BrandingBranding
Faculty
Mathematikon Entrance

Our Faculty is the academic home of researchers, teachers, and students of Mathematics and Computer Science. Its institutes and facilities are housed in the Mathematikon, pleasantly located on the Campus Neuenheimer Feld of Heidelberg University. Welcome!

Doctorate
Mathematikon Seminar Room

The Doctorate signifies a proven ability to conduct independent scientific research. Under the auspices of the Combined Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, we confer over 30 Doctoral degrees in the subjects of mathematics and computer science each year.

Studies
Mathematikon Library

Students interested in Mathematics, Computer Science, or an interdisciplinary field, pursuing a B.Sc., M.Sc., or M.Ed., and aiming for a career in research, reaching, or the private sector, will find here in Heidelberg a full range of first-class courses for a challenging and enriching educational experience in an intellectually stimulating environment with historical cachet.

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

We seek to promote the interest in mathematics and computer science by organizing events for schools and for the broader public. Alumns and newcomers join in and contribute to shared knowledge and contacts.

home icon
envelope icon
Bunsen Gymnasium from Rooftop
Mathematics and Computer Science — Studies

Application Bachelor Programs

Thank you for your interest in a study program in Mathematics or Computer Science at Heidelberg University!

The application procedures for the Bachelor programs offered at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science differ in terms of prerequisites and requirements.

  • The Bachelor programs in Mathematics (100% and 50%) is not subject to admission restrictions. However, timely enrollment (matriculation) is mandatory.
  • Admission to the Bachelor programs in Computer Science (100% and 50%) is subject to a university's own selection procedure (entrance examination). Here, too, timely enrollment is mandatory.

For details and information on matriculation and enrollment, please refer to the corresponding study program. Students can only begin their first semester of study in the winter semester.

Application Bachelor Mathematics 100 %

The Bachelor of Mathematics 100% at Heidelberg University is not subject to admission restrictions and does not require an entrance examination. Accordingly, no application is required, only enrollment with the appropriate documents and required certificates. Please refer to the guide for the online application to find out which documents are requested.

Enrollment in the bachelor program Mathematics 100% is done online via the online application portal of Heidelberg University.

You can check your applicant status here.

After you have received your letter of admission (which can be viewed in your applicant account), you can use it to enroll in the bachelor program Mathematics 100%. All information required for this can be found in the letter of admission. In addition, you can also consult the page "Enrollment Procedure and Documents" of Heidelberg University.

Application Deadlines

German citizens:

  • First-time enrollees: 01.08. - 30.09.
  • Transfer students: 01.09. - 15.10.

International citizens with a German university entrance qualification from Germany:

  • First-time enrollees: 01.08. - 30.09.
  • Transfer students: 01.09. - 15.10.

International citizens without a German university entrance qualification from Germany will be notified of the enrollment period in the letter of admission.

Application Bachelor Mathematics 50 %

The Bachelor of Mathematics 50% at Heidelberg University is not subject to admission restrictions and does not require an entrance examination. Accordingly, no application is required, only enrollment with the appropriate documents and required certificates. Please refer to the guide for the online application to find out which documents are requested.

Enrollment in the bachelor program Mathematics 50% is done online via the online application portal of Heidelberg University.

You can check your applicant status here.

After you have received your letter of admission (which can be viewed in your applicant account), you can use it to enroll in the bachelor program Mathematics 100%. All information required for this can be found in the letter of admission. In addition, you can also consult the page "Enrollment Procedure and Documents" of Heidelberg University.

2nd Field of Study

With the Bachelor program Mathematics 50% you will acquire a polyvalent Bachelor degree. Depending on what you choose as your second field of study, this will be a Bachelor of Arts (B. A.) or also a Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.). You must enroll separately in the second chosen field of study. Please note the applicable deadlines and requirements.

Teaching Option

Topping your study program with the teaching option does not require a separate application. When applying for a polyvalent bachelor's degree, the teaching option is always included, as you have the possibility to decide either for or against it until the end of your study program.

Application Deadlines

German citizens:

  • First-time enrollees: 01.08. - 30.09.
  • Transfer students: 01.09. - 15.10.

