact the relevant student advisor with any questions!

Preliminary course of the student council

The MathPhysInfo Student Council will again host a two-week introduction (including a pre-course in mathematics) beginning Monday, October 4, 2021, at 9:15 am. Currently, it is not yet clear whether this first meeting can take place in presence or will be offered as a video conference. In any case the locations and tools used for the introduction will change as the pre-course progresses. More information can be found on the student council pages as it is updated.

Experience has shown that the transition from school mathematics to the study of mathematics or computer science causes some difficulty. Participation in the introductory course of the student council is strongly recommended to all students, as it eases the transition from school to university.

Notes for your study plan in the first semester

The courses offered by the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science can be found in the Heidelberg University course catalog for the winter semester 2021 / 2022.

Bachelor Mathematics

For all first-year students in mathematics the following two lectures are scheduled in the first semester. First-year students in the bachelor's program in mathematics 100% also attend the lecture Introduction to Practical Computer Science sorted below in the bachelor's program in Applied Computer Science and should further attend a lecture in their application area.

  • Analysis I (Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland)
    wednesdays 9:30 - 11:00 in INF 252, Großer Hörsaal,
    fridays 11:15 - 13:00 in INF 252, Großer Hörsaal.
    If possible, the lecture should take place in presence. The current planning status and further details can be found on the lecture homepage linked below.
  • Linear Algebra I (Prof. Dr. Otmar Venjakob)
    tuesdays 9:30 - 11:00 in INF 252, Großer Hörsaal,
    thursdays 9:30 - 11:00 in INF 252, Großer Hörsaal.
    If possible, the lecture should take place in presence. The current planning status and further details can be found on the lecture homepage linked below.

Bachelor Applied Computer Science

The following lecture is required for computer science students:

  • Introduction to Practical Computer Science (Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hesser)
    tuesdays 14:00 - 16:00 in INF 252, Großer Hörsaal,
    thursdays 14:00 - 16:00 in INF 252, Großer Hörsaal.
    If possible, the lecture should take place in presence. The current planning status and further details can be found on the lecture homepage linked below.

Furthermore, one of the following two lectures must be taken on a mandatory basis:

  • Linear Algebra I (see above in the Bachelor Mathematics)
  • Mathematics for Computer Scientists I (PD Dr. Wolfgang Merkle)
    tuesdays 11:00 - 13:00 in the lecture hall in INF 205,
    thursdays 11:00 - 13:00 in the lecture hall in INF 205.
    If possible, the lecture should take place in presence. The current planning status and further details can be found on the lecture homepage linked below.

If you are taking Mathematics for Computer Scientists (see above) and no other mathematics course, you should also take the following course:

  • Introduction to Computer Engineering (Prof. Dr. Peter Fischer)
    mondays 12:00 - 13:30 in INF 252, Hörsaal West,
    wednesdays 12:00 - 13:30 in INF 252, Großer West.
    The lecture begins at October 20th. If possible, the lecture should take place in presence. The current planning status and further details can be found on the lecture homepage linked below.

Further, attendance at the following programming course is strongly recommended:

  • Programming Course (Lorenz Braun)
    mondays 11:00 - 13:00 in PC Pool SW 1 in INF 205,
    mondays 11:00 - 13:00 in PC Pool SW 2 in INF 205,
    mondays 14:00 - 16:00 in PC Pool SW 1 in INF 205,
    mondays 14:00 - 16:00 in PC Pool SW 2 in INF 205,
    fridays 14:00 - 16:00 lecture in the lecture hall in INF 205.

General advice

The exercises are an integral part of the respective lecture. The organization of the individual exercise groups will be announced in the first lecture hours, as well as the start and dates of the exercise hours. Each lecture forms a module of your studies and is concluded with an examination at the end of the lecture period. The exact modalities will be announced by the respective lecturers at the beginning of the semester.

Courses of other faculties

For information about courses for first-year students of other faculties, please contact the respective faculties or institutes yourself. You will find them announced there on a notice board, usually with a description of the content and information about the necessary prerequisites. In case of doubt, please ask the respective departmental student advisor.

Last updated on Oct 8, 2021 at 10:04 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Staircase

Die Promotion dient dem Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger, vertiefter wissenschaftlicher Arbeit. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften wird der Doktorgrad Dr. rer. nat.  in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik vergeben.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Ageōmetrētos mēdeis eisitō
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

Infos fürs erste Semester

Herzlich willkommen zu Ihrem ersten Heidelberger Studiensemester! Die folgenden Hinweise sollen Ihnen helfen, sich bei uns zurechtzufinden.

Diese Informationen richten sich an Studienanfänger:innen im engeren Sinne, also an Erstsemester im Bachelor 100% oder 50% in den Fächern Mathematik oder Angewandte Informatik. Sind Sie in einem höheren Semester an unsere Fakultät gewechselt, wenden Sie sich mit Fragen bitte an die jeweils zuständige Fachstudienberatung!

Vorkurs der Fachschaft

Die Fachschaft MathPhysInfo veranstaltet auch dieses Jahr wieder eine zweiwöchige Einführung (inkl. mathematischem Vorkurs) ab Montag, dem 4. Oktober 2021, um 9:15 Uhr. Derzeit ist noch nicht klar, ob dieses erste Treffen in Präsenz stattfinden kann oder als Videokonferenz angeboten wird. In jedem Fall werden sich die Orte und die für die Einführung verwendeten Tools im Laufe des Vorkurses ändern. Weitere, laufend aktualisierte Informationen finden Sie auf den Seiten der Fachschaft.

