BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Young Students in Classroom
Mathematics and Computer Science — Outreach

Day of Mathematics

An exciting mix of competitions, lectures and interactive activities awaits local school students interested in mathematics at the annual "Day of Mathematics".

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science offers a wide range of diverse offerings for interested students as well as for motivated teachers. These offers can provide an insight into university research and everyday university life and also serve to create and maintain connections between school and university students.

The Day of Mathematics at Heidelberg University

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science has hosted the "Day of Mathematics" in cooperation with the Heidelberg University of Education since 2008. Local schools can participate in this event by pre-registering teams of up to 5 students each from the lower, middle, and upper grades. Students from these three levels will be offered a diversified program tailored to their needs. In the morning, the students can look forward to an exciting mix of university lectures.

The last couple of Days of Mathematics featured, among other things, the following lectures:

  • "What does Santa Claus do in the summer? Euler graphs in house construction"
  • "Coding theory and linear codes"
  • "Concrete Art and Mathematics - Visualizing and Interpreting"
  • "From Straight Line Equations to Integer Linear Programs"

The Competition

The program for the "Day of Mathematics" also includes a competition. Here, tasks have to be completed in teamwork that require creative solutions. The solutions submitted are being checked during the course of the day so the winners can be announced in the afternoon. The winners will receive exciting prizes - in the past, for example, the winners have been awarded group trips to the Mathematikum in Giessen or to other interesting destinations.

Mathematics for everyone

In the afternoon, the younger students will engage in mathematical crafts, such as the construction of platonic solids. For middle school students, there is a mathematics course that includes numerous hands-on and interactive exhibits that will allow them to experience problems from many different areas of pure and applied mathematics. Senior students will gain insight into the study program mathematics at the faculty, provided by university students. They will also have the opportunity to engage in a discussion and ask their questions. To the accompanying teachers, the "Day of Mathematics" is an opportunity to chat with representatives of the university as well as their colleagues from around the region. This even has its own time slot in the program. Over the past decade, the "Day of Mathematics" has evolved into a well-established and very popular event in the Rhine-Neckar region.

Dr. Denis VogelPerson of contact for school related inquiries

vogel@mathi.uni-heidelberg.de

 
Dr. Denis Vogel
Last updated on Sep 19, 2021 at 2:39 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Young Students in Classroom
Mathematik und Informatik — Outreach

Tag der Mathematik

Ein attraktiver Mix aus Wettbewerben, Vorträgen und interaktiven Angeboten erwartet die mathematikinteressierten Schülerinnen und Schüler der Region jährlich beim „Tag der Mathematik“.

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik bietet für interessierte Schülerinnen und Schüler und ebenso für interessierte Lehrerinnen und Lehrer ein breites Spektrum an vielfältigen Angeboten an. Die Angebote können einen Einblick in die universitäre Forschung und den universitären Alltag geben und dienen ebenso der Etablierung und Pflege von Kontakten zwischen Akteuren im schulischen und im universitären Umfeld. 

Der Tag der Mathematik an der Universität Heidelberg

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik veranstaltet seit dem Jahr 2008 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg den „Tag der Mathematik“. Die Schulen der Region können hieran nach Voranmeldung mit Teams von bis zu jeweils 5 Schülern aus Unter-, Mittel und Oberstufe daran teilnehmen. Schülerinnen und Schüler aus diesen drei Stufen erhalten ein vielfältiges, jeweils auf sie zugeschnittenes Programm geboten. Ein attraktiver Mix aus Vorträgen erwartet die Schülerinnen und Schüler am Vormittag.

Im Programm der letzten Tage der Mathematik fanden sich unter anderem folgende Vorträge:

  • „Was macht der Nikolaus im Sommer? Euler-Graphen im Hausbau“
  • „Codierungstheorie und Lineare Codes“
  • „Konkrete Kunst und Mathematik - Visualisieren und Interpretieren“
  • „Von der Geradengleichung zum ganzzahlig-linearen Programm“

Der Mathematik-Wettbewerb

Der „Tag der Mathematik“ beinhaltet auch einen Wettbewerb. Hierbei müssen in Teamarbeit Aufgaben bewältigt werden, die kreative Lösungsansätze erfordern. Die abgegebenen Lösungen werden noch im Tagesverlauf korrigiert, so dass am Nachmittag die Siegerinnen und Sieger gekürt werden können. Diese können sich über attraktive Preise freuen – in der Vergangenheit wurden etwa Gruppenreisen ins Mathematikum nach Gießen oder zu anderen interessanten Destinationen als Preise vergeben.

Mathematik für Klein und Groß

Am Nachmittag beschäftigen sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler der Unterstufe mit mathematischen Basteleien, zum Beispiel der Konstruktion platonischer Körper. Für die Mittelstufe gibt es einen Mathematik-Parcours, welcher zahlreiche Exponate zum Anfassen und Interagieren beinhaltet, die Probleme aus vielen verschiedenen Bereiche der reinen und der angewandten Mathematik erlebbar lassen werden. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler der Oberstufe erhalten von Studierenden der Fakultät einen Einblick ins Mathestudium und können in einer Diskussion ihre Fragen einbringen. Für die begleitenden Lehrkräfte stellt der „Tag der Mathematik“ eine Möglichkeit dar, mit Vertretern der Universität und auch ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus der Region ins Gespräch zu kommen, hierfür gibt es einen eigenen Programmpunkt. Der „Tag der Mathematik“ hat sich im letzten Jahrzehnt zu einer etablierten und sehr populären Veranstaltung in der Rhein-Neckar-Region entwickelt.

Dr. Denis VogelAnsprechpartner Schulen

Mail: schulen.mathematik@mathinf.uni-heidelberg.de

 
Dr. Denis Vogel
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 3. März 2022 um 15:42