BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Mountain in Fog
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

The Faculty

The faculty is the basic organizational unit of the university and assumes the mission of the university in its respective domain. This includes research, teaching, studies, training of the next generation of academics, and academic self-governance.

Members of our faculty include

  • University professors working principally in the fields of mathematics and computer science,
  • co-opted members of other faculties,
  • students enrolled in a course of study offered by the faculty,
  • Doctoral candidates accepted at the faculty,
  • scientific and other staff employed at the faculty or affiliated institutions

At a glance

Mathematikon Treppe

As of Summer 2021, the academic staff of the faculty comprises 33 full-time professorial members, 6 junior professors (with or without tenure-track), 6 permanent senior lecturers, and around 60 junior scientists employed at its three departments and neighboring institutions.

The student body of around 2000 members is distributed roughly 2:1 between mathematics and computer science, and 3:2:1 between Bachelor 100%, Bachelor 50%, and Master programs (including Master of Education). There are 154 doctoral candidates.

All important decisions are made by the Grand Faculty Council, comprising all full-time Professors (including Junior Professors) as well as elected representatives of other constituencies. The faculty board is chaired by the Dean of the faculty and includes the Vice-dean, two Deans of Studies (Mathematics and Computer Science) and the Managing Directors of the three departments of the faculty. The day-to-day affairs are managed at the Dean's office.

The departments of the faculty are

  • The Mathematical Institute (since 1913)
  • The Institute for Applied Mathematics (founded 1957)
  • The Institute for Computer Science (founded 2001)

Heidelberg University's traditional strengths and special characteristics in Mathematics and Computer Science include

  • a broad research program reaching from algebra and theoretical computer science via statistics and geometry to numerical data analysis and computer engineering,
  • research oriented teaching and application oriented research,
  • a basic training of students emphasizing theoretical foundations and applications in both fields,
  • interdisciplinary collaboration with neighboring faculties,
  • a spread-out and very diverse department of computer science,
  • close proximity and intertwinement with central and external research institutions, and especially the Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR),
  • a first-class research environment embedded in the Rhein-Neckar metropolitan region with a high quality of life in the immediate vicinity of the Geo-Naturepark Bergstrasse-Odenwald.

Research and Teaching

Coffee Machine

The training of students at the faculty is strongly research-oriented. The research activities are characterized by a high level of third-party funding. Major grants include, in pure mathematics, the research units Topology and Non-commutative Geometry (1992-1998), Arithmetic (1998-2005), Symmetry, Geometry and Arithmetic (2013-2019), and, more recently, the research training group Asymptotic Invariants and Limits of Groups and Spaces (since 2014) and the collaborative research centers Symplectic Structures in Geometry, Algebra, and Dynamics (since 2018 in Heidelberg) and Geometry and Arithmetic of Uniformized Structures (since 2021); in applied mathematics, the collaborative research centers Stochastic Mathematical Models (1977-1992) and Reactive Flows, Diffusion and Transport (1993-2004) and the research training groups Modeling and Scientific Computing in Mathematics and Natural Sciences (1992-2001), Complex Processes: Modeling, Simulation and Optimization (2002-2009), and Statistical Modeling of Complex Systems (2014-2020).

Excellence

The Excellence Initiative of the German government (2005-2019) gave essential impulses and incentives for the establishment of new cooperations across mathematics as well as with other disciplines. This includes the Heidelberg Graduate School for Mathematical and Computational Methods for the Sciences, founded at IWR with essential participation of the faculty, and the Mathematics Center Heidelberg as a joint endeavor of pure and applied mathematics. The Cluster of Excellence STRUCTURES, awarded in 2019 the framework of the Excellence Strategy of German federal and state governments, is jointly supported by the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, and the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy.

New Institutions

The Research Station Geometry and Dynamics was established at the Mathematical Institute in 2020 to bundle the remarkably successful recent collaboration between differential and symplectic geometry and to consolidate the ongoing research activities. The research station also pursues the dual aim of basic mathematical research and the opening up to other sciences and fields of application.

Curriculum

For a number of years now, the training of students in mathematics and computer science has been divided in undergraduate Bachelor programs, subject specific Master programs as well as a number of programs offered jointly with other units of Heidelberg University.

The Bachelor degrees come in 100% and 50% versions, and the latter with a teaching option as a first step in the training of secondary school teachers. This is typically followed by a Master of Education in mathematics or computer science. The training of teachers and contact with schools is essential to the faculty for many reasons.

The Bachelor degrees are viewed as a first professional qualification, that is completed during the Master phase, and our graduates have excellent prospects for landing a job in the private sector.