International citizens with a German university entrance qualification from Germany:

  • First-time enrollees: 01.08. - 30.09.
  • Transfer students: 01.09. - 15.10.

International citizens without a German university entrance qualification from Germany will be notified of the enrollment period in the letter of admission.

Application Bachelor Computer Science 100 %

Admission to the Bachelor program Applied Computer Science is restricted by a university' s own selection procedure, an entrance examination. Specifically, this means that you must apply in good time, by July 15 of each year, and, if applicable, successfully participate in an admission interview, in order to receive a letter of admission.

Entrance Examination

The entrance examination for the Bachelor programs in Computer Science at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science at Heidelberg University consists of two stages: the online application through the University's Student Secretariat and a possible personal admission interview in Heidelberg.

In the first stage, a pre-selection is made on the basis of the electronically submitted application documents. This primarily includes your high school grades in Mathematics and Computer Science. If Computer Science has not been taken or has not been taken continuously, the grades of a comparable scientific or technical field are taken into account. In addition, vocational training relevant to the course of study, special qualifications, practical activities or extracurricular achievements and qualifications may be taken into account. The details are specified in the Regulations for the Computer Science Entrance Examination.

The application through the Student Secretariat of Heidelberg University is made via the above-mentioned online application portal.

By the end of August of the year at the latest, you will receive an e-mail informing you whether or not you have been invited to an admission interview or have already passed (based on the documents from stage 1). Stage 2 of the selection process is hence not obligatory for every applicant.

You will be invited to an admission interview if your grades, as well as other performance, are within the range established by the regulations. If invited, you must attend the admission interview in order to pass the entrance examination. No alternative or substitute appointments will be arranged outside this period. Only in case of written proof of valid reasons (e.g. medical certificate, federal voluntary service, long-term planned stay abroad), a late appointment can be granted.

The admission interview takes about 15 minutes and is usually conducted by two instructors of Computer Science and, if necessary, an advising student representative (e.g. a member of the student council). The primary purpose of the interview is to show that you are qualified and open-minded for the chosen profession. Suitable applicants will receive their letter of admission shortly after the interview.

You can check your applicant status here.

After you have received your letter of admission, you can use it to enroll in the Bachelor program Applied Computer Science 100%. All information required for this can be found in the letter of admission. In addition, you can also consult the page "Enrollment Procedure and Documents" of Heidelberg University.

Application Deadlines

  • German citizens: 01.06. - 31.07.
  • EU citizens: 01.06. - 31.07.
  • International citizens with foreign university entrance qualification: 15.05. - 31.07.

Admission to the Bachelor program Applied Computer Science is restricted by a university' s own selection procedure, an entrance examination. Specifically, this means that you must apply in good time, by July 15 of each year, and, if applicable, successfully participate in an admission interview, in order to receive a letter of admission.

Entrance Examination

The entrance examination for the Bachelor programs in Computer Science at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science at Heidelberg University consists of two stages: the online application through the University's Student Secretariat and a possible personal admission interview in Heidelberg.

In the first stage, a pre-selection is made on the basis of the electronically submitted application documents. This primarily includes your high school grades in Mathematics and Computer Science. If Computer Science has not been taken or has not been taken continuously, the grades of a comparable scientific or technical field are taken into account. In addition, vocational training relevant to the course of study, special qualifications, practical activities or extracurricular achievements and qualifications may be taken into account. The details are specified in the Regulations for the Computer Science Entrance Examination.

The application through the Student Secretariat of Heidelberg University is made via the above-mentioned online application portal.

By the end of August of the year at the latest, you will receive an e-mail informing you whether or not you have been invited to an admission interview or have already passed (based on the documents from stage 1). Stage 2 of the selection process is hence not obligatory for every applicant.

You will be invited to an admission interview if your grades, as well as other performance, are within the range established by the regulations. If invited, you must attend the admission interview in order to pass the entrance examination. No alternative or substitute appointments will be arranged outside this period. Only in case of written proof of valid reasons (e.g. medical certificate, federal voluntary service, long-term planned stay abroad), a late appointment can be granted.

