BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Students in Classroom
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

Student Advisory Services

Information and support in planning your studies, help with changing courses and rewriting, advice on examination matters and directions to other points of contact

You can come to the student advisory service with a wide variety of concerns. Topics in which we support you are:

  • questions about studying at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • information on study requirements
  • career prospects and possible career paths
  • application and enrollment
  • content or course of your studies
  • examination regulations or module handbook
  • change of subject resp. place of study or transition from bachelor studies to a masters programme
  • advice on the recognition of academic achievements
  • required certificates
  • general problems in studies

For many questions we already have the right answer ready for you in our FAQs. Didn't find the answer you wanted? Our departmental advisory service will be happy to provide you with advice and assistance on these and other questions about studying at the faculty.

Our Team

Dr. Hendrik KastenStudy Advisor (Mathematics – all programmes)

INF 205, Room 03.315
Tel.: 06221-54-14210
E-Mail: Mathematics
E-Mail: Mathematics (M.Ed.) 

 
Dr. Hendrik Kasten
Consultation hour: via heiCONF until further notice
PD Dr. Wolfgang MerkleStudy Advisor (Computer Science – all programmes)

INF 205, Room 02.211
Tel.: 06221-54-14323
E-Mail: Computer Science
E-Mail: Computer Science (M.Ed.)

 
Wolfgang Merkle
Consultation hour: mondays 2 p.m. to 3 p.m. or by arrangement, during semester break partly only by arrangement.
Dr. Deike Priemuth-SchmidStudy Advisor (Master of Education)

INF 205, Room 01.105
Tel.: 06221-54-14019
E-Mail: Mathematics (M.Ed.)
E-Mail: Computer Science (M.Ed.)

 
Avatar

Consultation hour: Wednesdays 10h30 to 11h30

Dr. Michael WincklerStudy Advisor (Master Scientific Computing)

INF 205, Room 05.232
Tel.: 06221-54-14430
E-Mail: Master Scientific Computing

 
Avatar

Consultation hour: tuesdays 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.

FAQs Contact Persons at the Faculty

    Academic advice, examination board, examination offices, deans of study, student council: Whom do I address with which questions?
    • The student advisory service will mainly provide you with information. Topics are all questions about your programme, such as questions about the examination regulations, the module handbook or the processes at the faculty. In this context, the student advisory service also issues the necessary certificates. In addition, the student advisory service also serves as the first point of contact for general problems during your studies, for example if you have doubts about your studies or in the event of personal emergencies.
    • The examination board is responsible for the recognition of study achievements and also decides on the approval of deadline extensions. You contact them through the respective examination office.
    • Your achievements are administered in the examination offices. You can ask all questions about incorrectly or differently booked credits there. This also applies to achievements to be recognized from other programmes or from abroad, whereby these decisions are made by the respective examination board. You will also receive your transcript of records here. In addition, final theses are registered and submitted in the examination offices, and final certificates are issued.
    • The deans of study are responsible for study planning, that is for ensuring that all types of courses are offered in sufficient quantities and that standard courses of our faculty offered in the same semester do not overlap. They are also the point of contact for serious problems in topics of teaching, such as serious complaints about lecturers.
    • The student council is not an official body of the faculty, so you cannot receive any binding information here. On the other hand, this unofficial character together with the student perspective often enables a valuable addition to the knowledge of the faculty and the university. Since the student council represents the interests of the students in the faculty, they are also a good point of contact for problems with lecturers or current study planning. Furthermore the student council offers services such as script printing or collections of exam questions.
    Who is the contact person for my programme and how do I contact them?

    If you have general questions about your programme, it is best to contact the academic advisory service - but please also read the answer to the previous question. The best way to get information about current courses is directly from the respective lecturer.