The Master degrees are also stepping stones to a career in academia that begins with the doctorate, and the faculty is proud of its support of young researchers. For many years, a remarkably high fraction of Independent Research Group Leaders and Private Lecturers trained at the faculty have secured offers for permanent faculty positions at other universities. Heidelberg Mathematics has a notable influence on the genealogy of young academics in Germany.

Diversity

paper frog

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science is an open community that attracts excellent students and scientists from around the world to Heidelberg. Over the past decade, the research and student body has diversified significantly. The faculty has one of the least leaky pipelines of the university, and has committed significant resources to providing equal opportunity to all. Several programs and individual course modules are now offered in English, a trend that is expected to continue as a consequence of European integration.

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science has diverse contacts to scientific institutions all over the world, e.g. in France, the UK, USA, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Russia, India, Japan, Vietnam and China. The close collaboration with the Mathematical Institute of the University of Prague has recently intensified and been extended to Warsaw and Paris in the framework of the 4EU+ Alliance. The international cooperation includes exchange programs for undergraduates, Master and doctoral students.

Last updated on Oct 15, 2021 at 10:52 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Mountain in Fog
Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik

Die Fakultät

Die Fakultät ist die organisatorische Grundeinheit der Universität, und erfüllt deren Aufgaben in ihrem Bereich, darunter Forschung, Lehre, Studium, Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, und akademische Selbstverwaltung.

Mitglieder unserer Fakultät sind

  • Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrer, die überwiegend in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik tätig sind,
  • kooptierte Mitglieder anderer Fakultäten,
  • Studierende, die in einem an der Fakultät durchgeführten Studiengang eingeschrieben sind,
  • an der Fakultät angenommene Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden,
  • wissenschaftliche und sonstige Mitarbeiter der Fakultät oder angeschlossener Einrichtungen

Steckbrief

Mathematikon Treppe

Zum Sommer 2021 umfasst das wissenschaftliche Personal der Fakultät 33 hauptamtliche Professorinnen und Professoren, 6 Juniorprofessor:innen (mit oder ohne Tenure-Track), 6 Akademische Rät:innen sowie rund 60 Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler, die an ihren drei Instituten und benachbarten Einrichtungen beschäftigt sind.

Die Studierendenschaft mit rund 2000 Mitgliedern verteilt sich etwa 2:1 auf Mathematik und Informatik und 3:2:1 auf Bachelor 100%, Bachelor 50% und Masterstudiengänge (einschließlich Master of Education). Es gibt 154 Doktoranden.

Alle wichtigen Entscheidungen werden vom Großen Fakultätsrat getroffen, bestehend aus allen hauptberuflichen Professorinnen und Professoren (inkl. Juniorprofessor:innen) sowie gewählten Vertretern der anderen Statusgruppen. Der erweiterte Fakultätsvorstand wird geleitet vom Dekan der Fakultät und besteht außerdem aus dem Prodekan, den zwei Studiendekanen (Mathematik und Informatik) und den geschäftsführenden Direktoren der drei Institute der Fakultät. Die Tagesgeschäfte werden im Dekanat geführt.

Die Fakultät gliedert sich in die drei Institute

  • Das Mathematisches Institut (unter diesem Namen seit 1913 existent)
  • Das Institut für Angewandte Mathematik (gegründet 1957)
  • Das Institut für Informatik (gegründet 2001)

Zu den traditionellen Stärken und dem besonderen Profil der Universität Heidelberg in Mathematik und Informatik gehören

  • ein breit angelegtes Forschungsprogramm das reicht von der Algebra und theoretischen Informatik über Statistik und Geometrie bis hin zur numerischen Datenanalyse und der technischen Informatik,
  • forschungsorientierte Lehre und anwendungsorientierte Forschung,
  • eine fundierte theoretische und praktische Grundausbildung in beiden Fächern,
  • interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit benachbarten Fakultäten,
  • eine weit verteilte und sehr vielfältige Informatik,
  • Nähe und Verzahnung mit zentralen und externen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen, insbesondere dem Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen (IWR),
  • ein erstklassiges Forschungsumfeld eingebettet in die Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar mit hoher Lebensqualität in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Geo-Naturpark Bergstraße-Odenwald.