The admission interview takes about 15 minutes and is usually conducted by two instructors of Computer Science and, if necessary, an advising student representative (e.g. a member of the student council). The primary purpose of the interview is to show that you are qualified and open-minded for the chosen profession. Suitable applicants will receive their letter of admission shortly after the interview.

You can check your applicant status here.

After you have received your letter of admission, you can use it to enroll in the Bachelor program Applied Computer Science 50%. All information required for this can be found in the letter of admission. In addition, you can also consult the page "Enrollment Procedure and Documents" of Heidelberg University.

2nd Field of Study

With the Bachelor program Applied Computer Science 50% you will acquire a polyvalent Bachelor degree. Depending on what you choose as your second field of study, this will be a Bachelor of Arts (B. A.) or also a Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.). You must enroll separately in the second chosen field of study. Please note the applicable deadlines and requirements.

Teaching Option

Topping your study program with the teaching option does not require a separate application. When applying for a polyvalent bachelor's degree, the teaching option is always included, as you have the possibility to decide either for or against it until the end of your study program.

Application Deadlines

  • German citizens: 01.06. - 31.07.
  • EU citizens: 01.06. - 31.07.
  • International citizens with foreign university entrance qualification: 15.05. - 31.07.
Last updated on Aug 26, 2021 at 1:23 PM

BrandingBranding
Fakultät
Mathematikon Entrance

Unsere Fakultät ist akademische Heimat von Forscher:innen, Dozent:innen, und Student:innen der Mathematik und Informatik. Ihre Institute und Betriebseinrichtungen sind untergebracht im angenehm gelegenen Mathematikon auf dem Campus Neuenheimer Feld der Universität Heidelberg. Herzlich Willkommen!

Promotion
Mathematikon Seminar Room

Die Promotion ist der Nachweis der Befähigung zu selbständiger wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Unter dem Schirm der Gesamtfakultät für Mathematik, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vergeben wir jedes Jahr über 30 Doktortitel in den Fächern Mathematik und Informatik.

Studium
Mathematikon Library

heiMATH: Ob Mathematik, Informatik oder eine interdisziplinäre Variante, mit Abschluss B.Sc., M.Sc. oder M.Ed., Berufsziel in Forschung, Schule oder Industrie: Bei uns in Heidelberg finden Sie ein reichhaltiges und erstklassiges Lehrangebot für ein anspruchsvolles Studium in einer intellektuell stimulierenden und traditionsreichen Umgebung. 

Outreach
Mathematikon Lobby

Wir fördern das Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik – durch unsere Veranstaltungen für Schulen sowie ein breites Publikum. Ehemalige und Einsteiger nehmen Teil und tragen bei zu gemeinsamem Wissen und Kontakten.

home icon
envelope icon
Bunsen Gymnasium from Rooftop
Mathematik und Informatik — Studium

Bewerbung Bachelor

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse an einem Studium der Mathematik oder Informatik an der Universität Heidelberg!

Die Bewerbungsverfahren der an der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik angebotenen Bachelorstudiengänge unterscheiden sich bezüglich der Voraussetzungen und Anforderungen.

  • Der Bachelor Mathematik (100% und 50%) ist nicht zulassungsbeschränkt. Eine rechtzeitige Einschreibung (Immatrikulation) ist jedoch zwingend erforderlich.
  • Der Zugang zu den Bachelorstudiengängen in der Informatik (Bachelor 100% und 50%) unterliegt einem hochschuleigenenen Auswahlverfahren (Aufnahmeprüfung). Auch hier ist eine rechtzeitige Immatrikulation zwingend erforderlich.

Details und Informationen zur Immatrikulation und Einschreibung entnehmen Sie bitte dem entsprechenden Studiengang. Der Studienbeginn im 1. Fachsemester ist grundsätzlich jeweils nur zum Wintersemester möglich.

Einschreibung Bachelor Mathematik 100 %

Der Bachelor Mathematik 100 % an der Universität Heidelberg ist nicht zulassungsbeschränkt und erfolgt ohne Aufnahmeprüfung. Demnach ist keine Bewerbung, sondern lediglich eine Einschreibung mit den entsprechenden Unterlagen und zu erfüllenden Nachweisen erforderlich. Um welche Unterlagen es sich dabei handelt entnehmen Sie bitte dem Leitfaden zur Online-Bewerbung.

