BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon from South-East
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

Mathematikon

The Mathematikon is the building complex consisting of three parts, which acts as the facade of the Neuenheimer Feld on Berliner Strasse. The name indicates its designation as the house of mathematical things, recalling their central importance for all scientific disciplines and society as a whole.

The Mathematikon was built in 2015 by the Klaus Tschira Foundation. The northern parts of the building integrate gastronomy and retail on the first floor and offer space for university and university-related tenants on the upper floors. The southern Bauteil A was donated to the state of Baden-Württemberg and houses the research and operational facilities of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science together with the Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing since 2016.

Virtual Tour

Mathematikon Library

Approaching the main entrance of the MATHEMATIKON from the south in the direction of the Neckar river, you first enter the foyer, where frequently changing exhibitions can be seen.

To the left are the large seminar rooms A, B, and C, as well as the lecture hall at the very end of the hallway. This is typically where larger lectures and colloquia are held, as well as public lectures and smaller conferences. To the right is the Faculty Library with its extensive reference collection and many quiet workspaces that also offer electronic ports for students' own laptops. Small secluded séparées can be reserved for intensive work by appointment. At the back of the library, the collected Lecture Notes of the Springer Verlag, edited by Albrecht Dold (1928 - 2011) from 1964 to 2000, fill several shelf meters.

Behind the building is an adjacent courtyard, which offers a covered area for bicycles in the back. It extends down to the atrium with wide steps, offering the possibility of using the courtyard as a backdrop and stage for concerts and the like. Two laboratories are also located in the basement.

Mathematikon Lounge

A characteristic of the building's room layout is the joint use of each floor by the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science with the working groups of the Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing. They are distributed in opposite directions and alternately on the western and eastern wings.

From the foyer, elevators or the stairways lead to the second floor with the dean's office and the faculty secretariats. There are student lounge areas on each floor, which are well appreciated. Meeting rooms for small groups can be reserved at any time. Smaller seminar rooms with approximately 20 seats are spread out on the upper floors.

On the top floor is the conference room, which is used for representative purposes as well as for colloquia and smaller conferences. The replica of the Heidelberg Vaugondy globe from 1751 and a metal model of a Sierpinski tetrahedron are also displayed here. In the eastern wing is the common room, through which you can access the roof terrace, with a beautiful view all the way to Heidelberg Castle. Here, graduation parties, conference dinners and celebrations of other occasions take place, which have to be announced, but - and this is another special feature - the room cannot be reserved in the sense of a closed event but is open to all employees of the building at any time.

Art in and around the building

Mathematical Collection

Mathematische Sammlung

The extensive collection of the Mathematical Institute comprises a total of 79 objects, 46 of which are plaster objects of the Schilling series. The rest are mostly brass, cardboard, wood or thread models. Also belonging to the faculty is a painting by Adelheid Furtwängler depicting Heinrich Liebmann (1874 - 1939, Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences and Rector of Heidelberg University).

The bronze plaque of Leo Koenigsberger (1837 - 1921), which was mounted by his students on the former Mathematical Institute in the Hauptstrasse and was long considered lost, is also in the possession of the Institute.

The collection is currently deserted, but there are plans for a public presentation on the premises of the faculty.

University collections in Germany

Last updated on Aug 27, 2021 at 7:26 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon from South-East
Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

Mathematikon

Das Mathematikon ist der aus drei Teilen bestehende Gebäudekomplex, der als Fassade des Neuenheimer Felds an der Berliner Strasse fungiert. Der Name zeigt die Bestimmung als Haus der mathematischen Dinge an, und erinnert an deren zentrale Bedeutung für alle wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen und die Gesellschaft als Ganzes.

Erbaut wurde das Mathematikon im Jahr 2015 durch die Klaus-Tschira-Stiftung. Die nördlichen Gebäudeteile integrieren im Erdgeschoss Gastronomie und Einzelhandel und bieten in den Obergeschossen Platz für universitäre und universitätsnahe Mieter. Der südliche Bauteil A wurde durch eine Schenkung an das Land Baden-Württemberg übergeben und beherbergt seit 2016 die Forschungs- und Betriebseinrichtungen der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik zusammen mit dem Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen.

