BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Skulptur
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Machine Learning and Image Analysis

Machine Learning is the science of extracting knowledge from data and experience, and Image Analysis is one of its main applications. Deep learning – machine learning with large artificial neural networks – has recently enjoyed big successes in solving challenging real-world tasks such as natural language translation, automated game playing, and medical image analysis. Increasing the scope of deep learning and ensuring its trustworthiness are among the hottest topics in computer science and applied mathematics. To this end, current research asks how to automatically define good network architectures for a given problem, how to train well even when data is scarce, how to assess the reliability of the results, how to guarantee prediction performance mathematically, and how to explain the decisions of deep networks to humans.

Heidelberg University is among the leading institutions for machine learning and image analysis in Germany. Our research is characterized by its close relation to the natural and life sciences. We are also proud of our close connections to industry, which include the long-standing industry-on-campus project HCI and several AI-related start-ups originating from our groups. Many of our fundamental investigations are inspired by questions arising from our collaborators' applications, for example to establish new imaging modalities and to enable new analysis types in biology and medicine. Another focus lies on the design of reliable and interpretable machine learning methods that will eventually be equipped with empirical and mathematical performance guarantees. These efforts shall lay the foundations for machine learning to be trusted in safety-critical scenarios and to become a novel paradigm of scientific inquiry itself.

Machine Learning for Image Analysis

Image data abound in many fields, from autonomous driving to medical diagnosis. For the last decade, progress in image analysis has been defined by deep neural networks, which continuously raise the state-of-the-art in image classification, object segmentation and tracking. The figure illustrates a major success of this work: the nnU-Net, a segmentation architecture that can configure itself for a wide variety of tasks and was thus able to win dozens of official benchmark challenges without any manual finetuning for different problem settings. Other research projects address advanced diagnostic modalities for medicine, e.g. photo-acoustic imaging and diffusion-weighted magnetic resonance tomography, and the automated analysis of microscopic data, e.g. the classification and tracking of dividing cells in microscopic videos, but also the interpretation of complex real-world scenes in the context of computer vision. A central theme in all these efforts is interdisciplinary research: Many of our scientific questions are inspired by unsolved problems in medicine, biology, neuro science, physics, psychology and so forth, and our solutions are stress-tested in challenging applications from these fields.

Trustworthy Machine Learning

Despite all its successes, machine learning cannot yet be applied to safety-critical scenarios like autonomous driving and automated medical diagnosis, because there are no guarantees that deep networks work properly in all circumstances. The figure illustrates a common challenge, here resolved by one of our invertible neural networks: Many problems – for example, the colorization of a grayscale image – do not have a unique answer. Trustworthy networks must be able to recover the full diversity of possible solutions and provide reliable assessments of their plausibility, an ability known as uncertainty quantification. Another road we are pursuing is to place network architectures and training procedures on firm mathematical ground by investigating their relations to Bayesian statistics, information theory, geometry, and large-scale optimization. Moreover, we design new protocols for the experimental validation of machine learning results, new methods for the economic creation of ground-truth data for validation reference, and user-friendly software libraries for the easy reproduction and application of our findings in practice.

Research Groups and Principal Investigators

We welcome students that want to dig deeper into machine learning and its numerous applications. Our master and PhD programs teach you essential and advanced knowledge and skills to solve machine learning and image analysis problems on your own and to pursue successful carriers in both academia and industry. The following short profiles lead you to the different research groups and give more detailed information about our activities.

Prof. Dr. Christoph SchnörrImage & Pattern Analysis Group

Mathematical Image Analysis, Dynamical Systems for Machine Learning and Data Analysis, Continuous and Discrete Optimization

 
Prof. Dr. Christoph Schnörr
Both teaching and research focuses on mathematical foundations of image analysis and machine learning combining concepts from statistics, information and differential geometry, and numerical optimisation. Prof. Schnörr is PI in the DFG-funded priority programme SPP 2298 on the Theoretical Foundations of Deep Networks and member of the steering board of the Heidelberg cluster of excellence STRUCTURES.
Prof. Dr. Lena Maier-HeinDKFZ, Div. Computer Assisted Medical Interventions

