BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Server
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Software Systems and Engineering

Software Systems and Engineering focuses on the structure, behavior and quality of complex IT-systems in diverse contexts as well as on the development, operation and usage of these systems.

In Heidelberg, we focus on the qualities IT-security, reliability, maintainability and usability. For IT-security we develop methods for modelling and evaluation of attacks in order to develop countermeasures, in particular security models, cryptography, access measures, digital identities, penetration tests. For maintainability and usability, we develop methods for requirements engineering and rationale management to ensure high-quality software engineering processes over the whole product-lifecycle. Furthermore, we focus on parallel and distributed systems in terms of scalable data analysis, AI-based methods for programming support, and software reliability.

Current Activities and Projects

  • ConDec: The ConDec tools support the continuous management of decision knowledge. They provide features and views for documenting and exploiting decision knowledge in the context of software artifacts, in particular requirements and code, and integrate into the workflows of agile software development.
  • SmartAge: This interdisciplinary project equips 1000 older adults with hard- and software to support quality of life and studies their effects. In particular, we study how to elicit, analyze and exploit implicit and explicit user feedback.
  • NLDSL: The NLDSL project addresses accelerated implementation of Domain Specific Languages (DSLs), in particular for scalable data analysis. An exemplary result is a Visual Studio Code extension which supports 5000+ users worldwide with DSLs for simplified programming with Pandas, Apache Spark,  or Tensorflow.

Research Group Leaders

Prof. Dr. Artur AndrzejakParallel and Distributed Systems Group (PVS)

Institute for Computer Science

Artificial Intelligence for Programming; Scalable Data Analysis; Reliability of Software Systems

 
Prof. Dr. Artur Andrzejak
Prof. Dr. Vincent HeuvelineEngineering Mathematics and Computing Lab (EMCL)

Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR)

Uncertainty quantification, data intensive computing, medical engineering

 
Prof. Dr. Vincent Heuveline
Prof. Dr. Barbara PaechSoftware Engineering Group

Institute for Computer Science

Rationale Management, Requirements Engineering

 
Prof. Dr. Barbara Paech
Last updated on Sep 2, 2021 at 12:54 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Server
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Software Systeme und Engineering

Im Fokus von Software Systeme und Engineering stehen die Struktur, das Verhalten, die Qualität komplexer IT-Systeme in unterschiedlichen Kontexten sowie Entwicklung, Betrieb und Nutzung dieser Systeme.

Der Schwerpunkt in Heidelberg sind die Qualitäten IT-Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit, Wartbarkeit und Gebrauchstauglichkeit. Im Bereich IT-Sicherheit entwickeln wir Methoden zur Modellierung and Evaluierung von Angriffen, die die Entwicklung von Gegenmaßnahmen unterstützen, z. B. Sicherheitmodelle, Kryptografie, Zugangsmechanismen, digitale Identitäten oder Penetrationstests. Im Bereich Wartbarkeit und Gebrauchstauglichkeit entwickeln wir Methoden des Requirements engineering  und des Rationale management um qualitativ hochwertige Software Engineering Prozesse über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklen zu gewährleisten. Weiterhin fokussieren wir auf parallel und verteilte Systems im Bezug auf skalierbare Datenanalyse, KI-basierte Methoden zur Unterstützung der Programmierung sowie Softwarezuverlässigkeit.

Aktuelle Themen und Projekte

  • ConDec: ConDec unterstützt die durchgängige Verwaltung von Entscheidungswissen. Das Werkzeug stellt Features and Ansichten zur Verfügung zur Dokumentation und Nutzung des Entschedungswissen zusammen mit Softwareartfakten, wie Anforderungen und Code. Es ist angepasst an die Prozess der agilen Softwareentwicklung.
  • SmartAge: Im Rahmen dieses interdisziplinären Projekts werden 1000 ältere Menschen mit Hardware und Software ausgestattet, um die Lebensqualität zu erhöhen. Das Projekt untersucht die Effekte im Detail, und auch, wie explizites und implizites Nutzungsfeedback stimuliert, analysiert und genutzt werden kann.
  • NLDSL: Das NLDSL Projekt addressiert die schnelle Implementierung von Domänenspezifischen Sprachen (DSLs), insbesondere zur skalierbaren Datenanalyse. Zum Beispiel wurde eine Visual Studio Codeerweiterung  implementiert, die 5000+ Nutzer:innen in der ganzen Welt DSLs zur vereinfachten Programmierung mit Pandas, Apache Spark, oder Tensorflow bereitstellt.

Forschungsgruppenleiter

Prof. Dr. Artur AndrzejakParallel and Distributed Systems Gruppe (PVS)

Institut für Informatik

Künstliche Intelligenz für Programmierung; Skalierbare Datenanalyse; Zuverlässigkeit von Softwaresystemen

 
Prof. Dr. Artur Andrzejak
Prof. Dr. Vincent HeuvelineEngineering Mathematics and Computing Lab (EMCL)

Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für wissenschaftliches Rechnen

Quantifizierung von Unsicherheiten, datenintensives Rechnen, Medizintechnik

 
Prof. Dr. Vincent Heuveline
Prof. Dr. Barbara PaechSoftware Engineering Gruppe

Institut für Informatik

Rationale Management, Anforderungsmanagement

 
Prof. Dr. Barbara Paech
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 2. Sep. 2021 um 12:54