    Which examination board resp. examination office is responsible for me and how do I contact them?
    • If you are studying in one of the programmes Bachelor Mathematics 100%Bachelor Mathematics 50%, or Master Mathematics, the Mathematics Examination Board and the Mathematics Examination Office are responsible for you.
    • If you are studying in one of the programmes Bachelor Applied Computer Science 100%, Bachelor Applied Computer Science 50%, or Master Applied Computer Science, the Computer Science Examination Board and the Computer Science Examination Office are responsible for you.
    • If your programme is the Master of Scientific Computing, the Scientific Computing Examination Board and the Scientific Computing Examination Office are responsible for you.
    • If your programe is the Master of Education, there is a central examination office for you at the HSE. However, the Mathematics resp. Computer Science Examination Office is responsible for the processing of services in your specific subject.

    You can find the contact details of your examination office on their web page, or you can contact them by email using the general contact form (envelope on the right). Please contact your examination board through your examination office.

    FAQs Problems in Studying

      I am not sure if the programme I am studying is right for me. Whom should I contact?

      Please contact the student advisory service immediately if you have any doubts as to whether your programme is right for you. It is important to us that you are completely convinced of your choice and we are happy to talk to you about your problems. Many problems that students may encounter are already known to us and we can help to classify your difficulties and, if necessary, find ways out.

      Heidelberg University also offers central advice for those who are doubtful of their studies. Your study situation may be dealt with less precisely there, but the employees in the central advisory service are specially trained psychologically for such questions and can offer valuable decision-making aids.

      I have the feeling that I am not meeting the requirements of my studies. Whom should I contact?

      The right contact for such questions is the academic advisory service. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

      This question comes up particularly often in the first semester, as the presentation of the material takes place in a new way and at high speed. A word of reassurance at this point: Very few first semesters are able to follow their lectures in real time. To help you here, we offer extensive exercises for our lectures. If you (honestly) are able to score sufficient points on the exercise sheets week after week, then there is nothing to worry about!

      What do I do if I am ill for a longer period of time during my studies?

      It is possible to apply for a semester of illness through the central university administration. You need a corresponding certificate from your doctor in order to do this.

      Last updated on Sep 24, 2021 at 9:09 AM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Students in Classroom
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

Studienberatung

Informationen und Unterstützung bei der Planung Ihres Studiums, Hilfe bei Studiengangwechseln und Umschreibungen, Beratung in Prüfungsangelegenheiten und Wegweiser zu weiteren Anlaufstellen

Sie können mit den unterschiedlichsten Anliegen in die Studienberatung kommen. Themen, bei denen wir Sie unterstützen, sind:

  • Fragen zum Studium an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik
  • Informationen zu Studienanforderungen
  • Berufsaussichten und mögliche Berufswege
  • Bewerbung und Einschreibung
  • Inhalt oder Ablauf Ihres Studiums
  • Prüfungsordnung oder Modulhandbuch
  • Wechsel von Studienfach bzw. –ort oder Übergang von Bachelor zu Master
  • Beratung zur Anerkennung von Studienleistungen
  • erforderliche Bescheinigungen
  • allgemeine Probleme im Studium

Für viele Fragen haben wir in unseren FAQs schon die passende Antwort für Sie parat. Nicht die gewünschte Antwort gefunden? Unsere Fachstudienberatung steht Ihnen – zu diesen und anderen Fragen rund um das Studium an der Fakultät – gerne mit Rat und Tat beiseite. Für rechtsverbindliche Auskünfte kontaktieren Sie bitte den für Sie zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss über das Prüfungsamt.

Unser Team

Dr. Hendrik KastenStudienberater (Mathematik – alle Studienordnungen)

INF 205, Zimmer 03.315
Tel.: 06221-54-14210
E-Mail: Mathematik
E-Mail: Mathematik (M.Ed.)

 
Dr. Hendrik Kasten
Sprechstunde: freitags 13:00-14:00 Uhr oder nach Vereinbarung
PD Dr. Wolfgang MerkleStudienberater (Informatik – alle Studienordnungen)

INF 205, Zimmer 02.211
Tel.: 06221-54-14323
E-Mail: Informatik
E-Mail: Informatik (M.Ed.)