New Imaging Modalities, Precision Medicine, Method Validation

 
Prof. Dr. Lena Maier-Hein
The mission of the Div. Computer Assisted Medical Interventions is to improve the quality of interventional healthcare in a data-driven manner. To this end, our multidisciplinary group builds upon principles and knowledge from a diversity of research fields including artificial intelligence (AI), statistics, computer vision, biophotonics and medicine. Committed to the ultimate goal of creating benefit for patients and medical staff, we aim to develop a holistic concept spanning the three significant topics perception, data interpretation and real-time assistance (see Fig. 1), and connecting them through a cycle of continuous learning: Novel spectral imaging techniques enabled by deep learning are being developed as safe, reliable and real-time imaging modalities during interventions. When interpreting the perceived data in the context of available knowledge, our division specifically addresses common roadblocks to clinical translation such as data sparsity, explainability and uncertainty handling. In close collaboration with clinical partners, these methods are leveraged for the development of context-aware interventional assistance systems. Finally, we place a strong focus on the reliable validation of AI algorithms for clinical purposes.
Prof. Dr. Klaus Maier-HeinDKFZ, Div. Medical Image Computing

Deep Learning and Biomedical Image Analysis, Precision Medicine, Semantic Segmentation, Object Detection, Unsupervised Learning, Probabilistic Modeling

 
Prof. Dr. Klaus Maier-Hein
The Division of Medical Image Computing (MIC) pioneers research in machine learning and information processing, with the particular aim of improving cancer patient care by systematic image data analytics. We structure and quantify imaging information from multiple time-points and imaging technologies, e.g. magnetic resonance imaging or computer tomography, and link it with clinical and biological parameters. As an initiator and co-coordinator of the Helmholtz Imaging Platform (HIP) we pursue cutting-edge developments at the core of computer science, with applications in but also beyond medicine. We are particularly interested in techniques for semantic segmentation and object detection as well as in unsupervised learning and probabilistic modeling. Methodologic excellence can only be achieved on the basis of a sophisticated research software system and infrastructure, for example to facilitate highly scalable data analysis in a federated setting. Our technological portfolio in this regard builds the foundation of various national and international clinical research networks, such as the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT), the German Cancer Consortium (DKTK) and the Cancer Core Europe (CCE). In collaboration with our clinical partners, we work on the direct translation of the latest machine learning advances into relevant clinical applications. Our vision is to advance the quality of healthcare through methodological advances in artificial intelligence research and their large-scale clinical implementation. We therefore have a particular interest in techniques that improve the applicability of data science in clinical settings, e.g. by providing more interpretable decision-making, by explicitly dealing with data uncertainty, by increasing the generalizability of algorithms or by learning more powerful representations. We further study image computing concepts that combine mathematical modelling approaches with current machine learning techniques. We are dedicated to open science and committed to maintaining several open source projects in order to share our advances with developers and the scientific community and to promote leveraging synergies.
Prof. Dr. Carsten Rother3D Computer Vision, Head of Computer Vision and Learning Lab

Computer Vision, 3D Reconstruction, Image Synthesis, Video Conferencing

 
Prof. Dr. Carsten Rother
Carsten Rother is head of the “Computer Vision and Learning Lab” and runs the “3D Computer Vision” group within the Lab. Computer Vision aims at extracting high-level information from images and videos, such reconstructing a 3-dimensional scene, detecting and tracking objects in video, or synthesis new images. In my group we focus on tasks that reasons about the 3-dimensional nature of the world that was captured. Examples are tracking of a dynamic face in 3D or inserting a 3D object into existing footage to generate additional training data for deep learning. To solve these tasks, we develop new Machine Learning methods, where oftentimes the best strategy is to bake in geometric knowledge and algorithms into new trainable neural networks. Besides the methodological aspects, I am also interested in developing solutions that are beneficial to society. One example is a novel solution for multi-party video conferencing where we collaborate with researchers from other disciplines, such Human-Computer Interaction. Towards this end, my group has a history of creating start-ups based on our research.
Prof. Dr. Ullrich KötheExplainable Machine Learning @ Computer Vision and Learning Lab

Invertible Neural Networks, Bayesian Inverse Problems, Explainable and Trustworthy Machine Learning, Feature Discovery

