BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Heidelberg Schloss
Mathematics and Computer Science — Doctorate

heiDOCS Funding Scheme

The heiDOCS funding scheme of the Graduate Academy offers financial support for a variety of measures to doctoral candidates in mathematics and computer science.

The aim of this funding scheme is to support the faculties in the continuous improvement of the administrative organization and the academic framework conditions in the early qualification phase of young scientists. The scheme is guided by the legal framework for the advancement of young scientists, the university's "Quality Management System heiQUALITY", and specifically the quality standards of the Council for Graduate Studies of November 2013.

The application and the disbursement of the funding contributions are handled by the Graduate Academy. However, the selection and substantive evaluation of applications rest with the faculty ("Commission on Grants and Awards"). There are a total of 4 application deadlines per year in the various funding pillars, each by January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10. All doctoral students who have been accepted at the faculty for at least 6 months at the respective deadline are eligible to apply.

Please Note

We hope that with the steadying of the Covid pandemic, the funding opportunities "Mobility Grant" and "Supervision Grant" will also be in greater demand again. All doctoral students of the faculty are cordially invited to submit their applications at the next deadline (October 10).

Funding Opportunities

The "Mobility Grant" aims to increase the early scientific independence and visibility of doctoral students. It provides travel grants for participation in conferences, workshops, summer schools, and research stays with external working groups. The maximum grant for the entire doctoral phase per doctoral student is 600€. Applications must be submitted to the Graduate Academy by January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10.

The "Supervision Grant" serves as a quality assurance measure in the review and examination process in the sense of broadening supervision. It provides travel allowances (no remuneration!) for external reviewers who come to Heidelberg for the defense of their thesis. Funding is provided up to a maximum amount of 650€ per review process. Applications must be submitted to the Graduate Academy by January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10.

The "Doctoral Student Initiative" is intended to promote scientific and interdisciplinary networking among the doctoral students of the faculty. It provides financial support, for example, to organize doctoral seminars with out-of-town speakers, "chats by the fireplace", "retreats", and the like. The initiative must be scientifically or academically related, originate from at least two doctoral students of the faculty, and be carried out by them independently (no outsourcing!). Applications must be submitted to the Graduate Academy by January 10 (for initiatives in the summer semester) and July 10 (for initiatives in the winter semester).

The "Graduation Support" provides the faculty's doctoral students with financial support to complete their doctoral degree after their existing funding has expired, provided that the delay is scientifically/academically justified. The "Family Support" also provides financial support for the completion of the PhD, but in this case it is aimed at candidates who have become parents during the course of their doctoral studies (the cut-off date is the date of acceptance as a doctoral student at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science) and when this has led to an interruption or reduction in working hours on the PhD. Funding is granted for a maximum period of 6 months (Graduation Support) or a maximum of 12 months (Family Support) for an amount of 1200€/month. Applications must be submitted to the Graduate Academy by January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10. The grant can be initiated at the earliest just under 1 month up to a maximum of 6 months after the respective cut-off dates.

PhD Awards

Once a year, the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science awards two prizes in recognition of the best doctorates completed in that year, one in each of the two fields of Mathematics and Computer Science.

The awards are entitled:

  • Heidelberger Dissertationspreis für Mathematik(English: Heidelberg Doctoral Thesis Award in Mathematics)
  • Heidelberger Dissertationspreis für Informatik (English: Heidelberg Doctoral Thesis Award in Computer Science)

Each award is endowed with 500€ and is funded by the faculty's heiDOCS funding scheme. The first award was conferred in the fall of 2020.

The shortlist includes all dissertations that have been

  • graded by the examiners with a grade point average of 1.0, and which the examination committee has awarded the grade "Summa Cum Laude" in combination with the defense of the thesis,
  • published by September 30 of the current year and as of October 1 of the previous year are in accordance with §13 of the doctoral regulations.

A personal application or nomination is neither possible nor necessary.

The criterion for awarding the prize is scientific excellence, which is determined on the basis of the dissertation, publications related to the dissertation, and expert opinions. The choice is made by the Commission for Scholarships and Prizes in its autumn meeting. The award ceremony takes place in a festive setting, such as the Mathematical Christmas Colloquium.

Last updated on Aug 19, 2021 at 9:51 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Heidelberg Schloss
Mathematik und Informatik — Promotion

heiDOCS-Programm

Das heiDOCS Förderprogramm der Graduiertenakademie bietet finanzielle Unterstützung für eine Vielfalt von Massnahmen für Doktoranden in Mathematik und Informatik.

Ziel des Programms ist die Unterstützung der Fakultäten bei der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung der administrativen Organisation und der akademischen Rahmenbedingungen in der frühen Qualifikationsphase des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Grundlage sind die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, das Qualitätsmanagementsystem heiQUALITY der Universität sowie speziell die Qualitätsstandards des Councils for Graduate Studies von November 2013.

Die Bewerbung und die Ausschüttung der Förderbeiträge laufen über die Graduiertenakademie. Die Auswahl und inhaltliche Bewertung der Anträge liegen jedoch bei der Fakultät (Kommission für Stipendien und Preise). Es gibt in den verschiedenen Fördersäulen insgesamt 4 Bewerbungstermine pro Jahr, jeweils zum 10. Januar, 10. April, 10. Juli, und 10. Oktober. Antragsberechtigt sind alle Doktorand:innen, die zum jeweiligen Stichtag seit mindestens 6 Monaten an der Fakultät angenommen sind.