 
Wolfgang Merkle
Sprechstunde: montags 14:00-15:00 Uhr oder nach Vereinbarung, in den Semesterferien zum Teil nur nach Vereinbarung.
Dr. Deike Priemuth-SchmidStudienberaterin (Master of Education)

INF 205, Zimmer 01.105
Tel.: 06221-54-14019
E-Mail: Mathematik (M. Ed.)
E-Mail: Informatik (M. Ed.)

 
Avatar

Sprechstunde: mittwochs 10:30-11:30 Uhr

Dr. Michael WincklerStudienberater (Master Scientific Computing)

INF 205, Zimmer 05.232
Tel.: 06221-54-14430
E-Mail: Master Scientific Computing

 
Avatar

Sprechstunde: dienstags 14:00-15:00 Uhr

FAQs Ansprechpartner an der Fakultät

    Studienberatung, Prüfungsausschüsse, Prüfungsamt, Studiendekane, Fachschaft: An wen wende ich mich mit welchen Fragen?
    • In der Studienberatung bekommen Sie zuvorderst Informationen. Themen sind alle wichtigen Fragen zum Studium und um das Studium herum, wie etwa Wissensfragen zur Prüfungsordnung, zum Modulhandbuch oder zu Abläufen an der Fakultät. In diesem Kontext werden in der Studienberatung auch erforderliche Bescheinigungen erstellt. Darüber hinaus dient die Studienberatung auch als erste Anlaufstelle bei allgemeinen Problemen im Studium, etwa bei Studienzweifeln oder im Falle persönlicher Notlagen. 
    • Der Prüfungsausschuss ist für die Anerkennung von Studienleistungen zuständig und entscheidet auch über die Genehmigung von Fristverlängerungen. Sie kontaktieren ihn über die jeweiligen Sekretariate des Prüfungsamts.
    • Im Prüfungsamt werden Ihre Leistungen verwaltet. Alle Fragen zu falsch oder anders zu verbuchenden Leistungen stellen Sie hier. Dies trifft auch auf anzuerkennende Leistungen aus anderen Studiengängen oder dem Ausland zu, wobei diese Entscheidungen vom jeweiligen Prüfungsausschuss getroffen werden. Hier erhalten Sie auch ein Transcript of Records. Darüber hinaus werden im Prüfungsamt Abschlussarbeiten angemeldet und abgegeben sowie Abschlusszeugnisse erstellt. Das Prüfungsamt betreibt für die Fächer Mathematik und Scientific Computing einerseits und Informatik andererseits getrennte Sekretariate.
    • Die Studiendekane sind für die Studienplanung verantwortlich, also dafür, dass alle Typen von Lehrveranstaltungen in ausreichendem Maße angeboten werden und sich Standardlehrveranstaltungen unserer Fakultät, die im gleichen Semester angeboten werden, nicht überschneiden. Zudem sind sie Ansprechpartner bei gravierenden Problemen in der Lehre, etwa bei ernsten Beschwerden über Dozenten.
    • Die Fachschaft ist kein offizielles Organ der Fakultät, so dass Sie hier keine verbindlichen Auskünfte erhalten können. Andererseits ermöglicht gerade dieser inoffizielle Charakter zusammen mit der studentischen Perspektive oft eine wertvolle Ergänzung der offiziellen Angebote der Fakultät und der Universität. Da die Fachschaft in der Fakultät die Interessen der Studierenden vertritt, ist sie auch ein guter Ansprechpartner für Probleme mit Dozenten oder der aktuellen Studienplanung. Darüber hinaus bietet die Fachschaft noch Services wie Skriptendruck oder Sammlungen Prüfungsfragen an.
    Wer ist der Ansprechpartner für meinen Studiengang und wie kontaktiere ich diesen?

