BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Old Mathematical Institute Building
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

History

Since the earliest times, mathematics has encompassed all areas of the exact sciences. Computer Science is the indispensable foundation of all future technologies. Heidelberg University proudly looks back on a long development in research and teaching in these fields.

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science traces its origins to the Faculty of Philosophy (since 1386), the Faculty of Sciences and Mathematics (from 1890 to 1969), and the Faculty of Mathematics (from 1969 to 2002).

The early years

Portrait Cosmographer Sebastien Munster

Mathematics has been taught at Heidelberg University since its foundation in 1386. Arithmetic and geometry, as subjects of the artes liberales, were initially taught outside of the subject, for example by the famous cosmographer Sebastian Münster (1488-1552), whom Heidelberg honored with a fountain on Karlsplatz and whose portrait could be seen on every one hundred D-Mark note. Sebastian Münster held a professorship for Hebrew Studies, which was poorly endowed, so that after only three years of teaching, in 1527, he accepted a call to Basel. The first chair for mathematics was established in 1547 and occupied by the doctor Jakob Curio (1497-1572).

First prosperity and first setbacks

Pitiscus - Trigonometriae sive De dimensione triangulorum 1612-1654

An early heyday in Heidelberg mathematics occurred at the turn of the 16th and 17th centuries, when the court preacher Bartholomäus Pitiscus (1561-1613), together with the astronomer Valentin Otho and the professor of logic, Arabic and Hebrew Jacob Christmann, created trigonometric tables that were indispensable for astronomy and nautical science. The term trigonometry is due to Pitiscus.

In the 18th century, Heidelberg mathematics, along with the university as a whole, descended into intellectual mediocrity: some professorships were filled by the church in rapid succession, others were treated as hereditary benefices. Both were detrimental to the university's scientific standards. In addition, financial mismanagement and the Revolutionary Wars deprived the university of its property and independent income.

Resurgence

Leo Königsberger

The transfer of Heidelberg to the Grand Duchy of Baden in 1806 brought about a new beginning. The university was restructured and turned into a state-funded educational institution. As a result, mathematics experienced a second great heyday from 1850 to 1920, which is associated with the following names: Ludwig Otto Hesse (1811-1874; Hessian matrix, Hesse normal form), Immanuel Lazarus Fuchs (1833-1902; Fuchsian groups), Leo Königsberger (1837-1921; elliptical functions and differential equations), Moritz Benedikt Cantor (1829-1920; history of mathematics), Paul Gustav Stäckel (1862-1919; differential geometry, number theory and history of mathematics), and Oskar Perron (1880-1975; Dirichlet problem and continued fractions). Hesse, Fuchs and Königsberger knew how to gather a large crowd of highly talented students, not a few of whom later became very famous. Max Noether (1844-1921), for example, found his way to Heidelberg in the summer of 1867, and David Hilbert (1862-1943) in the summer of 1881. Another one of these celebrities was Sofja Kowalewskaja (1850-1891), who, as a Heidelberg student and the first female professor in Europe, consistently challenged the idea that mathematics was a purely male subject.

In 1904 the III. International Congress of Mathematics – on the initiative of Königsberger and under the presidency of Heinrich Weber (1842-1913), who had completed his habilitation in Heidelberg in 1866 – brought the most important mathematicians of the time to Heidelberg.

Dark Days

Unveiling of Heinrich Liebmann portrait

However, dark times came along as well. In 1935, the National Socialist regime of the time forced the successors of the mathematical pioneers, Heinrich Liebmann (1874-1939; differential geometry) and Artur Rosenthal (1887-1959; geometry, measure theory), to retire early because of their Jewish origin. Through a disciplinary proceeding in May 1932, Associate Professor Emil Julius Gumbel (1891-1966; statistics) had already been deprived of his teaching license because he had suggested in a socialist student group that a monument in the form of a rutabaga beet should commemorate the years of hardship after the First World War.