Rundgang

Mathematikon Library

Von Süden aus Richtung des Neckar nähert man sich dem Haupteingang des MATHEMATIKON und betritt zunächst das Foyer, in dem häufig wechselnde Ausstellungen zu sehen sind.

Links geht es zu den großen Seminarräumen A, B und C sowie dem Hörsaal ganz am Ende des Gangs. Hier finden typischerweise größere Vorlesungen und Kolloquien sowie Public Lectures und kleinere Tagungen statt. Rechts geht es zur Mathematischen Bibliothek mit ihrem umfangreichen Präsenzbestand und vielen ruhigen Arbeitsplätzen, die auch elektronische Anschlüsse für eigene Laptops bieten. Kleine abgeschlossene Séparées können nach vorheriger Anmeldung zum intensiven Arbeiten belegt werden. Hinten in der Bibliothek füllen die gesammelten Lecture Notes des Springer Verlags, die in den Jahren von 1964 bis 2000 von Albrecht Dold (1928 – 2011) herausgegeben wurden, mehrere Regalmeter.

Hinter dem Gebäude schließt sich ein Innenhof an, der im rückwertigen Teil einen überdachten Bereich für Fahrräder bietet. Er reicht mit breiten Treppenstufen bis ins Atrium hinunter und bietet so die Möglichkeit, den Innenhof als Kulisse und Bühne für Konzerte und ähnliches zu nutzen. Zwei Labore befinden sich ebenfalls im Untergeschoss.

Mathematikon Lounge

Eine Besonderheit der Raumaufteilung des Gebäudes besteht in der gemeinsamen Nutzung jedes Stockwerks durch die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik mit den Arbeitsgruppen des Interdisziplinären Zentrums für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen. Sie sind gegenständig und im Wechsel auf die westlichen und östlichen Flügel verteilt.

Vom Foyer aus gelangt man mit Aufzügen oder den Treppenhäusern in das erste Obergeschoss mit Dekanat und Sekretariaten der Fakultät. Auf jedem Stockwerk gibt es Aufenthaltsbereiche für die Studierenden, die gut angenommen werden. Besprechungsräume für Kleingruppen können jederzeit reserviert werden. Kleinere Seminarräume mit ungefähr 20 Sitzplätzen verteilen sich auf die oberen Stockwerke.

Im obersten Stockwerk befindet sich der Konferenzraum, der für repräsentative Zwecke und ebenfalls für Kolloquien und kleinere Konferenzen genutzt wird. Repräsentativ sind hier auch die Replik des Heidelberger Vaugondy-Globus von 1751 und ein metallenes Modell eines Sierpinski Tetraeders aufgestellt. Im östlichen Flügel liegt der Common-Room, über den man Zugang zur Dachterrasse erlangt, mit einem schönen Blick bis hin zum Heidelberger Schloss. Hier finden Promotionsfeiern, Konferenzdinner und Feierlichkeiten anderer Anlässe statt, die zwar angemeldet werden müssen, jedoch – und das ist eine weitere Besonderheit – kann der Raum nicht im Sinne einer geschlossenen Veranstaltung reserviert werden sondern steht allen Mitarbeitern des Gebäudes jederzeit offen.

Kunst am Bau

Mathematische Sammlung

Mathematische Sammlung

Die umfangreiche Sammlung des Mathematischen Instituts umfasst insgesamt 79 Objekte, davon 46 Gipsobjekte der Schilling-Serien. Die übrigen sind mehrheitlich Messing-, Karton-, Holz- oder Fadenmodelle. Ebenfalls gehört der Fakultät ein Gemälde von Adelheid Furtwängler, das Heinrich Liebmann (1874 – 1939, Dekan der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät und Rektor der Universität Heidelberg) darstellt.

Die Bronzeplakette von Leo Koenigsberger (1837 – 1921), die von seinen Schülern am ehemaligen Mathematischen Institut in der Hauptstraße angebracht war und lange als verschollen galt, befindet sich ebenfalls im Besitz des Instituts.

Die Sammlung ist derzeit verwaist, jedoch besteht die Planung einer öffentlichen Präsentation in den Räumlichkeiten der Fakultät.

Universitätssammlungen in Deutschland

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 27. Aug. 2021 um 19:26