    Zu allgemeinen Fragen über Ihren Studiengang wenden Sie sich am besten an die Fachstudienberatung – bitte lesen Sie aber auch die Antwort der vorigen Frage. Informationen zu aktuellen Lehrveranstaltungen bekommen Sie am besten direkt bei den jeweiligen Dozenten.

    Welcher Prüfungsausschuss bzw. welches Sekretariat des Prüfungsamts ist für mich zuständig und wie kontaktiere ich diese?
    • Studieren Sie im Bachelor Mathematik 100%, im Bachelor Mathematik 50% oder im Master Mathematik, so sind für Sie der Prüfungsausschuss Mathematik und das Prüfungsamt Fach Mathematik zuständig.
    • Studieren Sie im Bachelor Informatik 100%, im Bachelor Informatik 50% oder im Master Data and Computer Science, so sind für Sie der Prüfungsausschuss Informatik und das Prüfungssamt Fach Informatik zuständig.
    • Studieren Sie im Master Scientific Computing, so sind für Sie der Prüfungsausschuss Scientific Computing und das Prüfungsamt Fach Mathematik zuständig.
    • Studieren Sie im Master of Education, so existiert für Sie an der HSE ein zentrales Prüfungsamt. Für die konkrete Abwicklung von Leistungen in Ihrem Fach ist aber das Prüfungsamt Fach Mathematik bzw. Fach Informatik zuständig. 

    Die Kontaktdaten des für Sie zuständigen Sekretariats des Prüfungsamts finden Sie auf der zugehörigen Seite, oder Sie erreichen es per Mail über das allgemeine Kontaktformular (Briefumschlag rechts). Ihren Prüfungsausschuss kontaktieren Sie bitte über das Prüfungsamt.

    FAQs Probleme im Studium

      Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob der Studiengang, den ich studiere, für mich richtig ist. An wen soll ich mich wenden?

      Bitte wenden Sie sich umgehend an die Fachstudienberatung, wenn Sie Zweifel haben, ob Ihr Studiengang das Richtige für Sie ist. Uns ist es wichtig, dass Sie von Ihrer Wahl voll und ganz überzeugt sind und wir sprechen gerne mit Ihnen über Ihre Probleme. Viele Probleme, die Studierenden begegnen, sind uns bereits bekannt, und wir können Ihnen helfen, Ihre Schwierigkeiten einzuordnen und gegebenenfalls Auswege zu finden.

      Die zentrale Beratungsstelle der Universität hat ebenfalls Angebote für Studienzweifler. Ihre Studiensituation kann dort zwar weniger präzise eingeschätzt werden, dafür sind aber die Mitarbeiter der zentralen Beratungsstelle für solche Fragen speziell psychologisch geschult und können wertvolle Entscheidungshilfen bieten.

      Ich habe das Gefühl, den Ansprüchen meines Studiengangs nicht zu genügen. An wen soll ich mich wenden?

      Der richtige Ansprechpartner für solche Fragen ist die Fachstudienberatung. Bitte zögern Sie nicht uns zu kontaktieren.

      Diese Frage stellt sich besonders häufig im ersten Semester, da die Präsentation des Stoffes auf neue Weise und mit hoher Geschwindigkeit erfolgt. An dieser Stelle noch ein Wort der Beruhigung: Die wenigsten Erstsemester können ihren Vorlesungen in Echtzeit folgen. Um Ihnen dabei zu helfen, bieten wir umfangreiche Übungen zu unseren Vorlesungen an. Wenn Sie (auf ehrliche Weise) Woche für Woche genügend Punkte auf den Übungsblättern erzielen können, brauchen Sie sich keine Sorgen zu machen!

      Was mache ich, wenn ich im Studium für einen längeren Zeitraum krank bin?

      Es ist möglich über die Zentrale Universitätsverwaltung ein Krankheitssemester zu beantragen. Dazu benötigen Sie eine entsprechende Bescheinigung Ihres Arztes.

      Zuletzt aktualisiert am 30. Juni 2022 um 09:27