In November 1935, the then 28-year-old PD Herbert Seifert (1907-1996; topology, including Seifert surfaces, Seifert fibers) was summoned to Heidelberg from Dresden within two days to take over one of the two chairs of Liebmann and Rosenthal, who had been forced to resign. Apart from one PD, the institute was completely deserted. In 1936, Udo Wegner (1902-1989; theoretical mechanics), who was deemed more convenient to the regime, was appointed to the second chair as Rosenthal's successor. In 1945, he was dismissed on account of political charges.

Upswing and Expansion

The development of the Mathematical Institute after the Second World War was strongly influenced by Seifert, Hans Maaß (1911-1992; function theory, including Maass wave forms), William Threlfall (1888-1949; topology), and Friedrich Karl Schmidt (1901-1977; algebra and number theory). Maaß carried out groundbreaking work in the field of automorphic functions. Seifert and Threlfall laid the foundation for Heidelberg's worldwide reputation as a center of topology. Schmidt founded an arithmetic-algebraic school here. The later traditional focal points of pure mathematics in Heidelberg with the mathematical areas of algebra, analysis, function theory, geometry, topology and number theory evolved from the continuation of the existing areas of work. A profile came into being that is still recognized scientifically to this day. This period also saw the move of the faculty from Heidelberg's old town, where it had last been housed in the Friedrichsbau at Bunsen-Platz, to a newly built institute building on the natural sciences campus in Neuenheimer Feld.

An important milestone in the development of the faculty as it is today was the founding of the Institute of Applied Mathematics in 1957. Over the course of the following years, the Mathematical Institute and the Institute for Applied Mathematics expanded considerably in terms of personnel. Important and guiding appointments in this expansion phase, with a formative effect on the later development, were the appointments of the colleagues Albrecht Dold (1928-2011; topology), Dieter Puppe (1930-2005; topology), Willi Jäger (*1940; applied analysis), Gerd Müller (1923-2006; mathematical logic), Werner Romberg (1909-2003; numerics) and Peter Roquette (*1927; algebra and number theory) in the years 1963-1974.

At this time, the Institute of Applied Mathematics rapidly developed focal points in the areas of applied analysis, numerics and optimization, and statistics. This development led to the foundation of the Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR) in 1987. The IWR - although not part of the faculty itself - was a novelty for the time with considerable charisma which made it possible for Heidelberg mathematics to integrate a large number of its fields of work into interdisciplinary research and teaching. Traditionally, important cooperation partners of the IWR and the faculty are above all the Heidelberg faculties of biology, chemistry and physics as well as non-university research institutions, for example in industry. For some years now, however, there has also been increased cooperation with disciplines of the humanities.

The 21st Century

An important and far-reaching step in the development of the faculty was the creation of the Institute for Computer Science in 2002. A first humble nucleus for this had already been formed by the Department of Mathematical Logic, which had been in existence since 1962. At the same time as the Institute of Computer Science was established, the "Faculty of Mathematics" was renamed the "Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science" in 2002 - a natural step in the course of adapting the educational programs and mathematical research to the new developments. The rapid growth in this area, which is characterized in Heidelberg by its particularly strong orientation towards application and interdisciplinarity, was further increased by the incorporation of Mannheim Computer Engineering into Heidelberg University in 2007. There are currently (as of March 2021) a total of 33 professorships filled at the faculty, 22 in mathematics and 11 in computer science.

In the 2000s, the faculty, which had grown considerably, had meanwhile been divided among seven buildings in Neuenheimer Feld, which made scientific cooperation - especially across institute boundaries - very difficult. In 2015, this situation was remedied with the construction of the Mathematikon by the Klaus Tschira Foundation: The building complex, consisting of three parts, gives room for science and business. Alongside research facilities and institutes, gastronomy and retail were also integrated into the building. The southern part of the building was gifted to the state of Baden-Württemberg and has since been the joint home of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science and the IWR.