Die Einschreibung in den Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 100 % erfolgt online über das Online-Bewerbungsportal der Uni Heidelberg.

Ihren Bewerberstatus können Sie hier abfragen.

Nachdem Sie den Zulassungsbescheid erhalten haben (einsehbar in Ihrem Bewerberaccount), können Sie sich mit diesem in den Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 100 % einschreiben. Alle hierfür benötigten Informationen können Sie dem Zulassungsbescheid entnehmen. Zusätzlich können Sie auch die Seite Immatrikulationsverfahren- und Unterlagen der Universität Heidelberg konsultieren.

Fristen für die Einschreibung

Deutsche Staatsangehörige:

  • Erstimmatrikulierte: 01.08. – 30.09.
  • Wechsler: 01.09. – 15.10.

Internationale Staatsangehörige mit deutscher Hochschulzugangsberechtigung aus Deutschland:

  • Erstimmatrikulierte: 01.08. – 30.09.
  • Wechsler: 01.09. – 15.10.

Internationalen Staatsangehörigen ohne deutsche Hochschulzugangsberechtigung aus Deutschland wird die Immatrikulationsfrist im Zulassungsbescheid bekannt gegeben.

Der Bachelor Mathematik 50 % an der Universität Heidelberg ist nicht zulassungsbeschränkt und erfolgt ohne Aufnahmeprüfung. Demnach ist keine Bewerbung, sondern lediglich eine Einschreibung mit den entsprechenden Unterlagen und zu erfüllenden Nachweisen erforderlich. Um welche Unterlagen es sich dabei handelt entnehmen Sie bitte dem Leitfaden zur Online-Bewerbung.

Die Einschreibung in den Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 50 % erfolgt online über das Online-Bewerbungsportal der Uni Heidelberg.

Ihren Bewerberstatus können Sie hier abfragen.

Nachdem Sie den Zulassungsbescheid erhalten haben (einsehbar in Ihrem Bewerberaccount), können Sie sich mit diesem in den Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 50 % einschreiben. Alle hierfür benötigten Informationen können Sie dem Zulassungsbescheid entnehmen. Zusätzlich können Sie auch die Seite Immatrikulationsverfahren- und Unterlagen der Universität Heidelberg konsultieren.

Zweites Hauptfach

Mit dem Bachelorstudiengang Mathematik 50 % erwerben Sie einen polyvalenten Bachelorabschluss. Je nach dem, was als zweites Hauptfach gewählt wurde, ist dies ein Bachelor of Arts (B. A.) oder ebenfalls ein Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.). In das zweite gewählte Hauptfach müssen Sie sich separat einschreiben. Beachten Sie hierzu die jeweils geltenden Fristen und Anforderungen.

Lehramtsoption

Ein Studium mit Lehramtsoption erfordert keine gesonderte Bewerbung. Bei einer Bewerbung auf einen polyvalenten Bachelor wird die Lehramtsoption grundsätzlich eingetragen, da Sie die Möglichkeit haben, sich bis zum Ende des Studiums entweder dafür oder dagegen zu entscheiden.

Fristen für die Einschreibung

Deutsche Staatsangehörige:

  • Erstimmatrikulierte: 01.08. – 30.09.
  • Wechsler: 01.09. – 15.10.

Internationale Staatsangehörige mit deutscher Hochschulzugangsberechtigung aus Deutschland:

  • Erstimmatrikulierte: 01.08. – 30.09.
  • Wechsler: 01.09. – 15.10.

Internationalen Staatsangehörigen ohne deutsche Hochschulzugangsberechtigung aus Deutschland wird die Immatrikulationsfrist im Zulassungsbescheid bekannt gegeben.

Bewerbung Bachelor Informatik 100 %

Der Zugang zum Bachelorstudiengang Informatik wird über ein hochschuleigenes Auswahlverfahren, eine Aufnahmeprüfung, beschränkt. Konkret bedeutet dies, dass Sie sich rechtzeitig, jeweils zum 15. Juli eines Jahres, bewerben und gegebenenfalls erfolgreich an einem Auswahlgespräch teilnehmen müssen, um einen Zulassungsbescheid zu erhalten.