 
Prof. Dr. Ullrich Köthe
Ullrich Köthe heads the “Explainable Machine Learning” group in the Computer Vision and Learning Lab. The group's focuses on deep learning methodology that strives to establish machine learning as a new way to gain insight and create new knowledge in the sciences. Models that merely make somewhat accurate predictions in a blackbox manner are not good enough for this goal. He and his group thus investigate the design and theoretical foundations of novel network architectures and training algorithms, which provide reliable self-assessment of their uncertainty, emerge humanly interpretable latent representations and are robust against distribution shifts in the data. In particular, they utilize invertible neural networks as an especially promising approach to the efficient and well-founded probabilistic treatment of inverse problems and generative modeling. They demonstrated the utility of these solutions in numerous applications from physics and astronomy to computer vision, biology, and medicine. To achieve its goals, the group puts high emphasis on interdisciplinary work with other fields of science, and on the rapid dissemination of its results via reusable open-source software libraries.
Dr. Bogdan SavchynskyyOptimization for Machine Learning @ Computer Vision and Learning Lab

Large-scale discrete optimization, graphical models, assignment and tracking, learning in combinatorial problems

 
Bogdan Savchynskyy
We focus on large-scale combinatorial optimization problems with applications in computer vision and bio-informatics. "Combinatorial" means that the solution must be selected from a finite but exponentially growing set, as for example the set of all possible subsets of a given set, permutations or paths in a given graph. Most of such problems can be formulated in a common format of integer linear programs and solved by off-the-shelf software. "Large-scale" means that the size of the problems makes their solution with off-the-shelf methods inefficient or even practically impossible. Indeed, this is often the case in such applications as stereovision and image segmentation, estimation of object rotation and translation in space, as well as cell matching and tracking in microscopic images. We not only develop dedicated algorithms to optimize given combinatorial problems, but also learn problem parameters from training data. To this end we combine artificial neural networks with the most efficient combinatorial techniques.
PD Dr. Karl RohrBioQuant Center, Biomedical Computer Vision Group

Biomedical Image Analysis, Cell Microscopy and Medical Images, Deep Learning, Model-Based Methods

 
PD Dr. Karl Rohr
The Biomedical Computer Vision Group headed by Karl Rohr develops methods and algorithms for computer-based analysis of biological and medical images, in particular, cell microscopy images and medical tomographic images. The focus is on deep learning and model-based methods for segmentation, tracking, and image registration.
Prof. Dr. Stefan RiezlerStatistical Natural Language Processing Group

Machine Translation, Conversational AI, Statistical Methods

 
Prof. Dr. Stefan Riezler
The research of the statistical natural language processing group is at the intersection of machine learning and natural language processing. The complexity of natural language data presents a continued challenge for standard supervised learning techniques, thus requiring sophisticated machine learning methods that enable learning from ambiguous, noisy, and sparse natural language input. One focus of the group is on interactive machine learning, applied especially to the natural language processing problem of machine translation. Automatic translation of text and speech has made extraordinary progress in recent years, due to the ability to efficiently train highly expressive neural networks on large scale. However, the quality of machine translation output still does not meet professional standards and needs to involve human translators. One goal is making human interaction as effortless and easy as possible, for example, by leveraging weak human feedback in form of translation quality judgements instead of fully correct translations. The machine translation challenge is to extract a strong enough signal for learning from such ambiguous and noisy feed feedback signals, for example, by off-policy learning from deterministic interaction logs, reinforcement learning using reward estimators trained on human feedback, and self-supervised learning using new interaction modes such as error markings. The techniques for interactive sequence-to-sequence learning developed in our group are also important in other natural language applications such as conversational AI, or in machine learning of time series in medical informatics.
Prof. Dr. Stefania PetraMathematical Imaging Group

Mathematical Imaging, Convex Optimization, Learning by Assignment Flows, Sparse representations in Inverse Problems