Today, researchers from all departments of the faculty contribute significantly to the Strategy of Excellence of Heidelberg University through the Cluster of Excellence STRUCTURES as well as through several Collaborative Research Centers and Graduate Schools.

Last updated on Sep 24, 2021 at 2:13 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Old Mathematical Institute Building
Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

Geschichte

Die Mathematik umspannt seit Urzeiten alle Bereiche der exakten Wissenschaften. Die Informatik ist unabdingbare Grundlage aller Zukunftstechnologien. Die Universität Heidelberg blickt stolz auf eine lange Entwicklung in Forschung und Lehre in diesen Gebieten.

Zu den Vorläufern der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik gehören die Philosophische Fakultät (seit 1386), die Naturwissenschaftlich-Mathematische Fakultät (von 1890 bis 1969) und die Fakultät für Mathematik (von 1969 bis 2002).

Die frühen Jahre

Portrait Cosmographer Sebastien Munster

Mathematik wird an der Universität Heidelberg bereits seit ihrer Gründung im Jahre 1386 gelehrt. Arithmetik und Geometrie wurden als Fächer der artes liberales am Anfang fachfremd unterrichtet, so von dem berühmten Kosmographen Sebastian Münster (1488-1552), den Heidelberg durch einen Brunnen auf dem Karlsplatz geehrt hat und dessen Porträt auf jedem Hundert-D-Markschein zu sehen war. Sebastian Münster hatte einen Lehrstuhl für Hebraistik inne, der allerdings schlecht dotiert war, so dass er nach nur dreijähriger Lehrtätigkeit im Jahre 1527 einen Ruf nach Basel annahm. Der erste Lehrstuhl für Mathematik wurde 1547 eingerichtet und mit dem Arzt Jakob Curio (1497-1572) besetzt.

 

Erste Blüte und Niedergang

Pitiscus - Trigonometriae sive De dimensione triangulorum 1612-1654

Eine frühe Blütezeit in der Heidelberger Mathematik gab es um die Wende des 16. zum 17. Jahrhunderts, als der Hofprediger Bartholomäus Pitiscus (1561-1613) gemeinsam mit dem Astronomen Valentin Otho und dem Professor für Logik, Arabisch und Hebräisch Jacob Christmann trigonometrische Tafeln erstellten, die für die Astronomie und Nautik unverzichtbar waren. Von Pitiscus stammt der Begriff der Trigonometrie.

Im 18. Jahrhundert versank mit der gesamten Universität auch die Heidelberger Mathematik in intellektueller Mittelmäßigkeit: Teils wurden die Professuren in schnellem Wechsel von der Kirche neu besetzt, teils als Erbpfründe behandelt. Beides schadete dem wissenschaftlichen Niveau. Zudem brachten finanzielle Misswirtschaft und die Revolutionskriege die Universität um ihren Besitz und ihre eigenständigen Einkünfte.

Wiederaufstieg

Leo Königsberger

Der Übergang Heidelbergs an das Großherzogtum Baden im Jahr 1806 führte einen Neuanfang herbei. Die Universität wurde neu strukturiert und zur staatlich finanzierten Lehranstalt. Infolgedessen erfuhr die Mathematik eine zweite große Blütezeit von 1850 bis 1920, die mit den folgenden Namen verbunden ist: Ludwig Otto Hesse (1811-1874; Hesse-Matrix, Hesse'sche Normalform), Immanuel Lazarus Fuchs (1833-1902; Fuchs'sche Gruppen), Leo Königsberger (1837-1921; elliptische Funktionen und Differentialgleichungen), Moritz Benedikt Cantor (1829-1920; Geschichte der Mathematik), Paul Gustav Stäckel (1862-1919; Differentialgeometrie, Zahlentheorie und Geschichte der Mathematik) und Oskar Perron (1880-1975; Dirichlet-Problem und Kettenbrüche). Hesse, Fuchs und Königsberger haben es verstanden eine große Schar hochbegabter Studierender um sich zu versammeln, von denen nicht wenige später sehr berühmt wurden. So fanden etwa auch Max Noether (1844-1921) im Sommer 1867 und David Hilbert (1862-1943) im Sommer 1881 an die Ruperto Carola. Zu diesen Berühmtheiten zählte weiter auch Sofja Kowalewskaja (1850-1891), die als Heidelberger Studentin und erste weibliche Professorin in Europa die Vorstellung, Mathematik sei ein rein männliches Fach, nachhaltig herausforderte.

