BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Data Analysis
Mathematics and Computer Science — Research

Data Analysis

Driven by continual advancements in sensor technology, experimentation, and simulation, we are witnessing an explosion in the amount and complexity of data being collected in various application domains. While already the management itself of such “big data” is a challenge, robust and efficient methods to analyze and explore such data is one of today’s key research and development areas, aimed at obtaining insights and through this driving innovations and business models.

The development and application of data analysis and exploration methods is typically closely tied to the application domain in which the data are generated and used. In Heidelberg, this takes place in a rich interdisciplinary setting, where research groups from different disciplines, ranging from the natural sciences, such as medicine, biology, and physics, to the social sciences and humanities, are collaborating with members of our research groups. The focus in these collaborations for the data analysis group is primarily in the areas of visual data analysis and text analysis.

Text Analysis and Exploration

It is estimated that 80% of the data in businesses are present in the form of text data, primarily  as PDF files, Word documents, Web pages, and plain text files. Such unstructured data are often accompanied with structured data, e.g., spreadsheets, tables in databases or numerical data in some data management system, leading to intricate and latent linkages among heterogeneous forms of data. Extracting information from these data lakes satisfying some information needs and presenting results to users in a comprehensive and understandable way remains a difficult problem, given the complexity and heterogeneity of unstructured data. To address these challenges, we develop novel approaches that range from advanced information retrieval techniques to information extraction and linkage approaches that support text analysis tasks such as dynamic topic detection, text clustering, and classification, leading to more advanced approaches such as text summarization and generation. Respective research and development activities, which are typically conducted in collaborative research projects, employ traditional machine learning techniques as well as novel approaches developed in deep learning and natural language processing, respectively.

Data Management

Large-scale data analysis tasks typically rely on efficient and scalable data management infrastructures. In our research and development, we almost always make use of hybrid system infrastructures that combine traditional relational database management systems for structured data with systems that offer efficient access to unstructured data, in particular text data. This includes systems for graph data (e.g., to manage information networks) and systems to manage and query large text corpora, on top of which novel information retrieval and exploration approaches are realized, for example, for the construction and visualization of dynamic information networks. A particular challenge is the real-time processing of text data streams, resulting from, e.g., streams of social media postings or online news articles. In such settings, efficient NLP techniques are key for downstream text analysis tasks such as topic or trend detection.

Visual Data Analysis

Knowledge acquisition from large and complex data faces various challenges, necessitating integrated approaches. On the one hand, the data have to be transformed and reduced to their “essential structure” with respect to a (varying) research question. On the other hand, this structure has to be made available for reasoning. Since the human visual system is the perceptual channel with highest bandwidth, visual representation and interactive exploration have become primary tools in data analysis. Visualization research addresses this data transformation and (re-)presentation, and nowadays splits into three subdisciplines: Information visualization focuses on the analysis of discrete data, which typically involves discrete visual representations such as graphs. Scientific visualization, on the other hand, focuses on continuous data, and typically leads to continuous representations such as streamlines of a flow field. Finally, visual analytics focuses on interaction and human-in-the-loop aspects, which are particularly useful for the analysis of “big data”. We conduct basic research in all these areas, often in an interdisciplinary context, and always include a focus on the application of the achieved techniques and concepts. Recently, our research interest is extending to the analysis of continuous data in higher dimensions, to the analysis of scientific computing techniques that are used to simulate data, and to the understanding of mathematical structures.

Research Group Leaders

Prof. Dr. Michael GertzDatabase Systems Research Group

Institute for Computer Science

Data Science, Text Analysis, Natural Language Processing, Network Analysis, Data Management

 
Prof. Dr. Michael Gertz
Dr. Susanne KrömkerVisualization and Numerical Geometry Group

Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR)

Geometry, Visualization, Digital Humanities

 
Dr. Susanne Krömker
Prof. Dr. Filip SadloVisual Computing Group

Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR)

Visual Data Science, Visualization, Feature Extraction, Dynamical Systems

 
Avatar
Last updated on Sep 28, 2021 at 11:09 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Data Analysis
Mathematik und Informatik — Forschung

Datenanalyse

Durch kontinuierliche Fortschritte in der Sensortechnologie sowie bei der Instrumentierung von Experimenten und Simulationen erleben wir einen enormen Anstieg der Menge und Komplexität der in verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen gesammelten Daten. Während bereits das Management solcher „Big Data“ oft eine Herausforderung darstellt, sind robuste und effiziente Methoden zur Analyse und Exploration solcher Daten heute einer der zentralen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereiche, die darauf abzielen, neue Erkenntnisse aus Daten zu gewinnen und dadurch Innovationen und Geschäftsmodelle voranzutreiben.

Die Entwicklung und Anwendung von Datenanalyse- und Explorationsmethoden ist typischerweise eng mit der Anwendungsdomäne verbunden, in der die Daten erzeugt und verwendet werden. In Heidelberg findet dies in einem stark interdisziplinären Umfeld statt, in dem Forschungsgruppen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen – von den Naturwissenschaften wie Medizin, Biologie und Physik bis hin zu den Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften – mit Mitgliedern unserer Forschungsgruppen zusammenarbeiten. Der Fokus dieser Kooperationen für die Gruppe Datenanalyse liegt vor allem in den Bereichen der visuellen Datenanalyse und der Textanalyse.