Forschung und Lehre

Coffee Machine

Die Ausbildung der Studierenden an der Fakultät ist stark forschungsorientiert. Die Forschungsaktivitäten der Fakultät sind gekennzeichnet durch eine für mathematische Fakultäten überdurchschnittliche Drittmitteleinwerbung. Dazu zählen, in der reinen Mathematik, erfolgreiche Anträge auf die DFG-Forschergruppen Topologie und nichtkommutative Geometrie (1992-1998), Arithmetik (1998-2005) und Symmetrie, Geometrie und Arithmetik (2013-2019) sowie in jüngerer Zeit das Graduiertenkolleg Asymptotische Invarianten und Limiten von Gruppen und Räumen (seit 2014), der Sonderforschungsbereich Symplektische Strukturen in Geometrie, Algebra, und Dynamik (seit 2018 in Heidelberg) und der Sonderforschungsbereich Geometrie und Arithmetik Uniformisierter Strukturen (seit 2021); in der angewandten Mathematik, die Sonderforschungsbereiche Stochastische Mathematische Modelle (1977-1992) und Reaktive Strömungen, Diffusion und Transport (1993-2004), die Graduiertenkollegs Modellierung und wissenschaftliches Rechnen in Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften (1992-2001) und weiterhin Komplexe Prozesse: Modellierung, Simulation und Optimierung (2002-2009) und Statistische Modellierung komplexer Systeme (2013-2020).

Exzellenz

Die Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes (2005-2019) hat wesentliche Impulse und Anreize für die Etablierung neuer Kooperationen quer durch die Mathematik sowie mit anderen Disziplinen gegeben. Dazu gehören die am IWR unter maßgeblicher Beteiligung der Fakultät gegründete Heidelberg Graduate School for Mathematical and Computational Methods for the Sciences und das Mathematics Center Heidelberg als gemeinsames Unterfangen der reinen und angewandten Mathematik. Der 2019 im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder eingeworbene Exzellenzcluster STRUCTURES wird gemeinsam von der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik und der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie getragen.

Neue Einrichtungen

Die Forschungsstelle Geometrie und Dynamik wurde im Jahr 2020 am Mathematischen Institut eingerichtet, um die in jüngster Zeit bemerkenswert erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Differential- und symplektischer Geometrie zu bündeln und die laufenden Forschungsaktivitäten zu verstetigen. Die Forschungsstelle verfolgt dabei auch das doppelte Ziel der mathematischen Grundlagenforschung und der Öffnung zu andere Wissenschaften und Anwendungsfeldern.

Curriculum

Die Ausbildung der Studierenden in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik gliedert sich seit einigen Jahren in grundständige Bachelor-Studiengänge, fachspezifische Master-Studiengänge sowie eine Reihe von gemeinsam mit anderen Einrichtungen der Universität Heidelberg angebotenen Studiengängen.

Die Bachelor-Abschlüsse gibt es in 100%- und 50%-Varianten, letztere mit Lehramtsoption als erster Schritt in der Ausbildung von Sekundarschullehrern. Daran schließt sich in der Regel ein Master of Education in Mathematik oder Informatik an. Die Ausbildung von Lehrkräften und der Kontakt zu Schulen sind für die Fakultät aus vielen Gründen unverzichtbar.

Der Bachelor gilt als erster berufsqualifizierender Abschluss, der in der Masterphase vervollständigt wird, und unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen haben hervorragende Aussichten auf eine Anstellung in der Privatwirtschaft.

Die Masterabschlüsse sind auch Sprungbretter für eine akademische Karriere, die mit der Promotion beginnt, und die Fakultät ist stolz auf ihre Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Ein bemerkenswert hoher Anteil der an der Fakultät ausgebildeten Unabhängigen Forschungsgruppenleitern und Habilitierten erhält seit vielen Jahren einen Ruf auf eine Professur an eine auswärtige Universität. Die hiesige Mathematik hat einen bemerkenswerten Einfluss auf die Genealogie des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in Deutschland.

Perspektiven

paper frog

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik ist eine offene Community, die exzellente Studierende und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt nach Heidelberg zieht. In den letzten zehn Jahren haben sich der Lehrkörper und die Studierendenschaft deutlich diversifiziert. Die Fakultät verfügt in diesem Kontext über eine der am „wenigsten leaky“ Pipelines der Universität und stellt Ressourcen bereit, um eine Gleichstellung aller zu erreichen. Mehrere Studiengänge und einzelne Module werden mittlerweile in englischer Sprache angeboten, ein Trend, der sich als Folge der europäischen Integration voraussichtlich fortsetzen wird.

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik verfügt über vielfältige Kontakte zu wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen auf der ganzen Welt, z.B. in Frankreich, Großbritannien, USA, Kanada, Mexiko, Brasilien, Russland, Indien, Japan, Vietnam und China. Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Mathematischen Institut der Universität Prag wurde kürzlich intensiviert und im Rahmen der 4EU+-Allianz auf Warschau und Paris ausgeweitet. Die internationale Zusammenarbeit umfasst Austauschprogramme für Bachelor- und Masterstudierenden sowie Doktoranden.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 15. Okt. 2021 um 10:52