1904 brachte der III. Internationale Mathematiker-Kongress auf Initiative von Königsberger und unter dem Präsidium von Heinrich Weber (1842-1913), der sich 1866 in Heidelberg habilitiert hatte, die bedeutendsten Mathematiker der damaligen Zeit nach Heidelberg.

Dunkle Zeiten

Unveiling of Heinrich Liebmann portrait

Doch es folgten auch dunkle Zeiten. Die Nachfolger der mathematischen Pioniere, Heinrich Liebmann (1874-1939; Differentialgeometrie) und Artur Rosenthal (1887-1959; Geometrie, Maßtheorie), wurden wegen ihrer jüdischen Herkunft 1935 vom damaligen Nationalsozialistischen Regime gezwungen, sich vorzeitig emeritieren zu lassen. Schon im Mai 1932 war dem außerordentlichen Professor Emil Julius Gumbel (1891-1966; Statistik) in einem Disziplinarverfahren seine Lehrbefugnis entzogen worden, weil er in einer sozialistischen Studierendengruppe angeregt hatte, durch ein Denkmal in Form einer Kohlrübe an die Notjahre nach dem ersten Weltkrieg zu erinnern. 

Im November 1935 wurde der damals 28-jährige Privatdozent Herbert Seifert (1907-1996; Topologie, u. a. Seifert-Flächen, Seifert-Faserung) binnen einer Frist von zwei Tagen von Dresden nach Heidelberg beordert, um die Vertretung eines der beiden Lehrstühle der zwangsemeritierten Liebmann und Rosenthal zu übernehmen. Er fand ein bis auf einen Privatdozenten völlig verwaistes Institut vor. Auf den zweiten Lehrstuhl wurde 1936 als Nachfolger von Rosenthal der dem Regime genehmere Udo Wegner (1902-1989; Theoretische Mechanik) berufen, der dann 1945 wegen politischer Belastung entlassen wurde.

Aufschwung und Ausbau

Die Entwicklung des Mathematischen Instituts nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurde nachhaltig beeinflusst durch die Professoren Seifert, Hans Maaß (1911-1992; Funktionentheorie, u. a. Maaß'sche Wellenformen), William Threlfall (1888-1949; Topologie) und Friedrich Karl Schmidt (1901-1977; Algebra und Zahlentheorie). Von Maaß stammen bahnbrechende Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Automorphen Funktionen. Seifert und Threlfall haben den weltweiten Ruf Heidelbergs als Zentrum der Topologie begründet. Schmidt hat hier eine arithmetisch-algebraische Schule etabliert. Aus der Fortführung der damals bestehenden Arbeitsgebiete entwickelten sich die späteren traditionellen Heidelberger Schwerpunkte der Reinen Mathematik mit den mathematischen Bereichen Algebra, Analysis, Funktionentheorie, Geometrie, Topologie und Zahlentheorie. Es entstand ein Profil, das bis heute wissenschaftlich deutlich wahrgenommen wird. In diesen Zeitraum fällt auch der Umzug aus der Heidelberger Altstadt, wo man zuletzt im Friedrichsbau am Bunsen-Platz untergebracht war, in ein neu errichtetes Institutsgebäude im Naturwissenschaftscampus im Neuenheimer Feld.