Aufnahmeprüfung

Die Aufnahmeprüfung für ein Bachelorstudium der Informatik and der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik der Universität Heidelberg besteht aus zwei Stufen: der Online-Bewerbung über das Studentensekretariat der Universität und einem eventuellen, persönlichen Auswahlgespräch in Heidelberg.

In der ersten Stufe findet eine Vorauswahl auf der Basis der elektronisch eingereichten Bewerbungsunterlagen statt. Hierzu zählen primär die Oberstufennoten in Mathematik und Informatik. Wurde Informatik nicht oder nicht durchgehend belegt, werden die Noten eines vergleichbaren naturwissenschaftlichen oder technischen Fachs gewertet. Zusätzlich können studiengangsrelevante Berufsausbildungen, besondere Vorbildungen, praktische Tätigkeiten oder außerschulische Leistungen und Qualifikationen geltend gemacht werden. Die Details regelt die Satzung der Aufnahmeprüfung Informatik.

Die Bewerbung über das Studentensekretariat der Universität Heidelberg erfolgt mittels des oben genannten Online-Bewerbungsportals.

Bis spätestens zum Ende August des Jahres erhalten Sie per E-Mail Bescheid, ob Sie zu einem Auswahlgespräch eingeladen werden, oder (aufgrund der Unterlagen aus der Stufe 1) bereits bestanden haben oder nicht. Stufe 2 des Auswahlverfahrens ist damit nicht für jeden Bewerber und jede Bewerberin verpflichtend.

Sie werden zu den Auswahlgesprächen eingeladen, falls Ihre Noten sowie weitere Leistungen im durch die Satzung festgelegten Bereich liegen. Bei einer Einladung müssen Sie an dem Auswahlgespräch teilnehmen, um die Aufnahmeprüfung zu bestehen. Es werden keine Ausweich- und Ersatztermine außerhalb dieses Zeitraums organisiert werden. Lediglich bei schriftlichem Nachweis von triftigen Gründen (z.B. ärztliches Attest, Bundesfreiwilligendienst, langfristig geplanter Auslandsaufenthalt), kann ein Nachtermin gewährt werden. 

Das Auswahlgespräch dauert ca. 15 Minuten und wird in der Regel von zwei Dozent:innen der Informatik und ggf. einem beratenden studentischen Vertreter (z. B. Fachschaftsmitglied) durchgeführt. Das Gespräch soll primär zeigen, dass Sie für den ausgewählten Beruf befähigt und aufgeschlossen sind. Die geeigneten Bewerber:innen und Bewerber erhalten ihren Zulassungsbescheid zeitnah nach dem Gespräch.

Ihren Bewerberstatus können Sie hier abfragen.

Nachdem Sie den Zulassungsbescheid erhalten haben, können Sie sich mit diesem in den Bachelorstudiengang Informatik 100 % einschreiben. Alle hierfür benötigten Informationen können Sie dem Zulassungsbescheid entnehmen. Zusätzlich können Sie auch die Seite Immatrikulationsverfahren- und Unterlagen der Universität Heidelberg konsultieren.

Fristen für die Bewerbung

  • Deutsche Staatsangehörige: 01.06. – 31.07.
  • EU-Staatsangehörige: 01.06. – 31.07.
  • Internationale Staatsangehörige mit ausländischer Hochschulzugangsberechtigung: 15.05. – 31.07.

Der Zugang zum Bachelorstudiengang Informatik wird über ein hochschuleigenes Auswahlverfahren, eine Aufnahmeprüfung, beschränkt. Konkret bedeutet dies, dass Sie sich rechtzeitig, jeweils zum 15. Juli eines Jahres, bewerben und gegebenenfalls erfolgreich an einem Auswahlgespräch teilnehmen müssen, um einen Zulassungsbescheid zu erhalten.