Die Erfahrung hat gezeigt, dass der Übergang von der Schulmathematik zum Studium der Mathematik oder Informatik einige Schwierigkeiten bereitet. Die Teilnahme am Einführungskurs der Fachschaft wird daher allen Schülerinnen und Schülern dringend empfohlen, da dieser den Übergang von der Schule zur Hochschule erleichtert.

Hinweise für Ihren Studienplan im ersten Semester

Das Lehrangebot der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik finden Sie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis der Universität Heidelberg für das Wintersemester 2021 / 2022.

Bachelor Mathematik

Für alle Studienanfänger der Mathematik sind im ersten Semester die folgenden beiden Vorlesungen vorgesehen. Erstsemester im Bachelor-Studiengang Mathematik 100% besuchen zusätzlich die unten im Bachelor Angewandte Informatik einsortierte Vorlesung Einführung in die Praktische Informatik und sollten eine Vorlesung in ihren Anwendungsgebiet belegen.

  • Analysis I (Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland)
    Mi 9:30 - 11:00 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal Chemie in INF 252,
    Fr 11:15 - 13:00 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal Chemie in INF 252.
    Wenn möglich, soll die Vorlesung in Präsenz stattfinden. Den aktuellen Planungsstand und weitere Details finden Sie auf der unten verlinkten Vorlesungshomepage.
  • Linear Algebra I (Prof. Dr. Otmar Venjakob)
    Di 9:30 - 11:00 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal Chemie in INF 252,
    Do 9:30 - 11:00 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal Chemie in INF 252.
    Wenn möglich, soll die Vorlesung in Präsenz stattfinden. Den aktuellen Planungsstand und weitere Details finden Sie auf der unten verlinkten Vorlesungshomepage.

Bachelor Angewandte Informatik

Für Studierende der Informatik ist die folgende Vorlesung Pflicht:

  • Einführung in die Praktische Informatik (Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hesser).
    Di 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal Chemie in INF 252,
    Do 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr im Großen Hörsaal Chemie in INF 252.
    Wenn möglich, soll die Vorlesung in Präsenz stattfinden. Den aktuellen Planungsstand und weitere Details finden Sie auf der unten verlinkten Vorlesungshomepage.

Desweiteren muss verpflichtend eine der folgenden beiden Vorlesungen absolviert werden:

  • Lineare Algebra I (siehe oben im Bachelor Mathematik)
  • Mathematik für Informatiker I (PD Dr. Wolfgang Merkle)
    Di 11:00 - 13:00 Uhr im Hörsaal in INF 205,
    Do 11:00 - 13:00 Uhr im Hörsaal in INF 205.
    Wenn möglich, soll die Vorlesung in Präsenz stattfinden. Den aktuellen Planungsstand und weitere Details finden Sie auf der unten verlinkten Vorlesungshomepage.

Falls Sie Mathematik für Informatiker (s. o.) belegen und keine weitere Mathematikveranstaltung, sollen Sie zudem die folgende Vorlesung absolvieren:

  • Einführung in die Technische Informatik (Prof. Dr. Peter Fischer)
    Mo 12:00 - 13:30 Uhr in Hörsaal West in INF 252,
    Mi 12:00 - 13:30 Uhr in Hörsaal West in INF 252.
    Die Vorlesung beginnt am 20. Oktober. Wenn möglich, soll die Vorlesung in Präsenz stattfinden. Den aktuellen Planungsstand und weitere Details finden Sie auf der unten verlinkten Vorlesungshomepage.

Weiter wird der Besuch des folgenden Programmierkurses stark empfohlen:

  • Programmierkurs (Lorenz Braun)
    Mo 11:00 - 13:00 Uhr in PC-Pool SW 1 in INF 205,
    Mo 11:00 - 13:00 Uhr in PC-Pool SW 2 in INF 205,
    Mo 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr in PC-Pool SW 1 in INF 205,
    Mo 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr in PC-Pool SW 2 in INF 205,
    Fr 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr Vorlesung im Hörsaal in INF 205.

Allgemeiner Hinweis

Die Übungen sind fester Bestandteil der jeweiligen Vorlesung. Die Organisation der einzelnen Übungsgruppen wird in den ersten Vorlesungsstunden bekannt gegeben, ebenso auch der Beginn und Termine der Übungsstunden. Jede Vorlesung bildet ein Modul Ihres Studiums und wird gegen Ende der Vorlesungszeit mit einer Prüfung abgeschlossen. Deren genaue Modalitäten werden von den jeweiligen Dozent:innen zu Anfang des Semesters bekanntgegeben.

Vorlesungen anderer Fakultäten

Über Veranstaltungen für Studienanfänger:innen anderer Fakultäten informieren Sie sich bei den jeweiligen Fakultäten oder Instituten selbst. Man findet sie dort durch Aushang angekündigt, meist mit Inhaltsangabe und Angabe der erforderlichen Voraussetzungen. In Zweifelsfällen fragen Sie die jeweilige Fachstudienberatung.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 8. Okt. 2021 um 10:04