Analyse und Exploration von Textdaten

Es wird geschätzt, dass 80% der Daten in Unternehmen in Form von Textdaten vorliegen, hauptsächlich als PDF-Dateien, Word-Dokumente, Webseiten oder reine Textdateien. Solche unstrukturierte Daten werden oft von strukturierten Daten begleitet, z.B. Spreadsheets, Tabellen in Datenbanken oder numerische Daten in Datenverwaltungssystemen, was zu komplizierten und latenten Verknüpfungen zwischen heterogenen Daten führt. Angesichts der Komplexität und Heterogenität solch unstrukturierter Daten ist es ein nicht triviales Problem, Informationen aus diesen „Data Lakes“ zu extrahieren, die den Bedürfnisse von NutzerInnen und Anwendungen genügen und Ergebnisse umfassend und auf verständliche Weise präsentieren. Um diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, entwickeln wir neuartige Ansätze, die von fortgeschrittenen Information Retrieval Methoden bis hin zu Informationsextraktions- und Verknüpfungsansätzen reichen. Diese Methoden unterstützen verschiedene Formen der Textanalyse wie die Erkennung von zeitlich veränderlichen Themen in Dokumenten, das Clustering und die Klassifikation von Texten bis hin zu neuen Methoden der Textzusammenfassung und Generierung von Texten. Entsprechende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten, die typischerweise in interdisziplinären Projekten durchgeführt werden, verwenden hierbei sowohl traditionelle maschinelle Lernverfahren als auch neuartige Ansätze, die im in den Bereichen Deep Learning und Natural Language Processing angesiedelt sind.

Datenmanagement

Umfangreiche Workflows zur Datenanalyse sind in der Regel auf effiziente und skalierbare Infrastrukturen für das Datenmanagement angewiesen. In unserer Forschung und Entwicklung verwenden wir hierzu zumeist hybride Systeminfrastrukturen, die klassische relationale Datenbankmanagementsysteme für strukturierte Daten mit Systemen kombinieren, die einen effizienten Zugriff auf unstrukturierte Daten, insbesondere Textdaten, erlauben. Dazu gehören Systeme für Graphdaten (z. B. zur Verwaltung von Netzwerken) sowie Systeme zur Verwaltung und Abfrage großer Textkorpora. Darüber hinaus werden neuartige Ansätze für das Information Retrieval und Datenexploration realisiert, beispielsweise für den Aufbau und die Visualisierung dynamischer Informationsnetzwerke. Eine besondere Herausforderung ist die Echtzeitverarbeitung von Textdatenströmen, die beispielsweise aus Social-Media-Postings oder Online-Nachrichtenbeiträgen resultieren. In solchen Situationen sind effiziente NLP-Techniken der Schlüssel für nachgelagerte Methoden der Textanalyse wie z.B. die Erkennung von Themen oder Trends in Texten.

Visuelle Datenanalyse

Die Wissensgewinnung aus großen und komplexen Daten steht vor verschiedenen Herausforderungen, die integrierte Ansätze erfordern. Zum einen müssen die Daten transformiert und auf ihre „wesentliche Struktur“ in Bezug auf eine (variierende) Forschungsfrage reduziert werden. Zum anderen muss diese Struktur für Schlussfolgerungen erschlossen werden. Da das menschliche Sehvermögen der Wahrnehmungskanal mit der größten Bandbreite ist, sind visuelle Repräsentation und interaktive Exploration die primären Methoden der Datenanalyse geworden. Die Visualisierungsforschung befasst sich mit dieser Datentransformation und (Re-)Präsentation und ist heute in drei Teildisziplinen untergliedert: Die Informationsvisualisierung konzentriert sich auf die Analyse von diskreten Daten, was typischerweise zu diskreten visuellen Darstellungen wie beispielsweise Graphen führt. Die wissenschaftliche Visualisierung hingegen konzentriert sich auf kontinuierliche Daten und führt typischerweise zu kontinuierlichen Darstellungen wie Stromlinien eines Strömungsfeldes. Die visuelle Analytik wiederum befasst sich mit Interaktion und Human-in-the-Loop-Auszeichnungen, die für die Analyse von „Big Data“ besonders nützlich sind. In all diesen Bereichen betreiben wir Grundlagenforschung - oft in einem interdisziplinären Kontext - und legen dabei stets den Schwerpunkt auf die Anwendung der erzielten Verfahren und Konzepte. In letzter Zeit haben wir unser Forschungsinteresse auf die Analyse kontinuierlicher Daten in höheren Dimensionen, auf die Analyse wissenschaftlicher Rechentechniken, die zur Simulation von Daten verwendet werden, und auf das Verständnis mathematischer Strukturen ausgedehnt.

Forschungsgruppenleiter:innen

Prof. Dr. Michael GertzDatabase Systems Research AG

Institut für Informatik

Data Science, Textanalyse, Natural Language Processing, Netzwerkanalyse, Datenmanagement

 
Prof. Dr. Michael Gertz
Dr. Susanne KrömkerVisualization and Numerical Geometry AG

Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für wissenschaftliches Rechnen (IWR)

Geometrie, Visualisierung, Digital Humanities

 
Dr. Susanne Krömker
Prof. Dr. Filip SadloVisual Computing AG

Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für wissenschaftliches Rechnen (IWR)

Visual Data Science, Visualisierung, Merkmalsextraktion, Dynamische Systeme

 
Prof. Dr. Filip Sadlo
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 22. Dez. 2021 um 09:59