Bitte beachten

Wir hoffen, dass mit der Verstetigung der Corona-Pandemie auch die Fördermassnahmen "Mobilitätsbeihilfe" und "Betreuungsbeihilfe" wieder verstärkt nachgefragt werden. Alle Doktorand:innen der Fakultät sind zur nächsten Frist (10. April) herzlich zur Einreichung von Anträgen eingeladen.

Fördermaßnahmen

Die Fördermassnahme Mobilitätsbeihilfe verfolgt das Ziel, die frühe wissenschaftliche Unabhängigkeit und Sichtbarkeit der Doktorand:innen zu erhöhen. Sie bietet Reisekostenzuschüsse für die Teilnahme an Konferenzen, Workshops, Summer Schools, und Forschungsaufenthalte bei externen Arbeitsgruppen. Der maximale Zuschuss für die gesamte Promotionsphase pro Doktorand beträgt 600€. Antragstellung bei der Graduiertenakademie zum 10. Januar, 10. April, 10. Juli, und 10. Oktober.

Die Fördermassnahme Betreuungsbeihilfe dient im Sinne einer verbreiterten Betreuung der Qualitätssicherung beim Begutachtungs- und Prüfungsverfahren. Sie bietet Reisekostenzuschüsse (kein Honorar!) für externe Gutachter, die für die Disputation nach Heidelberg kommen. Gefördert wird bis zu einem maximalen Betrag von 650€ pro Begutachtungsverfahren. Antragstellung bei der Graduiertenakademie zum 10. Januar, 10. April, 10. Juli, und 10. Oktober.

Die Fördermassnahme Doktorandeninitiative soll die wissenschaftliche und fachübergreifenden Vernetzung der Doktorand:innen der Fakultät untereinander fördern. Sie bietet finanzielle Unterstützung z.B. bei der Organisation von Doktorandenseminaren mit auswärtigen Sprechern, Kamingespräche, Retreats, und dergleichen mehr. Die Initiative muss einen wissenschaftlichen oder akademischen Bezug haben, von mindestens zwei Doktorand:innen der Fakultät ausgehen, und von ihnen selbständig durchgeführt werden (kein Outsourcing!). Antragstellung bei der Graduiertenakademie zum 10. Januar (für Initiativen im Sommersemester) und 10. Juli (für Initiativen im Wintersemester).

Die Fördermassnahme Abschlussbeihilfe bietet Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Fakultät eine finanzielle Unterstützung für den Abschluss der Promotion nach Auslaufen der bestehenden Finanzierung, sofern die Verzögerung wissenschaftlich/akademisch begründet ist. Die Fördermassnahme Familienbeihilfe bietet ebenfalls finanzielle Unterstützung für den Abschluss der Promotion, richtet sich dabei jedoch an Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten, die während der Promotion (als Stichtag gilt das Datum der Annahme als Doktorand/in an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik) Eltern geworden sind und dies zu einer Unterbrechung oder Reduktion der Arbeitszeit an der Promotion geführt hat. Die Förderung wird für die Dauer von maximal 6 Monaten (Abschlussbeihilfe) bzw. maximal 12 Monaten (Familienförderung) in Höhe von 1200€/Monat gewährt. Antragstellung bei der Graduiertenakademie zum 10. Januar, 10. April, 10. Juli, und 10. Oktober. Die Förderung kann frühestens knapp 1 bis maximal 6 Monate nach den jeweiligen Stichtagen beginnen.

Promotionspreis

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik vergibt einmal pro Jahr zwei Preise zur Anerkennung der besten in diesem Jahr abgeschlossenen Promotionen, je einen Preis in den beiden Fächern Mathematik und Informatik. Die Preise tragen die Bezeichnung:

  • Heidelberger Dissertationspreis für Mathematik (English: Heidelberg Doctoral Thesis Award in Mathematics)
  • Heidelberger Dissertationspreis für Informatik (English: Heidelberg Doctoral Thesis Award in Computer Science)

Jeder Preis ist mit 500€ dotiert und wird aus den Mitteln des heiDOCS-Programms der Fakultät finanziert. Erstvergabe im Herbst 2020.

In die Auswahl kommen alle Dissertationen, die

  • von den Gutachtern mit dem Notendurchschnitt 1,0 bewertet worden sind, und die die Prüfungskommission in Verbindung mit der Disputation mit dem Prädikat Summa Cum Laude ausgezeichnet hat,
  • bis zum 30.9. des laufenden Jahres und ab dem 1.10. des Vorjahres im Sinne von §13 Promotionsordnung veröffentlicht worden sind

Eine Eigenbewerbung oder Nominierung ist weder möglich noch notwendig.

Das Kriterium für die Preisvergabe ist die wissenschaftliche Exzellenz, die auf der Grundlage der Dissertation, mit der Dissertation verbundenen Publikationen, und der Gutachten festgestellt wird. Die Auswahl wird von der Kommission für Stipendien und Preise in ihrer Herbst-Sitzung vorgenommen. Die Preisverleihung erfolgt im festlichen Rahmen z.B. des Mathematischen Weihnachtskolloquiums.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 29. März 2022 um 15:48