BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Balustrade
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

Master Programs Computer Science

The Master's program in Applied Computer Science enables students to specialize in applications of Computer Science. The program particularly benefits from the close cooperation with the interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing, especially in the optimization and simulation of complex phenomena in science and technology. The Master of Education also teaches pedagogical content.

The Master's program in Applied Computer Science is usually completed after four semesters. Admission is based on the current regulations of the Admission Regulations. Upon successful completion of the master's program, students are awarded the academic degree Master of Science (M. Sc.). The Master of Education in Mathematics leads to the academic degree of Master of Education (M. Ed.). The Master's program leading to the degree of Master of Education with the profiles of Gymnasium teaching and secondary level teaching is jointly run by Heidelberg University and Heidelberg University of Education within the framework of the Heidelberg School of Education (HSE), with the Gymnasium teaching profile being located at the University.

Please Note

During the remodeling of the Faculty web site, the Computer Science web pages remain a reliable source of detailed and up-to-date information (albeit in German only). Thank you for your understanding.

Structure of a Master Program in Computer Science at Heidelberg University

Master Applied Computer Science

DegreeMaster of Science (M. Sc.)
Type of studyConsecutive
Begin of studyWinter and summer semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
Language(s)German, some English
Application procedureAccess restriction

Master of Education Computer Science

DegreeMaster of Education (M. Ed.)
Type of studyConsecutive
Begin of studyWinter and summer semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
Language(s)German

Course Handbooks Master Computer Science

Course Handbook Master Computer Science

as of winter semester 2021/22

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Course Handbook Master of Education

General section

(Deutsch)
not available in English
Course Handbook Master of Education Computer Science

Subject section

(Deutsch)
not available in English

Master Applied Computer Science

The consecutive, research-oriented Master's program in Applied Computer Science teaches in-depth specialized knowledge and scientific methods in Computer Science and, at the student's choice, in related fields. A total of 120 ECTS must be obtained in the Master's program in Applied Computer Science, of which 72 ECTS are awarded in the area of Computer Science and 18 ECTS in the area of application. The master thesis accounts for 30 ECTS.

Area of Application

Permitted areas of application:

  • Astronomy
  • Life sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Computer linguistics
  • Geography
  • Geosciences
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Economics

Upon request, a different field may be approved as an area of application.

Master Thesis

The Master thesis is a paper that concludes the scientific education. It is intended to show that the candidate is able to work independently on a problem from Computer Science using scientific methods within a specified period of time.

As part of the Master thesis, the content of the work must be presented orally by the candidate. In this presentation, the results of the work are to be presented and defended in a discussion with the examiners.

If the thesis is graded with 5.0, it can be repeated with a new topic; a repetition with the previous topic is not possible.

Master of Education Applied Computer Science

    The modules of the Computer Science component comprise 18 ECTS Field Studies (Fachwissenschaft) and 13 ECTS Field Didactics (Fachdidaktik). The Master thesis is an optional module and is not included in the previously mentioned ECTS. The interlocking module Aus der Forschung in die Schule (From Research to School) consists of two parts, the seminar and the field didactic preparation. Here, the seminar should be completed first and the field didactic preparation in the following semester. The monitoring of the school internship on the part of the field takes place through the module Unterricht beobachten und analysieren (Observing and analyzing lessons).

    Further information on the study program can be found in the general section of the course handbook. The modules of the Computer Science component are described in the special section of the course handbook. Model study plans for starting in the winter as well as in the summer semester are also given here. Due to the very different possible combinations of fields, it is strongly advised to take advantage of an individual student advisory service at the time of application and/or enrollment in order to design a study plan that is tailored to your personal academic circumstances.

    General information on the Master of Education can be found on the university's central pages.

    Master of Education Computer Science Extension Subject

      Last updated on Sep 25, 2021 at 5:17 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Balustrade
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

Masterstudiengänge Informatik

Der Masterstudiengang Data and Computer Science ermöglicht die Vertiefung in Anwendungen der Informatik. Besonders profitiert der Studiengang von der engen Kooperation mit dem interdisziplinären Zentrum für wissenschaftliches Rechnen, insbesondere bei Optimierung und Simulation komplexer Phänomene in Naturwissenschaft und Technik. Der Master of Education vermittelt darüber hinaus pädagogische Inhalte.

Der Masterstudiengang Data and Computer Science wird in der Regel nach vier Semestern abgeschlossen. Die Zulassung erfolgt basierend auf den aktuellen Regelungen der Zulassungsordnung. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Masterstudiums wird Studierenden der akademische Grad Master of Science (M.Sc.) verliehen. Der Master of Education Informatik führt zum akademischen Grad Master of Education, kurz M. Ed. Das Masterstudium mit dem Abschlussziel eines Master of Education mit den Profillinien Lehramt Gymnasium und Lehramt Sekundarstufe I wird von der Universität Heidelberg und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg im Rahmen der Heidelberg School of Education (HSE) gemeinsam verantwortet, wobei die Profillinie Lehramt Gymnasium an der Universität verortet ist.