 
Prof. Dr. Stefania Petra
The main research interests of our group lie in mathematical models and computational approaches for image analysis and machine learning using variational methods, numerical optimization and information geometry. Applications include imaging-based inverse problems in medicine and industry, like parameter estimation from ultrasound images, image classification and discrete tomography. Prof. Petra is PI in Informatics4Life. Our teaching focuses on mathematical aspects of modern image processing methods and convex and non-convex optimization. Special emphasis is given to the presentation of basic ideas and mathematical concepts.
Last updated on Oct 10, 2021 at 9:21 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mathematikon Skulptur
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Maschinelles Lernen und Bildverarbeitung

Maschinelles Lernen ist die Wissenschaft der Extraktion von Wissen aus Daten und Erfahrungen. Die Bildverarbeitung wiederum ist eine ihrer wichtigsten Anwendungen. Deep Learning, also maschinelles Lernen mit großen künstlichen neuronalen Netzen, hat in jüngster Zeit große Erfolge bei der Lösung anspruchsvoller realer Aufgaben wie der Übersetzung natürlicher Sprache, automatisierten Spieleprogrammen und der medizinischen Bildverarbeitung erzielt. Die Erweiterung des Anwendungsbereichs Deep Learning und die Gewährleistung seiner Vertrauenswürdigkeit gehören zu den hochaktuellen Themen in der Informatik und der angewandten Mathematik. Zu diesem Zweck wird derzeit erforscht, wie man automatisch gute Netzwerkarchitekturen für ein bestimmtes Problem definiert, wie man auch bei spärlichen Datenmengen gut lernen kann, wie man die Vertrauenswürdigkeit der Ergebnisse bewertet, wie man die Prognosegenauigkeit mathematisch garantieren kann und wie man dem Menschen die Entscheidungsprozesse von Deep Networks erklären kann.

Die Universität Heidelberg gehört zu den führenden Einrichtungen für maschinelles Lernen und Bildverarbeitung in Deutschland. Unsere Forschung zeichnet sich durch ihren engen Bezug zu den Natur- und Biowissenschaften aus. Wir sind außerdem stolz auf unsere engen Verbindungen zur Industrie, zu denen das langjährige Industry-on-Campus-Projekt HCI und mehrere KI-bezogene Start-ups gehören, die aus unseren Gruppen hervorgegangen sind. Viele unserer grundlegenden Forschungsarbeiten sind von Fragen inspiriert, die sich aus den Anwendungen unserer Mitarbeiter ergeben, z. B. zur Etablierung neuer Bildgebungsmodalitäten und zur Entwicklung neuer Analyseverfahren in Biologie und Medizin. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Entwicklung zuverlässiger und interpretierbarer maschineller Lernmethoden, die schließlich mit empirischen und mathematischen Leistungsgarantien versehen werden sollen. Diese Bemühungen sollen die Grundlagen dafür schaffen, dass dem maschinellen Lernen in kritischen Sicherheitsfragen vertraut werden kann und es selbst zu einem neuen Paradigma der wissenschaftlichen Forschung wird.

Maschinelles Lernen zur Bildverarbeitung

Bilddaten liegen in vielen Bereichen vor, angefangen beim autonomen Fahren bis hin zu medizinischen Diagnosen. In den letzten zehn Jahren wurden die Fortschritte in der Bildanalyse von tiefen neuronalen Netzen bestimmt, die den Stand der Technik bei der Bildklassifizierung, Objektsegmentierung und -verfolgung kontinuierlich verbessern. Die obenstehende Abbildung veranschaulicht einen entscheidenden Erfolg dieser Arbeit: das nnU-Net, eine Segmentierungsarchitektur, die sich selbst für eine Vielzahl von Aufgaben konfigurieren kann und daher Dutzende von offiziellen Benchmark-Wettbewerben ohne manuelle Feinabstimmung für verschiedene Problemstellungen gewinnen konnte. Andere Forschungsprojekte befassen sich unter anderem mit fortgeschrittenen Diagnosemodalitäten für die Medizin wie etwa der photoakustischen Bildgebung und der diffusionsgewichteten Magnetresonanztomographie. Auch die automatisierte Analyse mikroskopischer Daten wie etwa die Klassifizierung und Verfolgung von sich teilenden Zellen in mikroskopischen Videos, aber auch die Interpretation komplexer realer Szenen im Kontext der Computer Vision sind Gegenstand dieser Projekte. Ein zentrales Element bei all diesen Bemühungen ist die interdisziplinäre Forschung: Viele unserer wissenschaftlichen Fragen sind von ungelösten Problemen in der Medizin, Biologie, Neurowissenschaft, Physik, Psychologie usw. inspiriert, und unsere Lösungen werden in anspruchsvollen Anwendungen aus diesen Bereichen erprobt.