Aufnahmeprüfung

Die Aufnahmeprüfung für ein Bachelorstudium der Informatik and der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik der Universität Heidelberg besteht aus zwei Stufen: der Online-Bewerbung über das Studentensekretariat der Universität und einem eventuellen, persönlichen Auswahlgespräch in Heidelberg.

In der ersten Stufe findet eine Vorauswahl auf der Basis der elektronisch eingereichten Bewerbungsunterlagen statt. Hierzu zählen primär die Oberstufennoten in Mathematik und Informatik. Wurde Informatik nicht oder nicht durchgehend belegt, werden die Noten eines vergleichbaren naturwissenschaftlichen oder technischen Fachs gewertet. Zusätzlich können studiengangsrelevante Berufsausbildungen, besondere Vorbildungen, praktische Tätigkeiten oder außerschulische Leistungen und Qualifikationen geltend gemacht werden. Die Details regelt die Satzung der Aufnahmeprüfung Informatik.

Die Bewerbung über das Studentensekretariat der Universität Heidelberg erfolgt mittels des oben genannten Online-Bewerbungsportals.

Bis spätestens zum Ende August des Jahres erhalten Sie per E-Mail Bescheid, ob Sie zu einem Auswahlgespräch eingeladen werden, oder (aufgrund der Unterlagen aus der Stufe 1) bereits bestanden haben oder nicht. Stufe 2 des Auswahlverfahrens ist damit nicht für jeden Bewerber und jede Bewerberin verpflichtend.

Sie werden zu den Auswahlgesprächen eingeladen, falls Ihre Noten sowie weitere Leistungen im durch die Satzung festgelegten Bereich liegen. Bei einer Einladung müssen Sie an dem Auswahlgespräch teilnehmen, um die Aufnahmeprüfung zu bestehen. Es werden keine Ausweich- und Ersatztermine außerhalb dieses Zeitraums organisiert werden. Lediglich bei schriftlichem Nachweis von triftigen Gründen (z.B. ärztliches Attest, Bundesfreiwilligendienst, langfristig geplanter Auslandsaufenthalt), kann ein Nachtermin gewährt werden. 

Das Auswahlgespräch dauert ca. 15 Minuten und wird in der Regel von zwei Dozent:innen der Informatik und ggf. einem beratenden studentischen Vertreter (z.B. Fachschaftsmitglied) durchgeführt. Das Gespräch soll primär zeigen, dass Sie für den ausgewählten Beruf befähigt und aufgeschlossen sind. Die geeigneten Bewerber:innen und Bewerber erhalten ihren Zulassungsbescheid zeitnah nach dem Gespräch.

Ihren Bewerberstatus können Sie hier abfragen.

Nachdem Sie den Zulassungsbescheid erhalten haben, können Sie sich mit diesem in den Bachelorstudiengang Informatik 50 % einschreiben. Alle hierfür benötigten Informationen können Sie dem Zulassungsbescheid entnehmen. Zusätzlich können Sie auch die Seite Immatrikulationsverfahren- und Unterlagen der Universität Heidelberg konsultieren.

Zweites Hauptfach

Mit dem Bachelorstudiengang Informatik 50 % erwerben Sie einen polyvalenten Bachelorabschluss. Je nach dem, was als zweites Hauptfach gewählt wurde, ist dies ein Bachelor of Arts (B. A.) oder ebenfalls ein Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.). In das zweite gewählte Hauptfach müssen Sie sich separat einschreiben. Beachten Sie hierzu die jeweils geltenden Fristen und Anforderungen.

Lehramtsoption

Ein Studium mit Lehramtsoption erfordert keine gesonderte Bewerbung. Bei einer Bewerbung auf einen polyvalenten Bachelor wird die Lehramtsoption grundsätzlich eingetragen, da Sie die Möglichkeit haben, sich bis zum Ende des Studiums entweder dafür oder dagegen zu entscheiden.

Fristen für die Bewerbung

  • Deutsche Staatsangehörige: 01.06. – 31.07.
  • EU-Staatsangehörige: 01.06. – 31.07.
  • Internationale Staatsangehörige mit ausländischer Hochschulzugangsberechtigung: 15.05. – 31.07.
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 17. Juni 2022 um 08:01