Bitte beachten

Während der Überarbeitung des Webauftritts der Fakultät bleiben die Webseiten der Informatik eine zuverlässige Quelle für ausführliche und ständig aktualisierte Informationen. Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis.

Aufbau eines Masterstudiums der Informatik an der Universität Heidelberg

Master Data and Computer Science

AbschlussMaster of Science (M. Sc.)
StudiengangstypKonsekutiv
StudienbeginnWinter- und Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Lehrsprache(n)Englisch, teilweise Deutsch
BewerbungsverfahrenZugangsbeschränkt

Master of Education

AbschlussMaster of Education (M. Ed.)
StudiengangstypKonsekutiv
StudienbeginnWinter- und Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Lehrsprache(n)Deutsch

Modulhandbücher Master Data and Computer Science

Modulhandbuch Master Data and Computer Science

Stand: SS 2022 (neue PO)

(Deutsch)
(English)
Modulhandbuch Master of Education

Allgemeiner Teil

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar
Modulhandbuch Master of Education Informatik

spezieller Teil

(Deutsch)
nicht auf Englisch verfügbar

Master Data and Computer Science

Der konsekutive, forschungsorientierte Masterstudiengang Data and Computer Science vermittelt tiefergehendes Fachwissen und wissenschaftliche Methoden der Informatik und nach Wahl der Studierenden auch angrenzender Fachgebiete. Insgesamt sind im Masterstudium  120 Leistungspunkte zu erbringen, davon 72 LP im Bereich Informatik sowie 18 LP im Anwendungsgebiet. Auf die Masterarbeit entfallen 30 LP.

Anwendungsgebiet

Zugelassene Anwendungsgebiete:

  • Astronomie
  • Biowissenschaften
  • Chemie
  • Computerlinguistik
  • Geographie
  • Geowissenschaften
  • Mathematik
  • Philosophie
  • Physik
  • Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Auf Antrag kann auch ein anderes Fach als Anwendungsgebiet genehmigt werden.

Masterarbeit

Die Masterarbeit ist eine Prüfungsarbeit, die die wissenschaftliche Ausbildung abschließt. Sie soll zeigen, dass der Prüfling in der Lage ist, innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist ein Problem aus der Informatik selbstständig nach wissenschaftlichen Methoden zu bearbeiten.

Als Teil der Masterarbeit muss der Inhalt der Arbeit von dem Prüfling mündlich vorgestellt werden. In dieser Vorstellung sollen die Ergebnisse der Arbeit dargestellt und in einem Gespräch mit den Prüfer:innen verteidigt werden.

Wird die Arbeit mit 5,0 bewertet, so kann sie mit einem neuen Thema wiederholt werden; eine Wiederholung mit dem bisherigen Thema ist ausgeschlossen.

Master of Education Informatik

    Die Module des Teilstudiengangs Informatik umfassen 18 LP Fachwissenschaft (FW) und 13 LP Fachdidaktik (FD). Die Masterarbeit ist ein optionales Modul und geht nicht in die zuvor genannten LP ein. Das Verschränkungsmodul „Aus der Forschung in die Schule“ setzt sich aus zwei Teilen zusammen, dem „Seminar“ und der „Fachdidaktischen Aufbereitung“. Hierbei sollte das Seminar zuerst und im folgenden Semester die fachdidaktische Aufbereitung absolviert werden. Die Begleitung des Schulpraxissemester seitens des Fachs erfolgt durch das Modul „Unterricht beobachten und analysieren“.

    Weiterführende Informationen zum Studium finden sich im Allgemeinen Teil des Modulhandbuchs. Die Module des Teilstudiengangs Informatik sind im Besonderen Teil des Modulhandbuchs beschrieben. Hier sind auch Modellstudienpläne sowohl für den Beginn im Winter- als auch im Sommersemester angegeben. Aufgrund der sehr unterschiedlichen Fächerkombinationen wird dringend dazu geraten, bereits bei der Bewerbung und/oder Einschreibung eine individuelle Fachstudienberatung wahrzunehmen, um einen an die persönlichen Studienumstände angepassten Studienplan zu entwickeln.

    Allgemeine Informationen zum Master of Education sind auf den zentralen Seiten der Universität zum Master of Education zu finden.

    Master of Education Informatik Erweiterungsfach

      Zuletzt aktualisiert am 30. März 2022 um 12:05