Zuverlässiges maschinelles Lernen

Trotz aller Erfolge kann das maschinelle Lernen noch nicht in sicherheitskritischen Szenarien wie dem autonomen Fahren und der automatisierten medizinischen Diagnose eingesetzt werden, da es keine Garantie dafür gibt, dass tiefe Netze unter allen Umständen richtig funktionieren. Die obige Abbildung veranschaulicht eine typische Herausforderung, die hier von einem unserer invertierbaren neuronalen Netze gelöst wurde: Für viele Probleme - zum Beispiel die Einfärbung eines Graustufenbildes - gibt es keine eindeutige Antwort. Zuverlässige Netze müssen in der Lage sein, die gesamte Vielfalt möglicher Lösungen zu erfassen und ihre Plausibilität zuverlässig zu bewerten. Diese Fähigkeit wird als Quantifizierung der Unsicherheit bezeichnet. Ein weiterer Weg, den wir verfolgen, besteht darin, Netzarchitekturen und Lernverfahren auf eine solide mathematische Grundlage zu stellen, indem wir ihre Beziehungen zur Bayes'schen Statistik, zur Informationstheorie, zur Geometrie und zur groß angelegten Optimierung untersuchen. Darüber hinaus entwerfen wir neue Protokolle zur experimentellen Validierung von maschinellen Lernergebnissen, neue Methoden zur ökonomischen Erzeugung von Ground-Truth-Daten als Validierungsreferenz und benutzerfreundliche Softwarebibliotheken zur einfachen Reproduktion und Anwendung unserer Ergebnisse in der Praxis.

Forschungsgruppen und Forschungsleiter:innen

Wir freuen uns über Studierende, die das maschinelle Lernen und seine zahlreichen Anwendungen tiefer ergründen wollen. Unsere Master- und Promotionsprogramme vermitteln Ihnen sowohl grundlegende als auch fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten, um Probleme des maschinellen Lernens und der Bildverarbeitung eigenständig zu lösen und erfolgreiche Karrieren in der Wissenschaft und der Industrie zu verfolgen. Die folgenden Kurzprofile führen Sie zu den verschiedenen Forschungsgruppen und geben nähere Informationen über unsere Tätigkeitsbereiche.

Prof. Dr. Christoph SchnörrImage & Pattern Analysis Group

Mathematische Bildverarbeitung, Dynamische Systeme für maschinelles Lernen und Datenanalyse, Kontinuierliche und diskrete Optimierung

 
Prof. Dr. Christoph Schnörr
Sowohl in der Lehre als auch in der Forschung beschäftigt er sich mit den mathematischen Grundlagen der Bildverarbeitung und des maschinellen Lernens und kombiniert dabei Konzepte aus der Statistik, der Informations- und Differentialgeometrie sowie der numerischen Optimierung. Prof. Schnörr ist Privatdozent im DFG-geförderten Schwerpunktprogramm SPP 2298 zu den theoretischen Grundlagen von tiefen Netzen und Mitglied des Vorstands des Heidelberger Exzellenzclusters STRUCTURES.
Prof. Dr. Lena Maier-HeinDKFZ, Div. Computer Assisted Medical Interventions