Ein wichtiger historischer Meilenstein in der Entwicklung der jetzigen Fakultät war die Gründung des Instituts für Angewandte Mathematik im Jahre 1957. In den darauffolgenden Jahren kam es zu einem starken personellen Ausbau des Mathematischen Instituts und des Instituts für Angewandte Mathematik. Wichtige und richtungsweisende Neuberufungen in dieser Ausbauphase, mit prägender Wirkung für die spätere Entwicklung, waren die Berufungen der Kollegen Albrecht Dold (1928-2011; Topologie), Dieter Puppe (1930-2005; Topologie), Willi Jäger (*1940; Angewandte Analysis), Gerd Müller (1923-2006; Mathematische Logik), Werner Romberg (1909-2003; Numerik) und Peter Roquette (*1927; Algebra und Zahlentheorie) in den Jahren 1963-1974.

Im Institut für Angewandte Mathematik entwickelten sich zu dieser Zeit sehr rasch Schwerpunkte in den Bereichen Angewandte Analysis, Numerik und Optimierung sowie in der Statistik. Diese Entwicklung mündete ein in die Gründung eines Interdisziplinären Zentrums für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen (IWR) im Jahr 1987. Das IWR – zwar selbst nicht Teil der Fakultät – war ein Novum für die damalige Zeit mit erheblicher Ausstrahlung, und ermöglichte es der Heidelberger Mathematik eine Vielzahl ihrer Arbeitsgebiete in interdisziplinäre Forschung und Lehre einzubinden. Wichtige Kooperationspartner des IWR und der Fakultät sind traditionell vor allem die Heidelberger Fakultäten für Biologie, Chemie und Physik sowie außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen etwa der Industrie. Seit einigen Jahren erfolgt allerdings auch verstärkt eine Zusammenarbeit mit geisteswissenschaftlichen Disziplinen.

Das 21. Jahrhundert

Ein wichtiger und weitreichender Entwicklungsschritt der Fakultät war die Gründung des Instituts für Informatik im Jahr 2002. Ein erster bescheidener Nukleus dazu war bereits gelegt durch das seit 1962 vorhandene Fachgebiet Mathematische Logik. Zeitgleich mit der Einrichtung des Instituts für Informatik erfolgte im Jahre 2002 die Umbenennung der „Fakultät für Mathematik“ in die „Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik“ – ein folgerichtiger Schritt im Zuge der Anpassung der Ausbildungsgänge und der mathematischen Forschung an die neuen Entwicklungen. Das rasche Wachstum in diesem Bereich, der sich in Heidelberg durch seine besonders starke Anwendungsorientierung und Interdisziplinarität auszeichnet, wurde zusätzlich verstärkt durch die Eingliederung der Mannheimer Technischen Informatik in die Universität Heidelberg im Jahr 2007. An der Fakultät gibt es derzeit (Stand: März 2021) insgesamt 33 Professorinnen- und Professorenstellen, 22 davon im Bereich der Mathematik und 11 im Bereich der Informatik.

In den 2000er-Jahren war die stark gewachsene Fakultät zwischenzeitlich auf sieben Gebäude im Neuenheimer Feld verteilt, was die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit – insbesondere über Institutsgrenzen hinweg – erschwerte. Im Jahr 2015 wurde dieser Missstand mit Errichtung des Mathematikon durch die Klaus-Tschira-Stiftung behoben: Der aus drei Gebäudeteilen bestehende Komplex bietet Raum für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft – neben Forschungseinrichtungen und Instituten wurden auch Gastronomie und Einzelhandel integriert. Der südliche Bauteil wurde durch eine Schenkung an das Land Baden-Württemberg übergeben und ist seither das gemeinsame Zuhause der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik und des IWR.

Heute tragen Forscherinnen und Forscher aus allen Teilbereichen der Fakultät über den Exzellenzcluster STRUCTURES sowie über mehrere Sonderforschungsbereiche und Graduiertenschulen entscheidend zur Exzellenzstrategie der Universität Heidelberg bei.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 24. Sep. 2021 um 14:13