BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon from the North East
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Geometry and Dynamics

Geometry is concerned with spaces equipped with notions of distance, angles, areas, or related concepts. Typical examples consist of smooth manifolds equipped with Riemannian metrics and/or symplectic or contact structures. Symmetries of these space, for instance expressed by Lie group actions, give rise to rich dynamical systems. Conversely, geometrically or physically motivated dynamical systems typically lead to interesting geometric objects and questions. These symmetries resp. dynamical systems may be discrete or continuous.

Geometry and Dynamics in Heidelberg encompasses broadly speaking differential geometry, geometric group theory and symplectic and contact geometry. One focus lies on discrete subgroups of Lie group, corresponding representations varieties and deformation spaces of geometric structures. This has strong ties to hyperbolic geometry. Another focus lies on applying modern tools from symplectic geometry to Hamiltonian dynamical systems such as classical systems from celestial mechanics or magnetic systems but also to billiard type systems. To foster the various links and connections between these research directions we founded the Research Station Geometry & Dynamics at Heidelberg University. The aim of the Research Station is to facilitate fundamental research and to explore applications of geometry, topology and dynamics in other sciences. In this we closely collaborate the cluster of excellence STRUCTURES. With the Heidelberg Experimental Geometry Lab (HEGL), we create a research driven learning and teaching environment for students and strive to make our research accessible to a wide audience.

Working Groups and Research Leaders

Prof. Dr. Peter AlbersSymplectic Geometry

Mathematical Institute

Symplectic Geometry and Topology, Hamiltonian Dynamical Systems, Floer theory

 
Prof. Dr. Peter Albers
Prof. Dr. Anna WienhardDifferential Geometry

Mathematical Institute

Deformation spaces of geometric structures, Representation varieties, Positivity in Lie groups

 
Prof. Dr. Anna Wienhard
Jun.-Prof. Dr. James FarreHyperbolic Geometry

Mathematical Institute

Hyperbolic 3-manifolds of infinite volume, Teichmüller theory, Dynamics on character varieties

 
Avatar
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Beatrice PozzettiGeometric Group Theory

Mathematical Institute

Anosov and maximal representations, (Complex) hyperbolic geometry, (Higher rank) Teichmüller-Thurston theory

 
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Beatrice Pozzetti
Dr. Anja RandeckerTranslation surfaces

Mathematical Institute

Finite and infinite translation surfaces, big mapping class groups, random walks on hyperbolic spaces

 
Avatar
Dr. Dia TahaDynamical Systems

Mathematical Institute

Translation surfaces, continued fraction algorithms, computational mathematics

 
Avatar
Last updated on Sep 24, 2021 at 8:54 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon from the North East
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Geometrie und Dynamik

Die Geometrie beschäftigt sich mit Räumen, in denen Abstände, Winkel, Flächen oder verwandte Größen gemessen werden können. Typische Beispiele sind dabei glatte Mannigfaltigkeiten, die mit Riemannschen Metriken und/oder symplektischen oder Kontaktstrukturen ausgestattet sind. Symmetrien dieser Räume, z.B. in Form von Wirkungen von Liegruppen, sind eine reiche Quelle dynamischer Systeme. Diese Symmetrie bzw. dynamischen Systeme können dabei diskrete oder kontinuierlich sein.

Geometrie und Dynamik in Heidelberg umfasst Differentialgeometrie, Geometrische Gruppentheorie sowie Symplektische und Kontaktgeometrie. Ein Fokus liegt auf diskreten Untergruppen von Liegruppen, deren Darstellungsvarietäten und auf Deformationsräumen geometrischer Strukturen. Hier gibt es tiefe Verbindungen zur hyperbolischen Geometrie. Ein weiterer Fokus ist die Anwendung moderner Methoden der symplektischen Geometrie auf Hamiltonsche dynamische Systeme, wie z.B. klassische Systeme aus der Himmelsmechanik oder magnetische Systeme, aber auch auf Billard-artige Systeme. Um die vielfältigen Verbindungen und Verzahnungen dieser Forschungsrichtungen zu fördern, haben wir die Forschungsstation Geometrie & Dynamik an der Universität Heidelberg gegründet. Das Ziel der Forschungsstation ist es, tiefliegende Forschung durchzuführen und die Anwendung von Geometrie, Topologie und Dynamik in anderen Wissenschaften zu explorieren. Dabei arbeiten wir eng mit dem Exzellenzcluster STRUCTURES zusammen. Im Heidelberger Experimentellen Geometrie Labor (HEGL) schaffen wir eine forschungsbasierte Lern- und Lehrumgebung für Studierende, auch mit dem Ziel, unsere Forschung einem breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen.

Arbeitsgruppen und Forschungsgruppenleiter

Prof. Dr. Peter AlbersSymplektische Geometrie

Mathematisches Institut

Symplektische Geometrie und Topologie, Hamiltonsche Dynamische Systeme, Floer Theorie

 
Prof. Dr. Peter Albers
Prof. Dr. Anna WienhardDifferentialgeometrie

Mathematisches Institut

Deformationsräume geometrischer Strukturen, Darstellungsvarietäten, Positivität in Liegruppen

 
Prof. Dr. Anna Wienhard
Jun.-Prof. Dr. James FarreHyperbolische Geometrie

Mathematisches Institut

Hyperbolische 3-Mannigfaltigkeiten unendlichen Volumens, Teichmüller Theorie, Dynamik auf Charaktervarietäten

 
Avatar
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Beatrice PozzettiGeometrische Gruppentheorie

Mathematisches Institut

Anosov und maximale Darstellungen, (komplexe) hyperbolische Geometrie, Teichmüller-Thurston Theorie

 
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Beatrice Pozzetti
Dr. Anja RandeckerTranslationsflächen

Mathematisches Institut

Endliche und unendliche Translationsflächen, große Abbildungsklassengruppen, Random Walks auf hyberbolischen Räumen

 
Dr. Anja Randecker
Dr. Dia TahaDynamische Systeme

Mathematisches Institut

Translationsflächen, Kettenbruchalgorithmen, algorithmischen Mathematik

 
Avatar
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 22. Dez. 2021 um 09:53