Neue Bildgebungsverfahren, Präzisionsmedizin, Methodenvalidierung

 
Prof. Dr. Lena Maier-Hein
Die Aufgabe der Division Computer Assisted Medical Interventions besteht darin, die Qualität der interventionellen Gesundheitsversorgung auf datengestützte Weise zu verbessern. Zu diesem Zweck stützt sich unsere multidisziplinäre Gruppe auf Prinzipien und Wissen aus einer Vielzahl von Forschungsbereichen, darunter künstliche Intelligenz (KI), Statistik, Computer Vision, Biophotonik und Medizin. Dem ultimativen Ziel verpflichtet, einen Nutzen für Patienten und medizinisches Personal zu schaffen, wollen wir ein ganzheitliches Konzept entwickeln, das die drei wesentlichen Themen Wahrnehmung, Dateninterpretation und Echtzeit-Assistenz umfasst und sie durch einen Prozess des kontinuierlichen Lernens verbindet: Neuartige spektrale Bildgebungsverfahren, die durch Deep Learning möglich sind, werden als sichere, zuverlässige und Echtzeit-Bildgebungsverfahren bei Eingriffen entwickelt. Bei der Interpretation der erfassten Daten im Kontext des verfügbaren Wissens befasst sich unsere Abteilung speziell mit typischen Hürden für die klinische Umsetzung, wie z. B. dem Mangel an verfügbaren Daten, der Erklärbarkeit und dem Umgang mit Unsicherheit. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit klinischen Partnern werden diese Methoden für die Entwicklung kontextbezogener Assistenzsysteme eingesetzt. Schließlich legen wir einen starken Fokus auf die zuverlässige Validierung von KI-Algorithmen für klinische Zwecke.
Prof. Dr. Klaus Maier-HeinDKFZ, Div. Medical Image Computing

End-to-End Deep Learning Architekturen, Diffusions-Tensor MRT Analyse, Fasertraktographie

 
Prof. Dr. Klaus Maier-Hein
End-to-End Deep Learning Architekturen: Aktuelle Ansätze der medizinischen Bildverarbeitung bestehen oft aus einer Reihe separater Verarbeitungsschritte wie Registrierung, Normalisierung, Segmentierung, Merkmalsextraktion und Klassifizierung. In diesem Projekt werden Techniken für die Integration dieser Komponenten in eine End-to-End Deep Learning-Architektur entwickelt. Dies ermöglicht die gleichzeitige Optimierung aller Komponenten im Hinblick auf die endgültige klinische Aufgabe (z. B. Krankheitsklassifizierung). Auf maschinellem Lernen basierende dMRT-Verarbeitung:  Dieses Projekt befasst sich mit der Verarbeitung, Analyse und Visualisierung von neurologischen Datensätzen mit Fokus auf die diffusionsgewichtete Magnetresonanztomographie (dMRT). Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Entwicklung und Implementierung neuer Methoden zur Segmentierung bzw. Traktographie von Bahnen der weißen Materie sowie die Segmentierung und Modellierung von Gewebe. Neben den klassischen Methoden, die in diesem Bereich eingesetzt werden, untersuchen wir den Einsatz von maschinellem Lernen im Kontext der diffusionsgewichteten Bildverarbeitung. Validierung der Fasertraktographie: Die quantitative Auswertung der Fasertraktographie ist eine seit langem bekannte Herausforderung für das Fachgebiet, die eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für eine breite Anwendung und sinnvolle Interpretation des Ansatzes darstellt. In diesem Projekt entwickeln wir sowohl phantombasierte als auch in-vivo-Methoden, um diese Herausforderung anzugehen und Traktographieergebnisse in groß angelegten Evaluationsstudien und internationalen Herausforderungen zu validieren.
Prof. Dr. Carsten Rother3D Computer Vision, Head of Computer Vision and Learning Lab

Computer Vision, 3D-Rekonstruktion, Bildsynthese, Videokonferenzen

 
Prof. Dr. Carsten Rother
Carsten Rother ist Leiter des Computer Vision and Learning Lab und leitet innerhalb des Labors die Gruppe 3D Computer Vision. Computer Vision zielt darauf ab, Informationen auf hoher Ebene aus Bildern und Videos zu extrahieren, beispielsweise eine dreidimensionale Szene zu rekonstruieren, Objekte in Videos zu erkennen und zu verfolgen oder neue Bilder zu synthetisieren. In meiner Gruppe konzentrieren wir uns auf Aufgaben, die Rückschlüsse auf die 3-dimensionale Natur der aufgenommenen Welt zulassen. Beispiele sind die Verfolgung eines dynamischen Gesichts in 3D oder das Einfügen eines 3D-Objekts in vorhandenes Filmmaterial, um zusätzliche Trainingsdaten für Deep Learning zu generieren. Um diese Aufgaben zu lösen, entwickeln wir neue Methoden des maschinellen Lernens, wobei die beste Strategie oft darin besteht, geometrisches Wissen und Algorithmen in neue trainierbare neuronale Netze einzubauen. Neben den methodischen Aspekten bin ich auch daran interessiert, Lösungen zu entwickeln, die für die Gesellschaft von Nutzen sind. Ein Beispiel ist eine neuartige Lösung für Videokonferenzen mit mehreren Teilnehmern, bei der wir mit Forschern aus anderen Disziplinen wie der Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Computer zusammenarbeiten. Zu diesem Zweck hat meine Gruppe in der Vergangenheit auf der Grundlage unserer Forschung Start-ups gegründet.
Prof. Dr. Ullrich KötheExplainable Machine Learning @ Computer Vision and Learning Lab

Invertierbare neuronale Netze, Bayessche inverse Probleme, erklärbares und zuverlässiges maschinelles Lernen, Entdeckung von Merkmalen

 
Prof. Dr. Ullrich Köthe
Ullrich Köthe leitet die Gruppe Explainable Machine Learning im Computer Vision and Learning Lab. Die Gruppe konzentriert sich auf Deep-Learning-Methoden, die das maschinelle Lernen als neuen Weg zur Gewinnung von Erkenntnissen und zur Schaffung neuen Wissens in den Wissenschaften etablieren sollen. Modelle, die lediglich einigermaßen genaue Vorhersagen in einer Blackbox-Manier machen, sind für dieses Ziel nicht gut genug. Er und seine Gruppe untersuchen daher das Design und die theoretischen Grundlagen neuartiger Netzwerkarchitekturen und Trainingsalgorithmen, die eine zuverlässige Selbsteinschätzung ihrer Unsicherheit bieten, menschlich interpretierbare latente Repräsentationen hervorbringen und robust gegenüber Verteilungsänderungen in den Daten sind. Insbesondere nutzen sie invertierbare neuronale Netze als einen besonders vielversprechenden Ansatz zur effizienten und fundierten probabilistischen Behandlung von inversen Problemen und generativer Modellierung. Sie haben den Nutzen dieser Lösungen in zahlreichen Anwendungen von der Physik und Astronomie bis hin zu Computer Vision, Biologie und Medizin demonstriert. Um ihre Ziele zu erreichen, legt die Gruppe großen Wert auf interdisziplinäre Arbeit mit anderen Wissenschaftsbereichen und auf die schnelle Verbreitung ihrer Ergebnisse über wiederverwendbare Open-Source-Softwarebibliotheken.
Dr. Bogdan SavchynskyyOptimization for Machine Learning @ Computer Vision and Learning Lab

Diskrete Optimierung in großem Maßstab, grafische Modelle, Verteilung und Verfolgung, Lernprozesse bei kombinatorischen Problemen

 
Bogdan Savchynskyy
Wir konzentrieren uns auf große kombinatorische Optimierungsprobleme mit Anwendungen in den Bereichen Computer Vision und Bioinformatik. Kombinatorisch bedeutet, dass die Lösung aus einer endlichen, aber exponentiell wachsenden Menge ausgewählt werden muss, z. B. aus der Menge aller möglichen Untermengen einer gegebenen Menge, Permutationen oder Pfaden in einem gegebenen Graphen. Die meisten dieser Probleme lassen sich in einem gängigen Format ganzzahliger linearer Programme formulieren und mit handelsüblicher Software lösen. Groß bedeutet, dass die Größe der Probleme ihre Lösung mit Standardmethoden ineffizient oder sogar praktisch unmöglich macht. Dies ist häufig der Fall bei Anwendungen wie Stereovision und Bildsegmentierung, Schätzung von Objektrotation und -translation im Raum sowie Zellabgleich und -verfolgung in mikroskopischen Bildern. Wir entwickeln nicht nur spezielle Algorithmen zur Optimierung gegebener kombinatorischer Probleme, sondern erlernen auch Problemparameter aus Trainingsdaten. Zu diesem Zweck kombinieren wir künstliche neuronale Netze mit den effizientesten kombinatorischen Techniken.
PD Dr. Karl RohrBioQuant Center, IPMB, Biomedical Computer Vision Group

Biomedizinische Bildanalyse, Zellmikroskopie und medizinische Bilder, Deep Learning, modellbasierte Methoden

 
PD Dr. Karl Rohr
Die Biomedical Computer Vision Group unter der Leitung von Karl Rohr entwickelt Methoden und Algorithmen für die computergestützte Analyse von biologischen und medizinischen Bildern, insbesondere Zellmikroskopie-Bilder und medizinische Tomographie-Bilder. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf Deep Learning und modellbasierten Methoden zur Segmentierung, Verfolgung und Bildregistrierung.
Prof. Dr. Stefan RiezlerStatistical Natural Language Processing Group

Maschinelle Übersetzung, konversationelle KI, statistische Methoden

 
Prof. Dr. Stefan Riezler
Die Forschungsarbeiten der Gruppe Statistical Natural Language Processing liegen an der Schnittstelle zwischen maschinellem Lernen und der Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache. Die Komplexität natürlichsprachlicher Daten stellt eine ständige Herausforderung für standardmäßige überwachte Lernverfahren dar und erfordert daher hochentwickelte maschinelle Lernmethoden, die das Lernen aus mehrdeutigem, verrauschtem und spärlichen natürlichsprachlichem Input ermöglichen. Ein Fokus der Gruppe liegt auf dem interaktiven maschinellen Lernen, das insbesondere auf das Problem der maschinellen Übersetzung von natürlicher Sprache angewendet wird. Die automatische Übersetzung von Text und Sprache hat in den letzten Jahren außerordentliche Fortschritte gemacht, da es möglich ist, hochexpressive neuronale Netze in großem Maßstab effizient zu trainieren. Die Qualität der maschinellen Übersetzung entspricht jedoch immer noch nicht den professionellen Standards und erfordert die Einbeziehung menschlicher Übersetzer. Ein Ziel ist es, die menschliche Interaktion so mühelos und einfach wie möglich zu gestalten, z. B. indem schwaches menschliches Feedback in Form von Bewertungen der Übersetzungsqualität anstelle von vollständig korrekten Übersetzungen verwendet wird. Die Herausforderung für die maschinelle Übersetzung besteht darin, aus solchen mehrdeutigen und verrauschten Feedbacksignalen ein ausreichend starkes Signal für das Lernen zu extrahieren, z. B. durch Off-Policy-Lernen aus deterministischen Interaktionsprotokollen, Verstärkungslernen unter Verwendung von Belohnungsschätzern, die auf menschliches Feedback trainiert wurden, und selbstüberwachtes Lernen unter Verwendung neuer Interaktionsmodi wie beispielsweise Fehlermarkierungen. Die in unserer Gruppe entwickelten Techniken für interaktives Sequence-to-Sequence-Lernen sind auch für andere natürlichsprachliche Anwendungen, wie z. B. konversationelle KI, oder für das maschinelle Lernen von Zeitreihen in der medizinischen Informatik von Bedeutung.
Prof. Dr. Stefania PetraMathematical Imaging Group

Mathematische Bildgebung, konvexe Optimierung, Lernen durch Assignment Flows, spärliche Darstellungen bei inversen Problemen

 
Prof. Dr. Stefania Petra
Die zentralen Forschungsinteressen unserer Gruppe liegen in mathematischen Modellen und Berechnungsansätzen für Bildverarbeitung und maschinelles Lernen unter Verwendung von Variationsmethoden, numerischer Optimierung und Informationsgeometrie. Zu den Anwendungen gehören bildbasierte inverse Probleme in Medizin und Industrie, wie z.B. Parameterschätzung aus Ultraschallbildern, Bildklassifikation und diskrete Tomographie. Prof. Petra ist Privatdozentin bei Informatics4Life. Unsere Lehre konzentriert sich auf mathematische Aspekte moderner Bildverarbeitungsmethoden und konvexer und nicht-konvexer Optimierung. Besonderer Wert wird auf die Darstellung grundlegender Ideen und mathematischer Konzepte gelegt.
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 18. Nov. 2021 um 13:35